Credits for support services

The city of St. Gallen is breaking new ground with its time provision project: anyone supporting an elderly person in their day-to-day life receives a time credit for a future support service. Careum Research evaluates the project with Infras.

Basis

Thanks to medical progress and better living conditions, more and more people are living well into old age. As a result, the need for support, care and supervision is also increasing. At the same time, there is a general lack of personnel in healthcare and social services to cover this increasing requirement. This trend requires innovative solutions. One such solution is the time provision project, launched in 2012, whose participants include the City of St. Gallen and the Cantonal Bureau for Social Issues, as well as local organisations.

The office is responsible for the administrative processing of time provision and is run by the ”Foundation Zeitvorsorge”. The project began in mid-2014 after a trial period. It forms part of a larger group of similar models, both international and national (e. g. Kiss Association).

The basic idea of time provision is active “saving” for support services as part of provision for old age. More and more elderly people are seeking activities in which they can get involved, in the context of a sustainable intergenerational contract. Sprightly senior citizens get involved in providing time for other elderly people as part of their practical management of day-to-day life. They receive time credits for these activities on an individual account. Later on, when they need others to provide time for them, they can redeem their credits. So this is not just a case of conventional voluntary work. In the launch phase, professional service providers, such as Pro Senectute, Spitex organisations or retirement and nursing homes, coordinate the activities of people providing time. At a later date, people in possession of time credits should also be able to organise time providers themselves.

Now that the project has been running for a short time, the City of St. Gallen's Office for Social Issues is having it evaluated externally. The evaluation is being conducted by a working group comprising Infras (management) and Careum Research.

Project

The evaluation focuses on the experiences to date with the associated aid organisations, active time providers and the recipients of the service. The concept, organisation and implementation of the time provision project is being evaluated, as well as the resulting services and effects on the people involved. The general public is also interested in knowing whether the time provision project can actually delay or avoid moving into residential institutions.

Ultimately, the key questions relate to the same issues: how to provide a number of time credit models in the meantime; whether any benefits emerge for the state sector (see BASS study below) and individuals; how well time provision satisfies the requirements of everyone involved; whether procedures, rules and organisational structures are suitable; how co-production with professional service providers and people requiring assistance is managed and whether time provision has an impact on other forms of voluntary activity.

The evaluation methodology is based on both the analysis of existing and newly acquired data (quantitative and interpretative) and on qualitative elements (e.g. focus groups and interviews).

Project team

Infras (overall management and operational project management): Thomas von Stokar, Judith Trageser, Eva Gschwend
Careum Research: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Anna Hegedüs

Contracting authority

Office for Social Affairs, City of St. Gallen

Duration

March 2016–June 2017

Further Informationen

Final evaluation report (in german, May 2017)
Evaluation report KISS Schweiz (in german, June 2017)
Zeitvorsorge St. Gallen
Information video about the project “Zeitvorsorge St. Gallen”
KISS Association
Quantifying the benefit of the KISS time provision
(Geman fact sheet on the BASS study, April 2016)

Gutschriften für Unterstützungsleistungen

Die Stadt St. Gallen geht mit dem Projekt Zeitvorsorge neue Wege: Wer eine ältere Person im Alltag unterstützt, der bekommt selbst eine Zeitgutschrift für eine zukünftige Unterstützungsleistung. Careum Forschung evaluiert das Projekt zusammen mit Infras.

Ausgangslage

Immer mehr Menschen erreichen heutzutage dank medizinischem Fortschritt und besseren Lebensbedingungen ein hohes Alter. Damit steigt auch die Nachfrage nach Unterstützung, Betreuung und Pflege. Gleichzeitig fehlt es überall im Gesundheits- und Sozialwesen an Personal, um diesen wachsenden Bedarf zu decken. Diese Entwicklung verlangt nach innovativen Lösungen. Eine davon ist das 2012 initiierte Projekt Zeitvorsorge, an dem sich neben der Stadt St. Gallen und dem kantonalen Amt für Soziales des Kantons auch lokale (Leistungserbringer)-Organisationen beteiligen.

Die Geschäftsstelle ist für die administrative Abwicklung der Zeitvorsorge zuständig und wird von der Stiftung Zeitvorsorge betrieben. Das Projekt startete Mitte 2014 nach einer Testphase. Es reiht sich ein in eine grössere Gruppe ähnlicher Modelle ein, sowohl international als auch national (z. B. Verein Kiss).

Der Grundgedanke der Zeitvorsorge besteht im aktiven «Ansparen» von Unterstützungsleistungen im Rahmen der Altersvorsorge. Immer mehr ältere Menschen suchen Aktivitäten, mit denen sie sich im Sinne eines nachhaltigen Generationenvertrags einbringen können. Noch rüstige Seniorinnen und Senioren engagieren sich als Zeitvorsorgende für andere alte Menschen im Rahmen der praktischen Alltagsbewältigung. Dafür werden ihnen auf einem individuellen Konto Zeitguthaben angerechnet. Diese können bei einem späteren eigenen Bedarf gegen Leistungen anderer Zeitvorsorgender eingelöst werden. Es handelt sich dabei also nicht um klassische Freiwilligenarbeit. In der Startphase koordinieren professionelle Leistungserbringer wie Pro Senectute, Spitex-Organisationen oder Alters- und Pflegeheime die Einsätze der Zeitvorsorgenden. Zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt sollen sich Personen mit Zeitgutschriften auch selbst Zeitvorsorgende organisieren können.
Das Amt für Gesellschaftsfragen der Stadt St. Gallen lässt nun das Projekt nach einer kurzen Laufzeit extern beurteilen. Die Evaluation wird von einer Arbeitsgemeinschaft von Infras (Leitung) und Careum Forschung durchgeführt.

Projekt

Im Fokus der Evaluation stehen die bisherigen Erfahrungen mit den angeschlossenen Einsatzorganisationen, aktiven Zeitvorsorgenden und Leistungsbeziehenden. Beurteilt wird das Konzept, die Organisation und Umsetzung des Projekts Zeitvorsorge sowie die daraus resultierenden Leistungen und Wirkungen auf die beteiligten Personen. Die Öffentlichkeit interessiert sich auch dafür, ob durch das Projekt Zeitvorsorge tatsächlich Übertritte in stationäre Einrichtungen verhindert oder verzögert werden können.

Zentrale Fragen beziehen sich letztlich auf die gleichen Fragen, wie sie an die mittlerweile zahlreichen Zeitgutschriftsmodelle gestellt werden: ob ein Nutzen für die öffentliche Hand (vgl. dazu die neue BASS-Studie) und die Individuen entsteht, wie gut die Zeitvorsorge den Bedürfnissen aller Beteiligten entspricht, ob Abläufe, Regelungen und Organisationsstrukturen gut dazu passen, wie die Koproduktion mit den professionellen Leistungserbringern sowie den Hilfebedürftigen gelingt und ob die Zeitvorsorge Einflüsse auf die anderen Formen freiwilliger Tätigkeit hat.

Methodisch stützt sich die Evaluation sowohl auf die Auswertung vorhandener und neu erhobener Daten (quantitativ und interpretativ) sowie auf qualitative Elemente (z. B. Fokusgruppen und Interviews).

Projektteam

Infras (Gesamtleitung und operative Projektleitung): Thomas von Stokar, Judith Trageser, Eva Gschwend
Careum Forschung: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Anna Hegedüs

Auftraggeber

Amt für Gesellschaftsfragen, Stadt St. Gallen

Laufzeit

März 2016–Juni 2017

Weiterführende Informationen

Zeitvorsorge St. Gallen
Infovideo der Zeitvorsorge St. Gallen
Verein KISS
Quantifizierung des Nutzens der Zeitvorsorge KISS (Factsheet zur BASS-Studie April 2016)