Co-production in the dementia support

In the field of working with the elderly and family assistance, new methods of interface management regarding the care of elderly people with dementia and their relatives caring for them are investigated.

The project entitled “Koproduktion im Welfare Mix der Altenarbeit und Familienhilfe (KoAlFa)” (Co-production in the welfare mix of working with the elderly and family support) aims to develop and test new methods of interface management in the field of the multi-professional and voluntary care of elderly people with dementia and their relatives caring for them. The co-production of people providing informal and formal support and multi-professional cooperation is of particular interest in this regard. The project relies on a whole host of cooperation partners. The research takes place in practice and with practice. Recommendations for the effective co-production of professionals, volunteers and families are developed in the project.

In this Swiss-German binational project, a four-stage qualitative multi-method concept is combined with the implementation of new work practices. The aim is to develop a participatory, learning-orientated research approach on an empirical basis that can be sustainably embedded in practice. Basic hypotheses derived from group discussions in the first phase were revised and expanded in the second phase, primarily through interviews with experts. Further qualitative stages in the research process focus on the perspective of the people affected (elderly people and members of networks). This resulted in the development of an application-orientated medium-range theory proposition and an empirically supported action and organisational model for optimal interface management. This is used systematically as the starting point for the broadly transferable practical implementation. With a view to the qualification of work practices, a distinction is made between three key areas: family, voluntary work and professionals. This is a participatory research and development design, created in cooperation with a number of research, practice and implementation partners.

Interdisciplinary project team

Careum Research: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto (Head of the KoAIFa sub-project in Switzerland)
Institute of Applied Nursing Sciences FHS St. Gallen: Prof. André Fringer
University of Applied Services Jena: Prof. Michael Opielka (Overall Project Leader), several research assistants

Interdisciplinary research partner

Leibniz Institute on Ageing – Fritz Lipmann Institute (FLI), Jena (Germany)

Development and implementation partner

  • Alzheimer Gesellschaft Thüringen e.V.
  • AWO KV Jena-Weimar e.V.
  • Diakonie Orlatal
  • DRK-KV Jena-Eisenberg-Stadtroda e.V.
  • JeDi Jena e.V.
  • Landesärztekammer Thüringen
  • Mehrgenerationenhaus Gera
  • Pflegestützpunkt Jena
  • Stiftung FamilienSinn
  • Thüringer Ehrenamtsstiftung
  • Thüringer Ministerium für Soziales, Familie und Gesundheit

External funding

German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, SILQUA programme

Duration

2011–2014

Further information

Find out more about the “KoAlFa” project

Démence: Coproduction du système d'aide

Dans le domaine du travail avec les personnes âgées et de l’aide aux familles, de nouvelles méthodes de gestion des interfaces sont examinées pour la prise en charge des personnes âgées atteintes de démence et de leurs proches soignants.

Le projet «Koproduktion im Welfare Mix der Altenarbeit und Familienhilfe KoAlFa» (Coproduction en welfare mix du travail avec les personnes âgées et de l’aide familiale) cherche à développer et tester de nouvelles méthodes de gestion des interfaces dans le domaine des soins multi-professionnels et bénévoles pour les seniors atteints de démence et leurs proches. Une attention particulière est ici accordée à la coproduction informelle et formelle des aidants ainsi que de la collaboration multiprofessionnelle. Le projet vit de l’abondance de ses partenaires. La recherche se fait en pratique et avec la pratique. Le projet a permis d’élaborer des recommandations pour une coopération réussie des spécialistes, des bénévoles et des familles.

La coopération binationale unit une approche méthodologique plurielle à quatre niveaux et la mise en œuvre de nouvelles pratiques. L’objectif est de parvenir à un développement durable et applicable de la pratique sur la base empirique d’une approche de recherche participative et axée sur l’apprentissage. Les hypothèses de départ, acquises dans la première phase des discussions en groupes, ont été révisées et élargies au cours de la deuxième phase, notamment grâce aux entretiens avec des experts. La perspective s’est ensuite concentrée sur les personnes touchées (seniors et personnes du réseau) par le biais d’autres étapes qualitatives de recherche. Une ébauche de théorie orientée vers l’application de moyenne portée et un modèle d’action et d’organisation au fondement empirique ont ensuite été élaborés pour la gestion optimale des interfaces. Celle-ci sert systématiquement de point de départ pour la mise en œuvre pratique, plus largement transmissible. Trois priorités ont été distinguées, en tenant compte de la qualification de la pratique: famille, bénévolat et spécialistes. Le plan de recherche et de développement repose sur une base participative, en coopération avec de nombreux partenaires de recherche, de pratique et de mise en œuvre.

Équipe de projet interdisciplinaire

Careum Recherche: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto (responsable du projet partiel KoAIFa Suisse)
Institut für Angewandte Pflegewissenschaft FHS St. Gallen: Prof. Dr. André Fringer
Ernst-Abbe-Hochschule Jena: Prof. Dr. Michael Opielka (direction du projet global), plusieurs collaboratrices scientifiques

Partenaire de recherche interdisciplinaire

Leibniz-Institut für Alternsforschung – Fritz-Lipmann-Institut e.V., Jena

Partenaires de développement et de mise en œuvre

  • Alzheimer Gesellschaft Thüringen e.V.
  • AWO KV Jena-Weimar e.V.
  • Diakonie Orlatal
  • DRK-KV Jena-Eisenberg-Stadtroda e.V.
  • JeDi Jena e.V.
  • Landesärztekammer Thüringen
  • Mehrgenerationenhaus Gera
  • Pflegestützpunkt Jena
  • Stiftung FamilienSinn
  • Thüringer Ehrenamtsstiftung
  • Thüringer Ministerium für Soziales, Familie und Gesundheit

Fonds tiers

Ministère fédéral allemand de l'éducation et de la recherche, programme prioritaire SILQUA

Durée

2011–2014

Plusieurs informations

En savoir plus sur le projet «KoAlFa»