Support for life projects at 60+

In a postgraduate course, “Carpe Diem”, participants learn how they can support people aged 60 and above in realising life projects. Careum is involved in the research element of the project.

Basis

There are many elderly people looking for fulfilling “life projects”, especially during their retirement. Many of them achieve this ambition without any help. However, others could do with some support in this regard – from an initial nudge to get them going or guidance on how to find what they are looking for right through to more committed coaching to help them implement their plans. There are also lots of elderly people who would like to assume the coaching role themselves, seeing it as an exciting challenge.

Project

The research and development project “Carpe diem” is seeking to build a bridge here. A postgraduate course is being developed in which adult educators can learn how they can support elderly people in realising life projects. The course will then be trialled in a pilot. This is a cooperation project being run by the education provider “Akademie für Erwachsenenbildung aeB Schweiz” and the Lucerne University of Teacher Education. Researchers contributing to the project include Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto and Dr. Heidi Kaspar from Careum Research and Prof. Dr. François Höpflinger from the University of Zurich, Centre for Gerontology.

The postgraduate course “Carpe diem – Begleiten persönlicher Lebensprojekte von Menschen ab 60” (Carpe diem – supporting the personal life projects of people aged 60+) iwas launched on 8 April 2016 at aeB Schweiz. The aim is to enable graduates to provide support to retired people aged 60+ in realising their own personal life projects. Course methods focus on a combination of education for the elderly, project management and coaching, enabling initial practical experience in supporting life projects.

The research element of the project focuses on identifying characteristics and support opportunities relating to life projects undertaken during retirement/the post-family phase of life. Like many other projects run by Careum Research, this project is designed to be interdisciplinary and incorporate various types of higher education institutions and is aimed at the direct development of innovative ideas for use in practice.

Find out more about the postgraduate course

Project team

PH Lucerne University of Teacher Education: Prof. Dr. Robert Langen and Cornelia Schmid
Careum Research: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto and Dr. Heidi Kaspar
Prof. Dr. François Höpflinger

External funding

Swiss Federal Commission for Technology and Innovation (CTI)

Duration

October 2015–September 2017

Cooperation partners

PH Lucerne University of Teacher Education
aeB Schweiz
Prof. Dr. François Höpflinger

Begleitung von Lebensprojekten 60+

Im Nachdiplomkurs «Carpe Diem» lernen Teilnehmende, wie sie Menschen 60+ bei der Umsetzung von Lebensprojekten unterstützen können. Careum ist im Forschungsteil des Projekts involviert.

Ausgangslage 

Es gibt zahlreiche ältere Menschen, die nach erfüllenden «Lebensprojekten» suchen. Insbesondere in der Nachberufsphase. Vielen gelingt dies allein. Andere aber könnten Unterstützung brauchen – vom Anstupsen über die Begleitung beim Suchprozess bis hin zum verbindlicheren Coaching bei der Umsetzung. Zudem gibt es viele ältere Menschen, die so eine Coaching-Rolle gerne selber als spannende Aufgabe übernehmen würden.

Projekt

Das Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekt «Carpe diem» will hier eine Brücke schlagen. Es wird ein Nachdiplomkurs entwickelt, in dem Erwachsenenbildnerinnen und -bildner lernen, wie sie ältere Menschen bei der Umsetzung von Lebensprojekten begleiten und unterstützen können. Der Kurs wird danach in einem Pilotversuch erprobt. Es handelt sich dabei um ein Kooperationsprojekt des Weiterbildungsträgers Akademie für Erwachsenenbildung aeB Schweiz und der Pädagogischen Hochschule Luzern. Auf der Forschungsseite arbeiten Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto und Dr. Heidi Kaspar von Careum Forschung sowie Prof. Dr. François Höpflinger (Universität Zürich) mit.

Der Nachdiplomkurs «Carpe diem – Begleitung persönlicher Lebensprojekte von Menschen 60+»  ist am 8. April 2016 an der aeB Schweiz gestartet. Das Ziel ist, dass die Absolventinnen und Absolventen in der Lage sind, Menschen 60+ in der nachberuflichen Phase bei der Umsetzung von persönlichen Lebensprojekten zu begleiten und zu unterstützen. Der Kurs fokussiert methodisch auf eine Kombination von Alterspädagogik, Projektmanagement sowie Coaching und ermöglicht erste Praxiserfahrungen bei der Begleitung von Lebensprojekten.
Im Forschungsteil geht es darum, Merkmale und Begleitmöglichkeiten von Lebensprojekten in der nachberuflich-nachfamilialen Phase zu ermitteln. Wie viele andere Projekte von Careum Forschung ist das Vorhaben interdisziplinär und hochschulübergreifend angelegt und zielt auf direkte Innovationsentwicklung für die Praxis.

Erfahren Sie mehr zum Nachdiplomkurs

Projektteam

PH Luzern: Prof. Dr. Robert Langen und Cornelia Schmid
Careum Forschung: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto und Dr. Heidi Kaspar
Prof. Dr. François Höpflinger

Drittmittel

Eidgenössische Kommission für Technologie und Innovation (KTI)

Laufzeit

Oktober 2015–September 2017

Kooperationspartner

PH Luzern
aeB Schweiz
Prof. Dr. François Höpflinger