FAQ

Frequently asked questions

What is an e-book?

E-books are a form of electronic training material, which you can read and edit (highlighting, adding notes, etc.) on a tablet or computer.

What added value do e-books offer for me?

You can take an e-book with you wherever you go and don't have to carry any heavy books around. They also offer additional functions: the option to run searches in one or more items of training material and online provides an optimum basis for learning. Thanks to the bookmark function and the linked table of context, it is possible to gain an overview of the entire training material concerned. You can also add your own notes, highlighting, photos and audio commentary. If you want to be able to use more recent functions, you will first need to register for the additional functions under “Cloud account”.

What e-books are available?

Virtually almost all training material published by Careum Publishing is available in e-book format.

How can I order an e-book?

You can order e-books from Careum Publishing – directly via the online shop, by e-mail or by calling +41 43 222 51 50. You will then receive access details (username and password) from Careum Publishing, which you can use to access your chosen e-book under “Product activation”.

How expensive are e-books?

The price of e-books bought individually is the same as the price of the printed edition. Buy the printed edition and you can get the e-book as well for just five per cent of the individual purchase price rounded off to the nearest Swiss franc. The discounted price for the e-book only applies in combination with the printed edition and when both products are ordered at the same time.

If the printed edition is purchased before the e-book, you can get the e-book for ten per cent of the individual purchase price rounded off to the nearest Swiss franc. The condition is that you have purchased the printed edition from us or if not so that you can present a purchase receipt.

What devices do e-books work on?

The e-books from Careum Publishing work on tablets (iPads/Android tablets) or on iPhones and smartphones. To read an e-book, you will need the Careum Publishing app. This is free and can be downloaded via the App Store or Google Play Store. There is also a browser-based desktop solution for laptops and PCs, which can be accessed via this link: http://e-books.careum.ch.

How do I download the Careum Publishing app from the store?

The e-books function via a free app from Careum Publishing. The app is available from the App Store and Google Play Store.

How can I access e-books from a computer?

Enter the link http://e-books.careum.ch in your web browser and click the orange “Log in” button in the top right corner. You will then need to enter the access details (username and password) which you have received from Careum Publishing under “Product activation”.

Can I read e-books on my e-reader?

No, e-books from Careum Publishing are not available on e-readers. Graphics and tables cannot be displayed to an optimum standard on e-readers.

What is the difference between “Product activation” and “Cloud account”?

You can access your e-books under “Product activation” (login window at the top). Careum Publishing will provide you with the access details you need for this (username and password). You cannot change the password yourself.

“Cloud account” (loging window at the bottom) allows you to use the additional functions. You can save bookmarks and highlighting, as well as synchronising different work devices. Careum Publishing will not provide you with access details for these functions. You must register yourself under “Cloud account” or log in via an existing social media account (Facebook, Google Plus or Twitter).

Why do I need to register under “Cloud account”?

The “Cloud account” allows you to use the additional functions. You can save bookmarks and highlighting, as well as synchronising different work devices. If you do not register under “Cloud account” or log in via an existing social media account (Facebook, Google Plus or Twitter), you will not be able to use these functions.

What shoud I do if I cannot remember my access details for “Product activation”?

Please contact Careum Publishing by e-mail.

How can I change my password?

You cannot change your password for “Product activation” (login window at the top) yourself. Please contact Careum Publishing by e-mail for this purpose.

You can change your password for the “Cloud account” (login window at the bottom) yourself at any time.

What should I do if I lose my tablet and my e-book with it as well?

You can use your e-book again at any time using your access details for “Product activation”. If you have registered under “Cloud account”, you will also be able to regain access to your notes. Therefore, it is extremely important that you register under “Cloud account” from the very start.

Why can't I add a photo to my e-book using the camera on my device?

The first time you use this function, the app will ask the question: “Is XY permitted to access your camera?” If the answer given to this question is “no”, the image will remain black. You can change this in the iOS settings (i.e. change the camera setting to “on” via the Careum app).

Contact

Careum Publishing

Moussonstrasse 4
CH-8044 Zurich

T +41 43 222 51 50
F +41 43 222 51 55

verlag@careum.ch

FAQ

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Was ist ein E-Book?

Ein E-Book ist ein elektronisches Lehrmittel. Das Lehrmittel ist auf dem Tablet oder Computer zum Lesen und Bearbeiten (Markierungen, Notizen etc.) verfügbar.

Welchen Mehrwert bietet mir das E-Book?

Sie können das E-Book überallhin mitnehmen, ohne schwer tragen zu müssen. Zudem bietet es Mehrwertfunktionen: Die Suche in einem oder mehreren Lehrmitteln sowie im Web ermöglicht ein optimales Lernen. Dank Lesezeichen und dem verlinkten Inhaltsverzeichnis lässt sich das gesamte Lehrmittel gut überblicken. Ausserdem können eigene Notizen, Markierungen, Fotos und Audiokommentare eingefügt werden. Um letztere Funktionen nutzen zu können, müssen Sie sich unter «Cloud-Account» für die Zusatzfunktionen registrieren.

Welche E-Books gibt es?

Fast alle Lehrmittel des Careum Verlags sind als E-Books erhältlich.

Wie kann ich ein E-Book bestellen?

Die Bestellung erfolgt beim Careum Verlag – direkt Online-Shop, per E-Mail oder per Telefon +41 43 222 51 50. Anschliessend erhalten Sie vom Verlag Ihre Zugangsdaten (Benutzername und Passwort), mit denen Sie unter «Produktaktivierung» auf das gewünschte E-Book zugreifen können.

Wie teuer ist ein E-Book?

Der Preis des E-Books ist im Einzelkauf identisch mit dem der Printpublikation. Wenn Sie die gedruckte Ausgabe kaufen, erhalten Sie dazu aber das E-Book für nur 5 Prozent des Einzelkaufpreises, gerundet auf den nächsten Franken. Der vergünstigte E-Book-Preis gilt nur in Kombination mit dem Printlehrmittel und bei gleichzeitiger Bestellung beider Produkte.

Kaufen Sie zuerst die Printausgabe und nachträglich das E-Book, bekommen Sie das E-Book für 10 Prozent des Einzelkaufpreises, gerundet auf den nächsten Franken. Bedingung ist, dass Sie die Printausgabe bei uns bezogen haben oder falls nicht, dass Sie dafür eine Kaufquittung vorlegen können.

Auf welchen Geräten funktioniert das E-Book?

Die E-Books des Careum Verlags funktionieren auf Tablets (iPads/Android-Tablets) sowie auf iPhones und Smartphones. Um die E-Books zu lesen, benötigen Sie die Careum Verlag App. Sie ist kostenlos und kann über den App Store oder Google Play Store heruntergeladen werden. Für Laptops und PCs gibt es eine Browser-Desktop-Lösung. Diese ist über den Link http://e-books.careum.ch zugänglich.

Wie lade ich die Careum Verlag App aus dem Store herunter?

Die E-Books funktionieren über die kostenlose Careum Verlag App. Sie ist im App Store und im Google Play Store erhältlich.

Wie kann ich vom Computer aus auf die E-Books zugreifen?

Geben Sie die den Link http://e-books.careum.ch in Ihrem Webbrowser ein und klicken Sie oben rechts auf den orangefarbigen Button «Login». Anschliessend geben Sie unter «Produktaktivierung» die Zugangsdaten (Benutzername und Passwort) ein, die Sie vom Verlag bekommen haben.

Kann ich das E-Book auf meinem E-Reader lesen?

Nein, auf den E-Readern sind die E-Books des Careum Verlags nicht verfügbar. Grafiken und Tabellen können auf den E-Readern nicht optimal dargestellt werden.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen «Produktaktivierung» und «Cloud-Account»?

Unter «Produktaktivierung» (Anmeldemaske oben) können Sie auf Ihr E-Book zugreifen. Die nötigen Zugangsdaten (Benutzername und Passwort) erhalten Sie vom Verlag. Das Passwort können Sie nicht selber ändern.

Via «Cloud-Account» (Anmeldemaske unten) lassen sich Zusatzfunktionen nutzen. Sie können Lesezeichen und Anmerkungen speichern sowie verschiedene Arbeitsgeräte synchronisieren. Für diese Funktionen bekommen Sie vom Verlag keine Zugangsdaten. Sie müssen sich selber unter «Cloud-Account» registrieren oder mit einem vorhandenen Social-Media-Account (Facebook, Google Plus oder Twitter) anmelden.

Weshalb muss ich mich unter «Cloud-Account» registrieren?

Der «Cloud-Account» dient dazu, die Zusatzfunktionen zu nutzen. Sie können Lesezeichen und Anmerkungen speichern sowie verschiedene Arbeitsgeräte synchronisieren. Wenn Sie sich nicht unter «Cloud-Account» registrieren oder mit einem vorhandenen Social-Media-Account (Facebook, Google Plus oder Twitter) anmelden, können Sie diese Funktionen nicht nutzen.

Was tun, wenn ich meine Zugangsdaten für die «Produktaktivierung» nicht mehr weiss?

Wenden Sie sich bitte per E-Mail an den Verlag.

Wie kann ich mein Passwort ändern?

Für die «Produktaktivierung» (Anmeldemaske oben) können Sie Ihr Passwort nicht selber ändern. Bitte kontaktieren Sie dazu per E-Mail den Verlag.

Für den «Cloud-Account» (Anmeldemaske unten) können Sie Ihr Passwort jederzeit selber ändern.

Was tun, wenn ich mein Tablet verliere und damit auch mein E-Book?

Mit den Zugangsdaten für die «Produktaktivierung» können Sie Ihr E-Book jederzeit wieder nutzen. Falls Sie sich unter «Cloud-Account» registriert haben, können Sie auch wieder auf Ihre Notizen zugreifen. Deshalb wird dringend empfohlen, sich gleich zu Beginn unter «Cloud-Account» zu registrieren.

Warum kann ich mit der Gerätekamera im E-Book kein Foto hinzufügen?

Beim erstmaligen Benutzen dieser Funktion fragt die App: «Darf XY auf Ihre Kamera zugreifen?» Wird das verneint, bleibt das Bild schwarz. Ändern lässt sich dies in den iOS-Einstellungen (also den Einstellungen via Careum App – Kamera auf «ein» stellen).

Kontakt

Careum Verlag

Moussonstrasse 4
CH-8044 Zürich

T +41 43 222 51 50
F +41 43 222 51 55

verlag@careum.ch