Evivo course for vulnerable groups

Easier to understand and more accessible: the self-management programme for chronic conditions should be modified for migrants.

Basis

Poor health literacy and language skills make it difficult for people to access healthcare, even if they suffer from chronic conditions. This applies particularly to socio-economically disadvantaged migrants with a low level of education. With the introduction of Evivo, a peer-led course on self-management support for people with chronic conditions, course providers have observed significant interest amongst people with a migration background. An exploratory study found that the course can also be completed by participants with a moderate knowledge of German and that it offers significant benefits. The task now is to investigate the extent to which the programme needs to be adapted to the requirements of migrants in order to make it accessible to vulnerable groups.

Project

The aim of this practice development project is to make the group- and peer-based Evivo scheme accessible to migrants.

The target group includes people who, due to their migration background, face:

  • Language barriers, due to having very little knowledge of any of Switzerland's national languages
  • Difficulties with reading and writing
  • Challenges relating to socio-economic circumstances or a lack of education
  • Chronic condition(s) and/or disabilities.


Similar international projects carried out to date have failed to provide an answer to the question of the extent to which Evivo can be made available in the local language of the host country and have a positive impact on the health literacy, the self-management (in the case of chronic illness) and, in particular, the integration of people with a migration background. By adapting the course programme with and for migrants, the project is seeking to use this peer-based standard Stanford concept to support these people as regards their health literacy, equal opportunities and ultimately integration.

Based on an exploratory and participatory approach, a new version of the group intervention programme is being developed and put into practice in two pilot courses. To this end, the principles, structures and content of Evivo are being revised, condensed where necessary and adapted in a way that would enable socio-economically disadvantaged migrants in particular to benefit from peer-based self-management support in future. The first results from the evaluation of two pilot courses based on the adapted concept are due to be released in spring 2017.

Project team

Careum Research: Bettina Schwind (Project Manager from 2016), Sylivie Zanoni (Project Manager 2015–2016), Dr. Jörg Haslbeck

Cooperation partners

dialog gesundheit CH
SaluToMed AG (Zollikofen)
Spitex Zurich Limmat
Diakoniewerk Neumünster

Further informations

Careum blog post of Sylvie Zanoni about Evivo

Funding

The Swiss Federal Office of Public Health has provided funding from its “Migration and Health” programme to finance the adaptation.


Contact

Patient education

Careum Research
Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 64 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

E-Mail

Le cours Evivo pour les groupes vulnérables

Plus compréhensible et mieux accessible: le programme d’autogestion des maladies chroniques doit être adapté pour les migrantes et les migrants.

Situation de départ

Les compétences limitées en matière de santé et de langue entravent l’accès à la prise en charge médicale – y compris pour les maladies chroniques – des migrantes et migrants, en particulier de ceux qui sont défavorisés sur le plan socio-économique et ont un faible niveau de formation. Lors de l’introduction d’Evivo, qui est un cours assuré par des pairs pour la promotion de l’autogestion d’une maladie chronique, les organisateurs du cours ont observé avec un grand intérêt les personnes issues de l’immigration. Une étude exploratoire a montré que le cours est aussi réalisable avec des connaissances en allemand modérées et qu’il est d’une grande utilité. Le but est maintenant d’évaluer le besoin d’adaptation dans un contexte de migration, afin de rendre l’offre accessible aux groupes vulnérables.

Projet

Le projet de développement pratique vise à intégrer l’approche par groupes et par des pairs d’Evivo pour la rendre accessible aux migrantes et migrants.

Le groupe cible est celui des personnes issues de la migration qui sont confrontées à:

  • des barrières linguistiques, car elles peinent à parler l’une des langues nationales suisses
  • des difficultés à lire et à écrire
  • des défis socio-économiques et liés à l’éducation
  • des maladies chroniques (parfois cumulées) et/ou des handicap


Jusqu’à présent, les projets internationaux similaires n’ont pas réussi à déterminer dans quelle mesure Evivo peut être proposé dans la langue locale du pays d’accueil, et à quel point il peut influencer positivement la compétence en matière de santé, l’autogestion en cas de maladie chronique, et surtout aussi le processus d’intégration des personnes issues de l’immigration. En adaptant le cursus avec et pour les migrantes et les migrants, le projet vise à encourager leur compétence en matière de santé, l’égalité des chances et, enfin, l’intégration de cette approche de Standford standardisée et basée sur les pairs.

L’approche exploratoire et participative adoptée permettra d’élaborer une version de l’intervention collective et de la mettre en œuvre dans deux cours pilotes. Les principes, les structures et les contenus d’Evivo seront également examinés, et éventuellement condensés ou adaptés de manière à permettre en premier lieu aux migrantes défavorisées et migrants défavorisés sur le plan socio-économique de bénéficier à l’avenir de l’encouragement à l’autogestion avec l’approche des pairs. L’évaluation des deux cours pilotes, qui s’appuieront sur le concept adapté, présentera ses premières conclusions au printemps 2017.

Équipe du projet

Careum Recherche: Bettina Schwind (responsable du projet depuis 2016), Sylvie Zanoni (responsable du projet 2015–2016), Dr. Jörg Haslbeck

Partenaires

dialog gesundheit CH
SaluToMed AG (Zollikofen)
Spitex Zürich Limmat
Diakoniewerk Neumünster

Plusieurs informations

Contribution au blog Careum de Sylvie Zanoni sur le sujet d'Evivo

Subventions

L’Office fédéral de la santé publique a mis des subventions du programme «Migration et santé» à disposition pour l’adaptation du cours.


Contact

Formation des patients

Careum Recherche
Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 64 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

E-Mail