Credits for support services

The city of St. Gallen is breaking new ground with its time provision project: anyone supporting an elderly person in their day-to-day life receives a time credit for a future support service. Careum Research evaluates the project with Infras.

Basis

Thanks to medical progress and better living conditions, more and more people are living well into old age. As a result, the need for support, care and supervision is also increasing. At the same time, there is a general lack of personnel in healthcare and social services to cover this increasing requirement. This trend requires innovative solutions. One such solution is the time provision project, launched in 2012, whose participants include the City of St. Gallen and the Cantonal Bureau for Social Issues, as well as local organisations.

The office is responsible for the administrative processing of time provision and is run by the ”Foundation Zeitvorsorge”. The project began in mid-2014 after a trial period. It forms part of a larger group of similar models, both international and national (e. g. Kiss Association).

The basic idea of time provision is active “saving” for support services as part of provision for old age. More and more elderly people are seeking activities in which they can get involved, in the context of a sustainable intergenerational contract. Sprightly senior citizens get involved in providing time for other elderly people as part of their practical management of day-to-day life. They receive time credits for these activities on an individual account. Later on, when they need others to provide time for them, they can redeem their credits. So this is not just a case of conventional voluntary work. In the launch phase, professional service providers, such as Pro Senectute, Spitex organisations or retirement and nursing homes, coordinate the activities of people providing time. At a later date, people in possession of time credits should also be able to organise time providers themselves.

Now that the project has been running for a short time, the City of St. Gallen's Office for Social Issues is having it evaluated externally. The evaluation is being conducted by a working group comprising Infras (management) and Careum Research.

Project

The evaluation focuses on the experiences to date with the associated aid organisations, active time providers and the recipients of the service. The concept, organisation and implementation of the time provision project is being evaluated, as well as the resulting services and effects on the people involved. The general public is also interested in knowing whether the time provision project can actually delay or avoid moving into residential institutions.

Ultimately, the key questions relate to the same issues: how to provide a number of time credit models in the meantime; whether any benefits emerge for the state sector (see BASS study below) and individuals; how well time provision satisfies the requirements of everyone involved; whether procedures, rules and organisational structures are suitable; how co-production with professional service providers and people requiring assistance is managed and whether time provision has an impact on other forms of voluntary activity.

The evaluation methodology is based on both the analysis of existing and newly acquired data (quantitative and interpretative) and on qualitative elements (e.g. focus groups and interviews).

Project team

Infras (overall management and operational project management): Thomas von Stokar, Judith Trageser, Eva Gschwend
Careum Research: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Anna Hegedüs

Contracting authority

Office for Social Affairs, City of St. Gallen

Duration

March 2016–June 2017

Further Informationen

Final evaluation report (in german, May 2017)
Evaluation report KISS Schweiz (in german, June 2017)
Zeitvorsorge St. Gallen
Information video about the project “Zeitvorsorge St. Gallen”
KISS Association
Quantifying the benefit of the KISS time provision
(Geman fact sheet on the BASS study, April 2016)

Des crédits pour les prestations de soutien

La ville de Saint-Gall innove avec le projet «Zeitvorsorge»: les habitants qui aident des personnes âgées pour les tâches quotidiennes acquièrent du crédit-temps pour une future prestation de soutien. Careum Recherche examine le projet en collaboration avec Infras.

Situation de départ

Grâce aux progrès de la médecine et à l’amélioration des conditions de vie, un nombre croissant de personnes atteignent désormais un grand âge. Cela accroît en retour la demande de soutien, d’accompagnement et de soins. Parallèlement, le manque de personnel dans les domaines du social et de la santé empêche de couvrir ces besoins croissants. Cette évolution exige donc de trouver des solutions novatrices. Le projet «Zeitvorsorge» (prévoyance-temps), initié en 2012, en est une. Outre la ville de Saint-Gall et l’office cantonal des affaires sociales, des organisations locales participent à l’initiative.

Dirigé par la fondation Zeitvorsorge, le bureau est responsable de la gestion administrative de la prévoyance-temps. Le projet a commencé par une phase de test, à la mi-2014. Il s’intègre dans un groupe plus large de modèles similaires, aussi bien nationaux qu’internationaux (par ex. association Kiss).

L’idée centrale de la prévoyance-temps réside dans le «cumul» actif de prestations de soutien dans le cadre de la prévoyance vieillesse. Un nombre croissant de personnes âgées cherchent des activités qui leur permettent de s’investir au sens d’un pacte intergénérationnel durable. Les seniors encore en forme s’engagent en faveur de la prévoyance-temps et aident d’autres personnes âgées dans tous les aspects pratiques de la vie quotidienne. Un crédit est alors porté à leur compte individuel pour leurs interventions. Il pourra ensuite être utilisé ultérieurement, lorsque la personne concernée aura à son tour besoin de bénéficier des prestations d’autres participants à la prévoyance-temps. Il ne s’agit donc pas ici d’un travail classique de bénévolat. Durant la phase initiale, des fournisseurs professionnels de prestations comme Pro Senectute, les organisations de soins à domicile ou les établissements médico-sociaux et maisons de retraite, coordonnent les interventions des volontaires. Plus tard, les personnes disposant de crédits devront pouvoir faire elles-mêmes appel à des participants à la prévoyance-temps.
Le service pour les questions de société de la ville de Saint-Gall soumet maintenant le projet à une évaluation externe, après une courte durée de mise en œuvre. L’évaluation sera réalisée par un groupe de travail composé d’Infras (direction) et de Careum Recherche.

Projet

L’évaluation se concentre sur les expériences réalisées avec les organisations d’intervention rattachées, les participants actifs à la prévoyance-temps et les bénéficiaires de l’initiative. Le concept, l’organisation et la mise en œuvre du projet «Zeitvorsorge» seront évalués, tout comme les prestations et les effets qui en résultent pour les participants. Le public souhaite également savoir si le projet «Zeitvorsorge» permet véritablement d’empêcher ou de ralentir le transfert vers des établissements résidentiels.

Les questions centrales se réfèrent au final aux mêmes questions que celles désormais posées aux nombreux modèles de crédit de temps. Est-ce utile aux pouvoirs publics et aux individus? La prévoyance-temps répond-elle vraiment aux besoins de tous les participants? Le déroulé, les règlements et les structures organisationnelles sont-ils appropriés? Comment la coproduction entre les fournisseurs professionnels de prestations et les personnes dépendantes fonctionne-t-elle? La prévoyance-temps a-t-elle une influence sur les autres formes de bénévolat?

Du point de vue méthodique, l’évaluation s’appuie aussi bien sur l’analyse (quantitative et interprétative) des données à disposition ou nouvellement acquises que sur des éléments qualitatifs (par ex. groupes de réflexion et entretiens).

Équipe du projet

Infras (direction générale et direction opérationnelle du projet): Thomas von Stokar, Judith Trageser, Eva Gschwend
Careum Recherche: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Anna Hegedüs

Mandant

Service pour les questions de société, ville de Saint-Gall

Durée

mars 2016–juin 2017

Plusierus informations

Rapport de l'evaluation final (en allemand, mai 2017)
Rapport de l'evaluation KISS Schweiz (en allemand, juin 2017)
Zeitvorsorge St. Gallen
Vidéo informative du projet «Zeitvorsorge St. Gallen»
Association KISS
Quantification des bénéfices du système de prévoyance-temps KISS
(résumé en allemend de l'étude BASS d'avril 2016)