High-tech help put to the test

Modern technology can enable people who need assistance to organise everyday life at home for themselves. In the living lab “Active & Assisted Living”, assistance systems are examined for their everyday suitability.

 

Basis

Technology-supported living has been required and promoted for some years. The aim is to support the autonomy of people requiring assistance, enabling them to live longer in their own home and manage daily life for themselves. The “Active & Assisted Living” (AAL) care concept has thus become one of the key factors in recent years for the scientific and market-orientated research sector. The group of experts that evaluated the European AAL programme between 2008 and 2013 attested to two aspects of good progress regarding this concept, in the field of research, development and innovation. However, they found that the social and economic effects and wide market penetration have yet to materialise.

Project

This project seeks to rise to the challenge of making sustainable use of AAL technologies and the connected human support services (technology/service combination) in the Lake Constance region, internationally and in accordance with country-specific care systems and technical standards. In three in-depth projects and one framework project, the user, technical, network and market barriers are identified and measures to surmount them are developed and tested.

“Active & Assisted Living” (AAL) is one of three living labs that was set up to improve innovation and competitive ability in the region surrounding the “Internationale Bodensee Hochschule” (IBH) – a union of German, Austrian, Liechtensteinian and Swiss universities in the Lake Constance region. It is sponsored by the Interreg programme “Alpenrhein-Bodensee-Hochrhein””.

Project objectives
The aim of the project is to make “Active & Assisted Living” possible for people suffering from an individual physical or psychological limitation (caused by old age or disability), who feel excluded from social and economic life. Individually tailored ambient-assisted technologies aim to enable independent living as far as possible and support the services provided by professional and informal care workers.

Living labs provide an integrated infrastructure for research and development, to enable innovation and evaluation under real conditions, which also takes account of the requirements of all interested groups. As well as the technical environment and the psychophysiological aspects, cultural, organisational, legal and market-relevant factors are also considered.

Project consortium

  • Lab management: FH Vorarlberg
  • Participating universities: HS Furtwangen, HS Kempten, HTWG Konstanz, DHBW Ravensburg, HS Ravensburg-­Weingarten, FHS St.Gallen, University of St.Gallen, FH Vorarlberg, Kalaidos University of Applied Sciences Zurich, ZHAW
  • Various providers of social services and technology
     

Project team

Careum Research:  Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Dr. Heidi Kaspar, Anna Hegedüs

Funding

Interreg V-programme “Alpenrhein-Bodensee-Hochrhein”
www.interreg.org

Duration

2016–2020

Further information

Find out more about IBH Living Lab “Active & Assisted Living”
Brochure, information poster and congress poster on the IBH Living Lab “Active & Assisted Living”
Find out more about the support for the IBH Living Labs

Blog article from Heidi Kaspar: Technik unterstützt Leben im Alter

Wohnen im Alter: Hightech-Hilfen im Test

Moderne Technologien können es Menschen mit Assistenzbedarf ermöglichen, ihren Alltag zu Hause selbstbestimmter zu gestalten. Im Living Lab «Active & Assisted Living» werden Assistenzsysteme auf ihre Alltagstauglichkeit geprüft.


Ausgangslage

Technikunterstütztes Wohnen wird seit einigen Jahren gefordert und gefördert. Das Ziel ist es, die Autonomie von Menschen mit Assistenzbedarf zu unterstützten, so dass sie länger in den eigenen vier Wänden leben und ihren Alltag selbstständiger gestalten können. Das Versorgungskonzept «Active & Assisted Living» (AAL) ist dementsprechend in den letzten Jahren zu einem bestimmenden Faktor für die wissenschaftliche und marktorientierte Forschungslandschaft geworden. Die Expertengruppe, die das europäische AAL-Programm von 2008 bis 2013 evaluierte, bescheinigte diesem Konzept zwar gute Fortschritte im Bereich der Forschung, Entwicklung und Innovation, stellte aber auch fest, dass die sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen sowie eine breite Marktdurchdringung noch auf sich warten lassen.

Projekt

Dieses Projekt will sich der Herausforderung stellen, die AAL-Technologien und die angeschlossenen humanen Hilfsdienste (Technik-Service Kombinationen) in der Bodenseeregion grenzüberschreitend und im Einklang mit den länderspezifischen Versorgungssystemen und technischen Standards einer nachhaltigen Nutzung zuzuführen. In drei Vertiefungs- und einem Rahmenprojekt werden die Benutzenden-, Technik-, Netzwerk- und Marktbarrieren identifiziert und Massnahmen zu deren Überwindung ausgearbeitet und getestet.

«Active & Assisted Living» (AAL) ist eines von drei Living Labs, das zur Stärkung der Innovation und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Region von der Internationalen Bodensee Hochschule (IBH) – einer Vereinigung deutscher, österreichischer, liechtensteinischer und schweizerischer Hochschulen im Raum Bodensee – initiiert wurde. Es wird vom Interreg-Programm «Alpenrhein-Bodensee-Hochrhein» gefördert.

Projektziele
Ziel des Projektes ist es, den Menschen, die sich aufgrund einer individuellen physischen oder psychischen Einschränkung (bedingt durch Alterung oder Behinderung) aus dem sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Leben ausgeschlossen fühlen, «Active & Assisted Living» zu ermöglichen. Individuell angepasste umgebungsunterstütze Technologien sollen ein möglichst selbstbestimmtes Leben ermöglichen und die Dienstleistungen von professionellen und informellen Pflegepersonen unterstützen.

Living Labs bieten eine ganzheitliche Infrastruktur für Forschung und Entwicklung, damit Innovation und Evaluation unter realen Bedingungen und mit Berücksichtigung der Anforderungen aller Interessensgruppen stattfinden kann. Berücksichtigt werden neben der technischen Umgebung und der psycho-physiologischen Aspekte auch kulturelle, organisatorische, gesetzliche und marktrelevante Gesichtspunkte.

Projektkonsortium

  • Lab-­Leitung: FH Vorarlberg
  • Beteiligte Hochschulen: HS Furtwangen, HS Kempten, HTWG Konstanz, DHBW Ravensburg, HS Ravensburg-­Weingarten, FHS St.Gallen, Universität St.Gallen, FH Vorarlberg, Kalaidos Fachhochschule Zürich, ZHAW
  • Diverse Sozialdienst- und Technologieanbieter
     

Projektteam

Careum Forschung:  Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Dr. Heidi Kaspar, Anna Hegedüs

Finanzierung

Interreg V-Programm «Alpenrhein-Bodensee-Hochrhein»
www.interreg.org

Laufzeit

2016–2020

Weiterführende Informationen

Erfahren Sie mehr zum IBH Living Lab «Active & Assisted Living»
Broschüre und Plakat zum IBH Living Lab «Active & Assisted Living»
Erfahren Sie mehr zur Förderung der IBH Living Labs
Careum-Blogbeitrag von Heidi Kaspar: Technik unterstützt Leben im Alter