CareNet+ care network for the elderly

An ageing society, an ever growing number of long-term chronic conditions, and an increasing incidence of multimorbidity are presenting the Swiss system of help for the elderly with some massive challenges. And more of the elderly, in particular, are developing especially complex needs.

Basis

In cases where those already suffering from one or more chronic conditions experience a further critical life event or acute condition on top of this, there may be some restrictions in their mobility too and these people in particular will tend to lack a sustainable social network local to them – because we are talking about an especially complex situation (as regards their living arrangements and health). This will often then mean that various medical, care, and social services are required. But service providers are often not very well coordinated, with individual services often being provided in isolation and a kind of “silo” mentality governing people's attitude in many cases. Support processes are not ideal, those concerned are often overburdened, and the limits to care in the home are reached too quickly.

Project

This is where the integrated CareNet+ care network for the elderly comes in: a two-year pilot project in the Affoltern am Albis district sponsored by Pro Senectute canton of Zurich. It is intended as an “add-on” to the existing care system and encourages very highly coordinated collaboration between existing service providers on a case-by-case basis. Thanks to the extra effort by way of coordination, the measures taken jointly with all those involved should represent the best possible fit – thereby optimising the deployment of human and financial resources. The Koordinationszentrum für Gesundheit und Soziales (Coordination Centre for Health and Social Care) is an independent and neutral body with no specific interests of its own.

Evaluation

The evaluation phase is all about analysing various aspects of the results and impact of pilot cases. And not least, the impact in terms of economic aspects of healthcare: can help also be improved from a financial perspective, and does this kind of coordinated outpatient care allow people to stay at home for longer? The methodology incorporates analyses of documents, case data generated as part of the process, discussions among focus groups, and interviews with specialists from the various stakeholder groups concerned.

Careum Research brings its targeted expertise to bear in terms of research involving relatives, coordination, case management, and integrated care processes (as regards delivery of health care in private homes). The aim of the evaluation element is to place the views of those requiring care and their relatives at the heart of things. With this in mind, their views are canvassed at various intervals using structured questionnaires.

Project consortium and team

INFRAS: Thomas von Stokar, Judith Trageser, Eva Gschwend
Careum Research: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Anna Hegedüs, Hannah Wepf, Amelie Zentgraf

Client

Pro Senectute canton of Zurich 
Federal Social Insurance Office

Duration

2016–2018

Further informationen

Réseau de soins pour les personnes âgées

Le vieillissement de la population, la multiplication des maladies chroniques qui se prolongent dans le temps, de même que l’augmentation des cas de multimorbidité, mettent à rude épreuve le système d’assistance aux personnes âgées en Suisse. On observe en particulier chez les aînés une augmentation du nombre de personnes aux prises avec des situations et des besoins complexes.

Situation de départ

Lorsqu’une personne est aux prises avec une ou plusieurs maladies chroniques, auxquelles s’ajoutent un événement malheureux ou une grave affection entraînant parfois des problèmes de mobilité, et que cette personne ne peut pas compter sur son entourage pour l’aider, elle est considérée comme ayant une situation personnelle et de santé particulièrement complexe. Différentes prestations sont alors nécessaires dans les domaines de la médecine, des soins et du social. Cependant, il arrive souvent que les fournisseurs de prestations ne se concertent pas, dispensent des soins de manière isolée et pratiquent un certain «esprit de clocher». Ces mesures d’assistance ne sont pas optimales, les personnes concernées sont souvent surmenées et la prise en charge à domicile atteint rapidement ses limites.

Projet

C’est ici que le réseau de soins pour les personnes âgées CareNet+, un projet modèle de deux ans mené dans le quartier Affoltern am Albis et parrainé par Pro Senectute du canton de Zurich, intervient. Le projet s’appuie sur le système de soins en place et vise à obtenir une collaboration particulièrement étroite entre les différents fournisseurs de prestations déjà impliqués. Cet effort de coordination supplémentaire entend permettre la meilleure harmonisation possible des mesures engagées de concert avec tous les intervenants, optimisant ainsi les ressources en personnel et en moyens financiers. Le centre de coordination pour la santé et le social se veut une interface neutre et indépendante, qui ne défend pas d’intérêts propres.

Évaluation

L’évaluation examine les cas pilotes en termes de résultats et d’efficacité. Les conséquences au plan de l’économicité de la santé sont également examinées: ces mesures permettent-elles d’améliorer l’aspect financier, la coordination des soins dispensés en ambulatoire permet-elle aux patients de rester plus longtemps à la maison? Sur le plan de la méthodologie, sont pris en compte des analyses de documents, des données de cas générés par le processus, ainsi que des interviews avec des professionnels des différents groupes d’intérêts concernés.

Careum Recherche apporte une expertise ciblée en matière de recherche portant sur les proches, la coordination, la gestion des dossiers et les processus de soins intégrés à domicile. L’objectif de cette partie de l’évaluation est de mettre l’accent sur le point de vue des patients et de leurs proches. Pour ce faire leur avis est sollicité à plusieurs reprises par le biais de questionnaires fondés sur un guide d’entretien.

Consortium et équipe du projet

INFRAS: Thomas von Stokar, Judith Trageser, Eva Gschwend
Careum Recherche: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Anna Hegedüs, Hannah Wepf, Amelie Zentgraf

Mandants

Pro Senectute, canton de Zurich 
Office fédéral des assurances sociales

Durée

2016–2018

Plusieurs informations