High-tech help put to the test

Modern technology can enable people who need assistance to organise everyday life at home for themselves. In the living lab “Active & Assisted Living”, assistance systems are examined for their everyday suitability.

 

Basis

Technology-supported living has been required and promoted for some years. The aim is to support the autonomy of people requiring assistance, enabling them to live longer in their own home and manage daily life for themselves. The “Active & Assisted Living” (AAL) care concept has thus become one of the key factors in recent years for the scientific and market-orientated research sector. The group of experts that evaluated the European AAL programme between 2008 and 2013 attested to two aspects of good progress regarding this concept, in the field of research, development and innovation. However, they found that the social and economic effects and wide market penetration have yet to materialise.

Project

This project seeks to rise to the challenge of making sustainable use of AAL technologies and the connected human support services (technology/service combination) in the Lake Constance region, internationally and in accordance with country-specific care systems and technical standards. In three in-depth projects and one framework project, the user, technical, network and market barriers are identified and measures to surmount them are developed and tested.

“Active & Assisted Living” (AAL) is one of three living labs that was set up to improve innovation and competitive ability in the region surrounding the “Internationale Bodensee Hochschule” (IBH) – a union of German, Austrian, Liechtensteinian and Swiss universities in the Lake Constance region. It is sponsored by the Interreg programme “Alpenrhein-Bodensee-Hochrhein””.

Project objectives
The aim of the project is to make “Active & Assisted Living” possible for people suffering from an individual physical or psychological limitation (caused by old age or disability), who feel excluded from social and economic life. Individually tailored ambient-assisted technologies aim to enable independent living as far as possible and support the services provided by professional and informal care workers.

Living labs provide an integrated infrastructure for research and development, to enable innovation and evaluation under real conditions, which also takes account of the requirements of all interested groups. As well as the technical environment and the psychophysiological aspects, cultural, organisational, legal and market-relevant factors are also considered.

Project consortium

  • Lab management: FH Vorarlberg
  • Participating universities: HS Furtwangen, HS Kempten, HTWG Konstanz, DHBW Ravensburg, HS Ravensburg-­Weingarten, FHS St.Gallen, University of St.Gallen, FH Vorarlberg, Kalaidos University of Applied Sciences Zurich, ZHAW
  • Various providers of social services and technology
     

Project team

Careum Research:  Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Dr. Heidi Kaspar, Anna Hegedüs

Funding

Interreg V-programme “Alpenrhein-Bodensee-Hochrhein”
www.interreg.org

Duration

2016–2020

Further information

Find out more about IBH Living Lab “Active & Assisted Living”
Brochure, information poster and congress poster on the IBH Living Lab “Active & Assisted Living”
Find out more about the support for the IBH Living Labs

Blog article from Heidi Kaspar: Technik unterstützt Leben im Alter

Vieillir à domicile: les aides high-tech

Les technologies modernes peuvent permettre aux personnes ayant besoin d’assistance d’organiser de manière autonome leur quotidien à domicile. Le Living Lab «Active & Assisted Living» examine l’efficacité des systèmes d’assistance pour une utilisation quotidienne.


Situation de départ

Les logements équipés au niveau technologique sont encouragés et subventionnés depuis quelques années. L’objectif est de soutenir l’autonomie des personnes ayant besoin d’assistance, afin qu’elles puissent vivre chez elles plus longtemps et organiser de manière autonome leur quotidien. Le concept de prise en charge «Active & Assisted Living» (AAL) est donc logiquement devenu un facteur décisif dans le secteur de la recherche scientifique et de la recherche axée sur le marché. Le groupe d’experts qui a évalué le programme européen AAL de 2008 à 2013 a confirmé que ce concept représentait une avancée dans le domaine de la recherche, du développement et de l’innovation. Il a toutefois également constaté que les conséquences sociales et économiques et la vaste pénétration du marché se faisaient encore attendre.

Projet

Ce projet veut relever le défi de l’approvisionnement en technologies AAL et en services d’aide humains connexes (combinaisons technique-service) dans la région du lac de Constance, et ce, indépendamment des frontières, en respectant les systèmes de prise en charge nationaux et les normes techniques pour une utilisation durable. Dans le cadre de trois projets d’approfondissement et d’un projet-cadre, les barrières posées aux utilisateurs, à la technique, au réseau et au marché seront identifiées et des mesures seront élaborées et testées pour les surmonter.

«Active & Assisted Living» (AAL) est l’un des trois Living Labs, instauré pour renforcer l’innovation et la compétitivité de la région de «l’Internationale Bodensee Hochschule» (IBH) – une association de hautes écoles allemandes, autrichiennes, liechtensteinoises et suisses dans la région du lac de Constance. Il est soutenu par le programme Interreg «Alpenrhein-Bodensee-Hochrhein».

Objectifs du projet
L’objectif du projet est de permettre une vie active et assistée (Active & Assisted Living) aux personnes qui, en raison de restrictions physiques ou mentales (causées par l’âge ou un handicap) individuelles, se sentent exclues de la vie sociale et économique. Les technologies individualisées et intégrées au domicile doivent permettre une vie aussi autonome que possible, et soutenir les prestations de service des soignants professionnels et informels.

Living Labs offre une infrastructure complète pour la recherche et le développement, afin que l’innovation et l’évaluation aient lieu dans des conditions réalistes, en tenant compte des demandes de tous les groupes d’intérêts. Outre l’environnement technique et les aspects psycho-physiologiques, les angles culturels, organisationnels, légaux et commerciaux sont aussi pris en compte.

Consortium du projet
  • Direction du Lab: FH Vorarlberg
  • Hautes écoles participantes: HS Furtwangen, HS Kempten, HTWG Konstanz, DHBW Ravensburg, HS Ravensburg-­Weingarten, FHS St.Gallen, Universität St.Gallen, FH Vorarlberg, Kalaidos Fachhochschule Zürich, ZHAW
  • Divers fournisseurs de services sociaux et de technologies


Équipe du projet

Careum Recherche:  Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Dr. Heidi Kaspar, Anna Hegedüs

Financement

Programme Interreg V «Alpenrhein-Bodensee-Hochrhein»
www.interreg.org

Durée

2016–2020

Plusieurs informations