Consultation without visiting the doctor

Telemedicine for independent living in old age: the “Long Independent Living Assistant” project has investigated remote consultation in a technology-assisted living environment.

Basis

For elderly people to continue living as independently as possible, they, and the people in their social network, require advice, guidance and support. New support and advice models, such as telemedicine services and telemonitoring (e.g. of vital signs), can assist this objective.

Project

The “Long Independent Living Assistant” project consists of an Internet-based ambient assisted living assistant. This includes a documentation and communication platform with an integrated patient record. This enables selected individual vital signs to be documented and automatically dispatched telemetrically. This integrated solution comprises a telemedicine service based on a combination of telemonitoring and individual advice provided over the phone for people in a technology-assisted living environment. Patients can thus have consultations via telephone, video and e-mail with telemedicine doctors. The project included an intensive exploration of user requirements and an evaluation of the key features for acceptance, beneficial effects, required effective qualities of the assistant and telemonitoring for elderly people. User participation played a central role in this project.

The exploration of needs illustrated the challenge of tailoring services to the individual situations of end users. Widely differing affinities with technology and health requirements require a platform-independent application and monitoring equipment that is easy to use.

Interdisciplinary project team

Careum Research: Prof. U. Otto (Project Manager for the social science element of the project)
FHS St. Gallen CCG-FHS: Silvan Tarnutzer, Marlene Brettenhofer
FHS St. Gallen AAL-FHS: Beda Meienberger
University Hospital Zurich: Dr. med. habil. Christiane Brockes (Lead), Dr. med. Sabine Schmidt-Weitmann (Head of E-Health Department).

Development and implementation partners

emineo AG (Zurich) and other ICT companies
Additional consultancy by a scientific advisory board
Pilot location: Alterszentrum Hottingen home for the elderly (Stiftung Diakoniewerk Neumünster)

Funding

Swiss Federal Commission for Technology and Innovation (CTI)

Duration

2013–2015

Further information

Find out more about the “Long Independent Living Assistant” project

Consulter sans aller chez le médecin

La télémédecine pour une vie autonome à un âgé avancé: le projet «Long Independent Living Assistant» a étudié le conseil à distance dans un milieu de vie assisté par la technologie.

Situation de départ

Afin que les personnes âgées se trouvant également dans des situations de vie difficiles puissent vivre de manière aussi autonome que possible, elles – et les personnes de leur réseau social – ont besoin de conseils, d’instructions et de soutien. Les nouveaux modèles d’accompagnement et de conseil comme les prestations de télémédecine et de télésurveillance (par ex. des fonctions vitales) peuvent les aider dans cette démarche.

Projet

Le projet «Long Independent Living Assistant» comprend un assistant à l’autonomie à domicile basé sur Internet. Il s’agit ici d’une plateforme de documentation et de communication avec des dossiers patients intégrés. Cela permet de documenter individuellement des fonctions vitales et de les envoyer automatiquement grâce à la télémétrie. La solution globale propose une offre télémédicale, qui combine la télésurveillance et un téléconseil individuel pour les personnes vivant dans un environnement assisté par la technologie. Les patientes et les patients peuvent ainsi consulter des télémédecins par téléphone, vidéo et e-mail. Le projet s’est penché intensivement sur les besoins des utilisateurs et a évalué les aspects centraux de l’acceptation, de l’utilité ainsi que de la qualité souhaitée de l’assistant et de la télésurveillance auprès des personnes âgées. La participation des utilisateurs a ici joué un rôle majeur.

L’exploration des besoins a souligné le défi que représente l’adaptation des offres aux situations individuelles des utilisatrices et utilisateurs finaux. Les affinités très variées avec la technique et les besoins en termes de santé exigent une application indépendante d’une plateforme et une manipulation simple des appareils de surveillance.

Équipe de projet interdisciplinaire

Careum Recherche: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto (responsable de projet de la partie relative aux sciences sociales)
FHS St. Gallen CCG-FHS: Silvan Tarnutzer, Marlene Brettenhofer
FHS St. Gallen AAL-FHS: Beda Meienberger
Hôpital universitaire de Zurich: Dr. med. habil. Christiane Brockes (direction), Dr. med. Sabine Schmidt-Weitmann (responsable du service e-Health)

Partenaires de développement et de mise en œuvre

emineo AG (Zurich) et autres entreprises du domaine des TIC
Conseil supplémentaire via un comité scientifique
Site du pilote: centre pour personnes âgées de Hottingen (Fondation Diakoniewerk Neumünster)

Financement

Commission fédérale pour la technologie et l'innovation (CTI)

Durée

2013–2015

Plusieurs informations

En savoir plus sur le projet «Long Independent Living Assistant»


Télécharger Télécharger