Consultation without visiting the doctor

Telemedicine for independent living in old age: the “Long Independent Living Assistant” project has investigated remote consultation in a technology-assisted living environment.

Basis

For elderly people to continue living as independently as possible, they, and the people in their social network, require advice, guidance and support. New support and advice models, such as telemedicine services and telemonitoring (e.g. of vital signs), can assist this objective.

Project

The “Long Independent Living Assistant” project consists of an Internet-based ambient assisted living assistant. This includes a documentation and communication platform with an integrated patient record. This enables selected individual vital signs to be documented and automatically dispatched telemetrically. This integrated solution comprises a telemedicine service based on a combination of telemonitoring and individual advice provided over the phone for people in a technology-assisted living environment. Patients can thus have consultations via telephone, video and e-mail with telemedicine doctors. The project included an intensive exploration of user requirements and an evaluation of the key features for acceptance, beneficial effects, required effective qualities of the assistant and telemonitoring for elderly people. User participation played a central role in this project.

The exploration of needs illustrated the challenge of tailoring services to the individual situations of end users. Widely differing affinities with technology and health requirements require a platform-independent application and monitoring equipment that is easy to use.

Interdisciplinary project team

Careum Research: Prof. U. Otto (Project Manager for the social science element of the project)
FHS St. Gallen CCG-FHS: Silvan Tarnutzer, Marlene Brettenhofer
FHS St. Gallen AAL-FHS: Beda Meienberger
University Hospital Zurich: Dr. med. habil. Christiane Brockes (Lead), Dr. med. Sabine Schmidt-Weitmann (Head of E-Health Department).

Development and implementation partners

emineo AG (Zurich) and other ICT companies
Additional consultancy by a scientific advisory board
Pilot location: Alterszentrum Hottingen home for the elderly (Stiftung Diakoniewerk Neumünster)

Funding

Swiss Federal Commission for Technology and Innovation (CTI)

Duration

2013–2015

Further information

Find out more about the “Long Independent Living Assistant” project

Sprechstunde ohne Praxisbesuch

Telemedizin für selbstbestimmtes Wohnen im Alter: Das Projekt «Long Independent Living Assistant» hat die Beratung auf Distanz im technikgestützten Lebensumfeld untersucht.

Ausgangslage

Damit ältere Menschen dauerhaft und auch in schwierigen Lebenssituationen möglichst selbstständig wohnen können, brauchen sie – und ihre sozialen Netzwerkpersonen – Beratung, Anleitung und Unterstützung. Neue Betreuungs- und Beratungsmodelle wie telemedizinische Dienstleistungen und Telemonitoring (z. B. von Vitalwerten) können sie dabei unterstützen.

Projekt

Das Projekt «Long Independent Living Assistant» beinhaltet einen internetbasierten Ambient Assisted Living-Assistenten. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Dokumentations- und Kommunikationsplattform mit einer integrierten Patientenakte. Damit können ausgewählte individuelle Vitaldaten dokumentiert und automatisch telemetrisch versandt werden. Die Gesamtlösung umfasst ein telemedizinisches Angebot, das Telemonitoring mit einer individuellen Teleberatung für Menschen in einem technikgestützten Lebensumfeld kombiniert. Die Patientinnen und Patienten können dadurch Konsultationen über Telefon, Video und E-Mail mit den Telemedizinern nutzen. Im Projekt wurden die Nutzerbedürfnisse intensiv exploriert und die zentralen Akzeptanzaspekte, Nutzeneffekte sowie erwünschten Wirkungsqualitäten des Assistenten und des Telemonitorings bei älteren Menschen evaluiert. User-Partizipation spielte dabei eine zentrale Rolle.

Die Bedürfnisexploration hat die Herausforderung verdeutlicht, die Angebote auf individuelle Situationen der Endnutzerinnen und Endnutzer anzupassen. Sehr unterschiedliche Technikaffinität und gesundheitliche Bedürfnisse erfordern eine plattformunabhängige Applikation und eine einfache Handhabung der Monitoringgeräte.

Interdisziplinäres Projektteam

Careum Forschung: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto (Projektleiter sozialwissenschaftlicher Projektteil)
FHS St. Gallen CCG-FHS: Silvan Tarnutzer, Marlene Brettenhofer
FHS St. Gallen AAL-FHS: Beda Meienberger
UniversitätsSpital Zürich: Dr. med. habil. Christiane Brockes (Lead), Dr. med. Sabine Schmidt-Weitmann (Leitung Abt. e-Health)

Entwicklungs- und Umsetzungspartner

emineo AG (Zürich) sowie weitere ICT-Unternehmen
Zusätzliche Beratung durch wissenschaftlichen Beirat
Pilotstandort: Alterszentrum Hottingen (Stiftung Diakoniewerk Neumünster)

Finanzierung

Eidgenössische Kommission für Technologie und Innovation (KTI)

Laufzeit

2013–2015

Weiterführende Informationen

Erfahren Sie mehr zum Projekt «Long Independent Living Assistant»