Generation management in SMEs

Fit for demographic change: the challenge of generation management for SMEs in rural areas.

Basis

Demographic change and the associated skills shortage affects small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in rural areas in particular ways. The trend is indicated by the following characteristics:

  • decreasing number of young professionals
  • reduced availability of experts and managers
  • the need to retain employees for longer
  • the need to mobilise reserve groups in the labour market for employment
  • compared with urban areas, a greater social and economic burden as a result of general migration towards conurbations


Project

The trinational “Regionenbezogenes Generationenmanagement (RegGen)” (Region-oriented generation management) project assumes that the availability of human capital is becoming a factor that is not only limiting the competitive ability of individual organisations, but also of entire regions. This is demonstrated in the Lake Constance region, located at the crossroads of Germany, Austria and Switzerland. The project takes the “Konzepte des Hauses der Arbeitsfähigkeit” (concept of the house of employability), developed by Prof. Dr. Juhani Ilmarinen and his colleagues, extending it to a systematic region-based approach.

The aim of the project was to describe, evaluate and promote regional and cross-border opportunities for personal and professional development for professionals and managers in the sectors particularly affected, these being information and communication technology and industry.

Project results included the development of a self-evaluation tool that permits SMEs in regional areas to evaluate generation management autonomously and to derive measures from this evaluation. Organisations use this tool to make their own assessment of the extent to which operational measures for generation management already exist and how other activities could further optimise the ways in which demographic changes are dealt with.

Interdisciplinary cooperation network

Careum Forschung: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto (Head of Careum Research, Overall Project Leader)
FHS St. Gallen: Prof. Dr. Sibylle Olbert
FH Vorarlberg: Prof. Dr. Frederic Fredersdorf
Hochschule Kempten: Prof. Dr. Markus Jüster

External funding

IBH – Internationale Bodensee Hochschule

Duration

2012–2014

Further information

Find out more about the “Region-oriented generation management” project

Publications

Fredersdorf, F., Jüster, M., Olbert-Bock, S., & Otto, U. (2014). Generationenmanagement: Unternehmen durch den demografischen Wandel begleiten. Freiburg: Lambertus.

Regionenbezogenes Generationenmanagement – Regionale Umsetzung zur Bewältigung des demografischen Wandels in KMU ländlicher Regionen. Poster am gemeinsamen Kongress DGGG, DGG, SFGG & ÖGG «Stress und Altern – Chancen und Risiken», Halle (Saale), 24.–27. September 2014. PDF

La gestion des générations dans les PME

Parées pour le tournant démographique: le défi de la gestion des générations pour les PME en régions rurales.

Situation de départ

L’évolution démographique et le manque de main-d’œuvre qui en résulte ont un impact particulier sur les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) en régions rurales. Cette évolution se distingue de plusieurs manières:

  • baisse du nombre de recrues pour la relève professionnelle
  • disponibilité en baisse de la main-d’œuvre spécialisée et managériale
  • nécessite de garder les employés actifs plus longtemps
  • nécessité de mobiliser les groupes de réserve du marché du travail pour une activité professionnelle
  • par rapport aux zones urbaines, une situation économique et sociale plus tendue à cause de la tendance à la migration vers les agglomérations


Projet

Le projet trinational «Regionenbezogenes Generationenmanagement (RegGen)» (gestion régionale des générations) part du principe que la disponibilité en ressources humaines ne sera pas seulement une entrave à la compétitivité des entreprises, mais de toute une région. C’est ce qu’il vise à montrer dans la région transfrontalière du lac de Constance, entre l’Allemagne, la Suisse et l’Autriche. Le projet reprend entre autres le concept développé par le Prof. Dr. Juhani Ilmarinen et ses collègues, «Konzepte des Hauses der Arbeitsfähigkeit» (concepts de la maison de la capacité de travail), et l’élargit avec une approche régionale systématique.

L’objectif du projet était d’entreprendre une description, une évaluation et une promotion des possibilités régionales et transfrontalières pour le développement personnel et professionnel de la main-d’œuvre spécialisée et managériale, en particulier pour les secteurs plus touchés des technologies de l’information et de la communication.

La conception d’un instrument d’auto-évaluation est l’un des résultats de ce projet. Il permet aux PME des régions rurales d’évaluer de manière autonome la gestion des générations pour prendre des mesures appropriées. Cet instrument permet aux entreprises d’auto-évaluer la disponibilité des mesures opérationnelles de gestion des générations, et de déterminer comment d’autres activités pourraient encore améliorer la gestion des changements démographiques.

Alliance de coopération interdisciplinaire

Careum Recherche: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto (Leiter Careum Recherche, direction du projet global)
FHS St. Gallen: Prof. Dr. Sibylle Olbert
FH Vorarlberg: Prof. Dr. Frederic Fredersdorf
Hochschule Kempten: Prof. Dr. Markus Jüster

Fonds tiers

IBH – Internationale Bodensee Hochschule

Durée

2012–2014

Plusieurs informations

En savoir plus sur le projet «Regionenbezogenes Generationenmanagement»

Publications

Fredersdorf, F., Jüster, M., Olbert-Bock, S., & Otto, U. (2014). Generationenmanagement: Unternehmen durch den demografischen Wandel begleiten. Freiburg: Lambertus.

Regionenbezogenes Generationenmanagement – Regionale Umsetzung zur Bewältigung des demografischen Wandels in KMU ländlicher Regionen. Poster am gemeinsamen Kongress DGGG, DGG, SFGG & ÖGG «Stress und Altern – Chancen und Risiken», Halle (Saale), 24.–27. September 2014. PDF