Getting older in an urban district

Age-friendly neighbourhood development under scrutiny: Careum Research evaluates the model project “Älter werden im Quartier” in Frauenfeld.

Basis

The town of Frauenfeld has launched the pilot project “Älter werden im Quartier” (Getting older in an urban district) in the Kurzdorf region. The aim is to create basic conditions that are as good as possible to enable elderly people to live independently and meaningfully in surroundings they are familiar with.

As part of the pilot project, the general public is being given the opportunity to cooperate as part of a participatory process to develop and implement ideas on the subject of “life and living at home/in the neighbourhood in old age”. The town wants to use this approach to find out what ideas already exist to support a long life at home. The essential need for ideas and greater cooperation is being elucidated in conjunction with the people living in the neighbourhood and the organisations that currently exist there. The ideas are implemented in project groups and result in services that are organised and delivered by the people in the neighbourhood.

The project triggers a sustainable, participatory process on the subject of ageing in the neighbourhood. This is based on a working cooperation between elderly people in the neighbourhood, institutions, volunteers and relatives.

Project

Careum Research is responsible for supporting the scientific evaluation of the project, which is being funded by the Age Foundation and Health Promotion Switzerland. Using a multi-method approach (including interviews, observations and documentation analysis) and the input of the various people involved (including project management and residents), the pilot project is being supported from the preparation, appropriation and implementation phase through to the operating phase. The results provide an insight into how similar participatory projects could be extended to and used in other neighbourhoods.

Project team

Careum Research: Prof. Dr. U. Otto, Anna Hegedüs

External funding

Age Foundation

Duration

2014–2017

Further information


Publications

  • Hegedüs, A., Wepf, H., & Otto, U. (2017): Evaluation des Projekts «Älter werden im Quartier» Stadt Frauenfeld. Unveröffentlichter Endbericht (21 S.). Zürich: Careum Forschung. Fulltext
  • Jakovac, A. Rudolf (2016). Fünf Fragen an Careum Forschung: Anna Hegedüs, 29. Stadt Frauenfeld. AWIQ Newsletter (2), S. 6. PDF
  • Jakovac, A (2017): Älter werden im Quartier. Ein partizipatives Pilotprojekt im Frauenfelder Kurzdorf-Quartier 2014-2017. Final report of the project
  • Kuchen, Sonya (2016): Älter werden im Quartier AWIQ. Ein Pilotprojekt der Stadt Frauenfeld im Quartier Kurzdorf. Schlussbericht zur Zeitspanne von Beginn des Pilotprojekts bis zum Start der Betriebsphase. St.Gallen: IFSA-FHS. Fulltext
  • Müller, S., Rauschenbach, Th., Otto, U. (1988): Vom öffentlichen und privaten Nutzen des sozialen Ehrenamtes, In: Müller, S.,Rauschenbach, Th. (Hg.): Das Soziale Ehrenamt. Weinheim, S. 223-242. Fulltext
  • Otto, U., Zanoni, S., Wepf, H. (2015). Evaluation des Projekts «Älter werden im Quartier» Stadt Frauenfeld. Zwischenbericht (26 S.). Zürich: Careum Forschung. Fulltext

Vieillir dans son quartier

Étudier le développement de quartiers favorables aux personnes âgées: Careum Recherche évalue le projet pilote «Älter werden im Quartier» de Frauenfeld.

Situation de départ

La ville de Frauenfeld a lancé le projet pilote «Älter werden im Quartier» dans le quartier de Kurzdorf. L’objectif est de créer des conditions-cadres aussi bonnes que possible pour permettre aux personnes âgées d’habiter et de vivre en autonomie dans leur environnement.

Durant le projet pilote, les habitants ont la possibilité de contribuer à un processus participatif dans le développement et la mise en œuvre des idées sur le thème «Vivre et habiter à domicile/dans son quartier à un âgé avancé». Ainsi, la ville souhaite déterminer quelles idées sont proposées sur place pour encourager une vie à domicile à long terme. En collaboration avec les habitants du quartier et les organisations, institutions et associations actives sur place, le besoin d’idées et de renforcement de la coopération est clarifié. Les idées seront ensuite réalisées en groupes de projet et donneront lieu à des offres et prestations qui seront organisées et proposées par la population du quartier.

Le projet encourage un processus durable et participatif sur le thème du vieillissement dans le quartier. Celui-ci se base sur une collaboration efficace entre les personnes âgées du quartier, les institutions, les bénévoles et les proches.

Projet

Careum Recherche est responsable de l’évaluation scientifique d’encadrement du projet, qui est financé par la fondation Age et Promotion Santé Suisse. La méthode plurielle employée (notamment entretiens, observations, analyse de la documentation) et l’implication des différents acteurs et actrices (entre autres direction du projet, citoyennes et citoyens) permet d’encadrer le projet pilote dans les phases de préparation, de concrétisation et de mise en œuvre, jusqu’à la phase d’exploitation. Les résultats renseignent sur la possibilité d’étendre et d’appliquer des projets participatifs semblables à d’autres quartiers de la ville.

Équipe du projet

Careum Recherche: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Anna Hegedüs.

Fonds tiers

Fondation Age

Durée

2014–2017

Plusieurs informations

Site Internet du projet «Älter werden im Quartier»
Description du projet par la fondation Age

Publications

Jakovac, A. Rudolf (2016). Fünf Fragen an Careum Forschung: Anna Hegedüs, 29. Stadt Frauenfeld. AWIQ Newsletter (2), S. 6. PDF