InnoWo – living at home to the end of life

What conditions are essential for people to stay at home until the end of their lives? This question was posed by a binational cooperation project between the Mannheim University of Applied Sciences and FHS St. Gallen.

Basis

Even with increasing requirements for assistance, most elderly people want to be able to continue living at home until the end of their lives. “Ageing in place” has become a political creed, not just in German-speaking countries, but also internationally. However, reality is a different matter: most people die in institutions. Self-sacrificing private care and outpatient services are clearly insufficient to enable a person to stay at home.

Project

The question posed is therefore: under what conditions could elderly people potentially remain living at home for longer? The Swiss-German project entitled InnoWo – zu Hause wohnen bleiben bis zuletzt – in innovativen Wohnformen bzw. mit innovativ-ganzheitlichen Diensten” (InnoWo – living at home until the end of life and/or with innovatively integrated services) investigated this question within an intensive qualitative research design. The binational cooperation project between the Mannheim University of Applied Sciences (Germany) and FHS St. Gallen was sponsored by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research SILQUA programme.

Three settings were investigated:

  • heavily supported living at home in the context of a best practice, service provider
  • young-and-old housing projects including community work
  • self-organised joint housing projects


The research results show the variety of burdens placed by elderly people on their relatives. Intervention that is as early, as easily accessible and as preventative as possible, but particularly psychosocial counselling, may prevent or delay initial crises. If the support process begins in an actual crisis, it is often necessary to undertake several biopsychosocial interventions simultaneously. The care and professionalism of professionals is crucial to ensure that they do not unsettle or expect too much of the whole environment. Not least, a tailored assistance process only results in the desired objective of remaining at home in the medium and long-term if it is always kept up-to-date and reliably improved and the elderly people can retain an active role. However, the people involved in this context include relatives, who are often elderly themselves, whose interests and needs are not the same as those of the elderly person needing care.

Duration

2009–2012

External funding

German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, SILQUA programme

Project team

Mannheim University of Applied Sciences: Astrid Hedtke-Becker
FHS St. Gallen: Ulrich Otto

Further Information

Find out more about the “InnoWo – living at home until the end of life” project

Publications

Hedtke-Becker, A., & Otto, U. (2014). Zu Hause wohnen bleiben bis zuletzt bei chronischer Krankheit im höheren Lebensalter / Living at home until the end of life with chronic diseases in older age. In Hochschule Mannheim (Hrsg.), F+E-Profil (S. 18–22). Mannheim. PDF

Hedtke-Becker, A., Hoevels, R., Otto, U., Stumpp, G., & Beck S. (2012). Zu Hause wohnen wollen bis zuletzt: Beraten und Intervenieren im Netzwerk chronisch kranker alter Menschen: Eine Fallstudie. In: S. Pohlmann (Hrsg.), Altern mit Zukunft (S.141-176). Wiesbaden: VS Verlag.

Hedtke-Becker, A., Hoevels, R., Otto, U., & Stumpp, G. (2011). Selbstbestimmt bis zum Lebensende zu Hause bleiben – Strategien niederschwelliger Hilfen und psychosozialer Beratung für alte Menschen und ihr Umfeld. In: S.B. Gahleitner & G. Hahn (Hrsg.). Übergänge gestalten, Lebenskrisen begleiten (S. 246-260). Bonn: Psychiatrie-Verlag.

Media


Radio SRF 4, News: Im Kollektiv wohnen, 24.12.2014.

InnoWo – Vivre à domicile jusqu’à la fin

Quelles sont les conditions essentielles pour rester à domicile jusqu’à la mort? Cette question est le point de départ d’un projet de coopération binational entre la Hochschule Mannheim et la FHS St. Gallen.

Situation de départ

En dépit de leur dépendance croissante, la plupart des personnes âgées souhaitent pouvoir vivre chez elles jusqu’à la fin. «Ageing in place» fait désormais partie du credo politique aussi bien germanophone qu’international. Mais la réalité est toute autre: la plupart des individus meurent en institution. Le dévouement des proches et les services ambulatoires ne suffisent de toute évidence pas à permettre aux personnes âgées de rester chez elles.

Projet

La question qui se pose alors est de savoir dans quelles conditions les personnes âgées pourraient vivre plus longtemps à domicile. Le projet germano-suisse «InnoWo – zu Hause wohnen bleiben bis zuletzt – in innovativen Wohnformen bzw. mit innovativ-ganzheitlichen Diensten» (Vivre à domicile jusqu’à la fin – avec des formes d’habitat novatrices et des services innovants globaux) s’est penché sur cette question avec un plan de recherche qualitatif intensif. Le projet de coopération binational entre la Hochschule Mannheim et la FHS St. Gallen a été soutenu par le ministère fédéral allemand de l’éducation et de la recherche dans le cadre de la première phase du programme «Soziale Innovationen für die Lebensqualität im Alter SILQUA» (Innovations sociales pour la qualité de vie des personnes âgées).

Trois scénarios ont été étudiés:

  • fort accompagné à domicile dans le contexte d’un prestataire de meilleures pratiques
  • projets d’habitations intergénérationnelles incluant des tâches communautaires
  • projets d’habitations communautaires auto-organisées


Les résultats de la recherche montrent à quel point les charges sont diverses pour les personnes âgées et leurs proches. Les interventions préventives à bas seuil aussi précoces que possible, mais surtout le soutien psychosocial, permettent de bloquer ou de freiner les premières crises. Si le processus d’aide intervient pendant une crise, il est souvent nécessaire de réaliser plusieurs interventions biopsychosociales en même temps. La diligence et le professionnalisme des spécialistes sont à cet égard décisifs, puisqu’ils doivent à tout prix éviter de détruire ou de surmener l’entourage global. Enfin, et ce n’est pas négligeable, un processus d’aide sur mesure ne peut parvenir à l’objectif à moyen et long terme de rester à domicile que s’il est constamment renouvelé, de manière fiable, et que les personnes âgées conservent leur rôle d’actrices. Les acteurs sont aussi fréquemment les proches – parfois eux-mêmes vieillissants – dont les intérêts et les besoins ne sont absolument pas les mêmes que ceux des personnes âgées.

Durée

2009–2012

Fonds tiers

Ministère fédéral allemand de l'éducation et de la recherche, programme prioritaire SILQUA

Équipe du projet

HS Mannheim: Astrid Hedtke-Becker
FHS St. Gallen: Ulrich Otto

Plusieurs informations

En savoir plus sur le projet «InnoWo – zu Hause wohnen bis zuletzt»

Publications

Hedtke-Becker, A., & Otto, U. (2014). Zu Hause wohnen bleiben bis zuletzt bei chronischer Krankheit im höheren Lebensalter / Living at home until the end of life with chronic diseases in older age. In Hochschule Mannheim (Hrsg.), F+E-Profil (S. 18–22). Mannheim. PDF

Hedtke-Becker, A., Hoevels, R., Otto, U., Stumpp, G., & Beck S. (2012). Zu Hause wohnen wollen bis zuletzt: Beraten und Intervenieren im Netzwerk chronisch kranker alter Menschen: Eine Fallstudie. In: S. Pohlmann (Hrsg.), Altern mit Zukunft (S.141-176). Wiesbaden: VS Verlag.

Hedtke-Becker, A., Hoevels, R., Otto, U., & Stumpp, G. (2011). Selbstbestimmt bis zum Lebensende zu Hause bleiben – Strategien niederschwelliger Hilfen und psychosozialer Beratung für alte Menschen und ihr Umfeld. In: S.B. Gahleitner & G. Hahn (Hrsg.). Übergänge gestalten, Lebenskrisen begleiten (S. 246-260). Bonn: Psychiatrie-Verlag.

Médias


Radio SRF 4, News: Im Kollektiv wohnen, 24.12.2014.