CareNet+ care network for the elderly

An ageing society, an ever growing number of long-term chronic conditions, and an increasing incidence of multimorbidity are presenting the Swiss system of help for the elderly with some massive challenges. And more of the elderly, in particular, are developing especially complex needs.

Basis

In cases where those already suffering from one or more chronic conditions experience a further critical life event or acute condition on top of this, there may be some restrictions in their mobility too and these people in particular will tend to lack a sustainable social network local to them – because we are talking about an especially complex situation (as regards their living arrangements and health). This will often then mean that various medical, care, and social services are required. But service providers are often not very well coordinated, with individual services often being provided in isolation and a kind of “silo” mentality governing people's attitude in many cases. Support processes are not ideal, those concerned are often overburdened, and the limits to care in the home are reached too quickly.

Project

This is where the integrated CareNet+ care network for the elderly comes in: a two-year pilot project in the Affoltern am Albis district sponsored by Pro Senectute canton of Zurich. It is intended as an “add-on” to the existing care system and encourages very highly coordinated collaboration between existing service providers on a case-by-case basis. Thanks to the extra effort by way of coordination, the measures taken jointly with all those involved should represent the best possible fit – thereby optimising the deployment of human and financial resources. The Koordinationszentrum für Gesundheit und Soziales (Coordination Centre for Health and Social Care) is an independent and neutral body with no specific interests of its own.

Evaluation

The evaluation phase is all about analysing various aspects of the results and impact of pilot cases. And not least, the impact in terms of economic aspects of healthcare: can help also be improved from a financial perspective, and does this kind of coordinated outpatient care allow people to stay at home for longer? The methodology incorporates analyses of documents, case data generated as part of the process, discussions among focus groups, and interviews with specialists from the various stakeholder groups concerned.

Careum Research brings its targeted expertise to bear in terms of research involving relatives, coordination, case management, and integrated care processes (as regards delivery of health care in private homes). The aim of the evaluation element is to place the views of those requiring care and their relatives at the heart of things. With this in mind, their views are canvassed at various intervals using structured questionnaires.

Project consortium and team

INFRAS: Thomas von Stokar, Judith Trageser, Eva Gschwend
Careum Research: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Anna Hegedüs, Hannah Wepf, Amelie Zentgraf

Client

Pro Senectute canton of Zurich 
Federal Social Insurance Office

Duration

2016–2018

Further informationen

Altersversorgungsnetzwerk CareNet+

Die Alterung der Gesellschaft, immer mehr und lang andauernde chronische Erkrankungen sowie häufigere Multimorbidität fordern das System der Altenhilfe in der Schweiz massiv heraus: Gerade unter den Älteren gibt es vermehrt Menschen in besonders komplexen Bedarfslagen.

Ausgangslage

Wenn zu einer oder mehreren chronischen Krankheiten ein weiteres kritisches Lebensereignis oder eine Akuterkrankung hinzukommt, allenfalls zudem Mobilitätseinschränkungen bestehen, und ausgerechnet diesen Menschen vor Ort ein tragfähiges soziales Netz fehlt – dann sprechen wir von besonders komplexen Lebens- und Gesundheitssituationen. Dann werden oft verschiedene Leistungen in den Bereichen Medizin, Pflege und Soziales nötig. Die Leistungserbringer sind aber oft nicht gut aufeinander abgestimmt, einzelne Leistungen werden vielfach isoliert erbracht, vielerorts herrscht ein «Gärtlidenken». Die Hilfeprozesse sind nicht optimal, die Betroffenen oft überfordert, und die Versorgung zu Hause gerät vorschnell an ihre Grenzen.

Projekt

Hier setzt das integrierte Altersversorgungsnetzwerk CareNet+ an: ein zweijähriges Modellprojekt im Bezirk Affoltern am Albis in Trägerschaft von Pro Senectute Kanton Zürich. Es knüpft am bestehenden Versorgungssystem an und zielt auf eine besonders intensiv koordinierte fallbezogene Zusammenarbeit unter den bestehenden Leistungserbringern. Durch die ergänzenden Koordinationsleistungen sollen die gemeinsam mit allen Beteiligten getroffenen Massnahmen bestmöglich aufeinander abgestimmt – und damit der Einsatz der personellen und finanziellen Mittel optimiert – werden. Das Koordinationszentrum für Gesundheit und Soziales versteht sich als unabhängige und neutrale Stelle, die keine eigenen Interessen vertritt.

Evaluation

In der Evaluation werden Ergebnis- und Wirkungsaspekte der Pilot-Fälle analysiert. Nicht zuletzt auch die Wirkungen auf gesundheitsökonomischer Ebene: lässt sich die Hilfe damit auch unter finanziellen Gesichtspunkten verbessern, trägt eine so koordinierte ambulante Versorgung dann den Verbleib zu Hause länger? Methodisch werden Dokumentenanalysen, prozessgenerierte Falldaten, Fokusgruppengespräche sowie Interviews mit Fachpersonen der unterschiedlichen beteiligten Anspruchsgruppen einbezogen.

Careum Forschung bringt eine gezielte Expertise im Themenfeld Angehörigenforschung, Koordination, Casemanagement und integrierte Versorgungsprozesse am Gesundheitsstandort Privathaushalt ein. Ziel dieses Evaluationsteils ist es, die Perspektive der Pflegebedürftigen bzw. deren Angehöriger mit ins Zentrum zu stellen. Dazu werden diese mittels leitfadengestützten Fragebögen zu mehreren Zeitpunkten befragt.

Projektkonsortium und –team

INFRAS: Thomas von Stokar, Judith Trageser, Eva Gschwend
Careum Forschung: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Anna Hegedüs, Hannah Wepf, Amelie Zentgraf

Auftraggeber

Pro Senectute Kanton Zürich 
Bundesamt für Sozialversicherungen

Laufzeit

2016–2018

Weiterführende Informationen