Communal forms of living

Careum Research plans a survey of the variety of joint living arrangement projects in later life in the canton of Zurich.

Basis

The canton of Zurich is characterised by its particularly wide and diverse range of forms of communal living. Nevertheless, little – if anything – is known about the number and types of these concepts in the urban agglomeration and in more rural communities of the canton. Individual examples show that there is a considerable need for information to provide a basis for developing and implementing organisational measures, funding activities and interventions in an effective and targeted way.

Project

The project is planning a survey of the variety of communal living concepts, including those which span the generations. The project's research objectives are systematically linked with an objective geared towards knowledge transfer that sees key players directly involved in part of the data collection activities locally and their insights discussed with a wider audience within the framework of workshops and receptions in various interested communities. The project is therefore aimed at:

  • obtaining a comprehensive overview of the communal forms of living available in the canton of Zurich (in terms of size, configuration, socio-democratic characteristics of the parties involved, types of cohabitation, legal form, care potential, etc.) – across the entire region, including rural areas, for the first time;

  • using selected typical examples to document the histories of the housing schemes, the parties involved, the perceived framework conditions and relevant experiences and prepare this information for interested parties involved and stakeholder groups;

  • directly involving key players by means of an innovative, participatory, active research design and discussing findings with a broader interested audience;

  • making the research findings available to a broader audience.

Interdisciplinary project team

Careum Research: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Anna Hegedüs
ETH Wohnforum/ETH CASE (Centre for Research on Architecture, Society & the Built Environment): Dr Margrit Hugentobler, Elke Wurster, Nicola Hilti, Rebecca Boguska ( (Department of Architecture, ETH Zurich).

External funding

Heinrich and Erna Walder Foundation, Zurich

Duration

2013–2016

Further information

Find out more about the project

Les formes d’habitation communautaire

Careum Recherche prévoit un état des lieux de la diversité des concepts d’habitations communautaires dans la seconde moitié de vie, dans le canton de Zurich.

Situation de départ

Le canton de Zurich se distingue particulièrement par le nombre et la diversité de ses formes d’habitat communautaire. On n’en sait toutefois encore peu sur le nombre et le type de ces concepts dans l’agglomération, ainsi que dans les communes plus rurales du canton. Des exemples individuels révèlent un besoin notable d’informations, qui permettront d’élaborer et d’instaurer de manière efficace et ciblée des éléments de conception, des activités de promotion et des interventions.

Projet

Le projet prévoit de recenser la diversité des concepts d’habitations communautaires, y compris des formes qui unissent toutes les générations. Outre les objectifs de recherche, il inclut un transfert systématique de l’objectif qui intègre les actrices et acteurs importants directement dans une partie du relevé des données sur place. Il mise aussi sur la discussion des résultats au cours d’ateliers et d’apéritifs réunissant plusieurs communes intéressées et un public large. Le projet a pour objectif

  • de fournir une vue d’ensemble complète de la diversité des formes d’habitats communautaires (taille, constellation, caractéristiques socio-démographiques des participants, formes de la vie communautaire, forme juridique, potentiels pour les soins, etc.) pour le canton de Zurich – en fournissant pour la première fois des informations sur la superficie et sur les zones rurales.

  • de documenter, à l’aide d’exemples représentatifs choisis, les différentes histoires de création, les actrices et acteurs impliqués ainsi que les conditions-cadres appliquées et les expériences correspondantes, et de les mettre à disposition pour les participants intéressés et les parties prenantes.

  • d’inclure directement les actrices et acteurs grâce à une conception novatrice, participative et dynamique de la recherche, et de discuter des résultats avec un vaste public intéressé.

  • de rendre les conclusions accessibles au grand public.

Équipe de projet interdisciplinaire

Careum Recherche: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Anna Hegedüs
ETH Wohnforum/ETH CASE: Dr. M. Hugentobler, E. Wurster, N. Hilti, R. Boguska (Departement Architektur ETH Zürich)

Fonds tiers

Fondation Heinrich und Erna Walder, Zürich

Durée

2013–2016

Plusieurs informations

En savoir plus sur le projet «Gemeinschaftliche Wohnformen»

Publications

Otto, U., Hugentobler, M., & Fichtner, U. (2015). Gemeinschaftliche Wohnformen in der zweiten Lebenshälfte: Bestandsaufnahme im Kanton Zürich und Beispiele. Posterpräsentation nach Call for Abstracts. Dreiländer-Tagung Health Universities. Winterthur, 10./11.09.2015. PDF