FAQ

Frequently asked questions

What is an e-book?

E-books are a form of electronic training material, which you can read and edit (highlighting, adding notes, etc.) on a tablet or computer.

What added value do e-books offer for me?

You can take an e-book with you wherever you go and don't have to carry any heavy books around. They also offer additional functions: the option to run searches in one or more items of training material and online provides an optimum basis for learning. Thanks to the bookmark function and the linked table of context, it is possible to gain an overview of the entire training material concerned. You can also add your own notes, highlighting, photos and audio commentary. If you want to be able to use more recent functions, you will first need to register for the additional functions under “Cloud account”.

What e-books are available?

Virtually almost all training material published by Careum Publishing is available in e-book format.

How can I order an e-book?

You can order e-books from Careum Publishing – directly via the online shop, by e-mail or by calling +41 43 222 51 50. You will then receive access details (username and password) from Careum Publishing, which you can use to access your chosen e-book under “Product activation”.

How expensive are e-books?

The price of e-books bought individually is the same as the price of the printed edition. Buy the printed edition and you can get the e-book as well for just five per cent of the individual purchase price rounded off to the nearest Swiss franc. The discounted price for the e-book only applies in combination with the printed edition and when both products are ordered at the same time.

If the printed edition is purchased before the e-book, you can get the e-book for ten per cent of the individual purchase price rounded off to the nearest Swiss franc. The condition is that you have purchased the printed edition from us or if not so that you can present a purchase receipt.

What devices do e-books work on?

The e-books from Careum Publishing work on tablets (iPads/Android tablets) or on iPhones and smartphones. To read an e-book, you will need the Careum Publishing app. This is free and can be downloaded via the App Store or Google Play Store. There is also a browser-based desktop solution for laptops and PCs, which can be accessed via this link: http://e-books.careum.ch.

How do I download the Careum Publishing app from the store?

The e-books function via a free app from Careum Publishing. The app is available from the App Store and Google Play Store.

How can I access e-books from a computer?

Enter the link http://e-books.careum.ch in your web browser and click the orange “Log in” button in the top right corner. You will then need to enter the access details (username and password) which you have received from Careum Publishing under “Product activation”.

Can I read e-books on my e-reader?

No, e-books from Careum Publishing are not available on e-readers. Graphics and tables cannot be displayed to an optimum standard on e-readers.

What is the difference between “Product activation” and “Cloud account”?

You can access your e-books under “Product activation” (login window at the top). Careum Publishing will provide you with the access details you need for this (username and password). You cannot change the password yourself.

“Cloud account” (loging window at the bottom) allows you to use the additional functions. You can save bookmarks and highlighting, as well as synchronising different work devices. Careum Publishing will not provide you with access details for these functions. You must register yourself under “Cloud account” or log in via an existing social media account (Facebook, Google Plus or Twitter).

Why do I need to register under “Cloud account”?

The “Cloud account” allows you to use the additional functions. You can save bookmarks and highlighting, as well as synchronising different work devices. If you do not register under “Cloud account” or log in via an existing social media account (Facebook, Google Plus or Twitter), you will not be able to use these functions.

What shoud I do if I cannot remember my access details for “Product activation”?

Please contact Careum Publishing by e-mail.

How can I change my password?

You cannot change your password for “Product activation” (login window at the top) yourself. Please contact Careum Publishing by e-mail for this purpose.

You can change your password for the “Cloud account” (login window at the bottom) yourself at any time.

What should I do if I lose my tablet and my e-book with it as well?

You can use your e-book again at any time using your access details for “Product activation”. If you have registered under “Cloud account”, you will also be able to regain access to your notes. Therefore, it is extremely important that you register under “Cloud account” from the very start.

Why can't I add a photo to my e-book using the camera on my device?

The first time you use this function, the app will ask the question: “Is XY permitted to access your camera?” If the answer given to this question is “no”, the image will remain black. You can change this in the iOS settings (i.e. change the camera setting to “on” via the Careum app).

Contact

Careum Publishing

Moussonstrasse 4
CH-8044 Zurich

T +41 43 222 51 50
F +41 43 222 51 55

verlag@careum.ch

FAQ

Questions fréquemment posées

Qu’est-ce qu’un livre électronique?

Un livre électronique est un support didactique électronique. Il peut être lu et édité (surlignage, prise de notes, etc.) sur une tablette ou un ordinateur.

Quel est l’avantage d’un livre électronique?

Un livre électronique peut être emmené partout et a l’avantage d’être peu encombrant. Ses diverses fonctions offrent en outre une valeur ajoutée: effectuer des recherches dans un ou plusieurs supports didactiques ainsi que sur Internet permet un apprentissage optimal. Grâce au signet et à la table des matières reliée, il est facile d’avoir une bonne vue d’ensemble du support didactique. Il est par ailleurs possible de surligner des passages, d’ajouter des notes, des photos et des commentaires audio. Afin de pouvoir utiliser cette dernière fonction, vous devez vous enregistrer sous «Compte dans le cloud».

Quels sont les livres électroniques disponibles?

Presque tous les supports didactiques des éditions Careum sont disponibles sous forme de livres électroniques.

Comment puis-je commander un livre électronique?

Vous passez vos commandes auprès des éditions Careum, directement dans la boutique en ligne, par e-mail ou par téléphone au +41 43 222 51 50. L’éditeur vous communiquera alors vos données d’accès (nom d’utilisateur et mot de passe), qui vous permettront d’accéder au livre électronique que vous désirez sous «Activation de produit».

Quel est le prix d’un livre électronique?

Le prix des livres électroniques à l’unité est identique à celui de la publication imprimée. Si vous achetez l’édition imprimée et le livre électronique, ce dernier coûte seulement cinq pour cent de son prix à l’unité, arrondi au franc supérieur. Le livre électronique à prix réduit n’est valable qu’en combinaison avec le support didactique imprimé pour une commande simultanée de ces deux produits.

Si l’édition imprimée est achetée avant le livre électronique, ce dernier coûte dix pour cent de son prix à l’unité, arrondi au franc supérieur. La condition est que vous avez acheté l'édition imprimée chez nous ou si non, que vous nous présentez une quittance de l'achat.

Sur quels appareils le livre électronique fonctionne-t-il?

Les livres électroniques des éditions Careum fonctionnent sur tablettes (iPads et tablettes Android) ainsi que sur iPhones et smartphones. Pour pouvoir les lire, vous devez installer l’application Careum Verlag téléchargeable gratuitement sur l’App Store ou Google Play Store. Il existe également une solution navigateur pour ordinateurs portables et PC. Elle est accessible par le lien http://e-books.careum.ch.

Comment puis-je accéder aux livres électroniques sur ma tablette?

Les livres électroniques s’utilisent à l’aide de l’application gratuite Careum Verlag. Elle est disponible dans l’App Store ou le Google Play Store.

Comment puis-je accéder aux livres électroniques avec mon ordinateur?

Saisissez le lien http://e-books.careum.ch dans votre navigateur, puis cliquez sur le bouton orange «Se connecter» en haut à droite. Entrez ensuite les données d’accès (nom d’utilisateur et mot de passe) qui vous ont été fournies par l’éditeur sous «Activation de produit».

Puis-je lire mon livre électronique sur ma liseuse?

Non, les livres électroniques des éditions Careum ne peuvent pas être lus sur une liseuse. La représentation des graphiques et des tableaux n’est pas optimale sur les liseuses.

Quelle est la différence entre «Activation de produit» et «Compte dans le cloud»?

L’«Activation de produit» (masque de saisie en haut) vous permet d’accéder à votre livre électronique, grâce aux données d’accès (nom d’utilisateur et mot de passe) fournies par l’éditeur. Vous ne pouvez pas changer le mot de passe vous-même.

Le «Compte dans le cloud» (masque de saisie en bas) permet d’utiliser les fonctionnalités supplémentaires. Vous avez la possibilité de sauvegarder des signets et des remarques, et de synchroniser plusieurs appareils de travail. Vous ne recevez aucune donnée d’accès de l’éditeur pour ces fonctions. Vous devez vous inscrire vous-même sous «Compte dans le cloud» ou avec l’un de vos comptes sur les réseaux sociaux (Facebook, Google Plus ou Twitter).

Pourquoi dois-je m’enregistrer sous «Compte dans le cloud»?

Le «Compte dans le cloud» permet d’utiliser les fonctionnalités supplémentaires. Vous avez la possibilité de sauvegarder des signets et des remarques, et de synchroniser plusieurs appareils de travail. Si ne vous inscrivez pas sous «Compte dans le cloud» ou avec l’un de vos comptes sur les réseaux sociaux (Facebook, Google Plus ou Twitter), vous ne pourrez pas utiliser ces fonctionnalités.

Que dois-je faire si j’ai oublié mes données d’accès pour l’activation du produit?

Veuillez vous adresser par e-mail aux éditions Careum.

Comment puis-je modifier mon mot de passe?

Pour l’«Activation de produit» (masque de saisie en haut), vous ne pouvez pas modifier votre mot de passe vous-même. Veuillez contacter pour cela les éditions Carem par e-mail.

Pour le «Compte dans le cloud» (masque de saisie en bas), vous pouvez modifier votre mot de passe vous-même quand vous le souhaitez.

Que dois-je faire si je perds ma tablette et, avec elle, mon livre électronique?

Les données d’accès pour l’«Activation de produit» vous permettent de réutiliser votre livre électronique à tout moment. Si vous vous êtes enregistré sous «Compte dans le cloud», vous pouvez également accéder à vos notes. Il est donc fortement recommandé de s’enregistrer immédiatement sous «Compte dans le cloud».

Pourquoi ne puis-je pas ajouter de photo faite avec l’appareil dans mon livre électronique?

Lors de la première utilisation de cette fonctionnalité, l’application vous demande: «XY peut-il accéder à votre appareil photo?» Si la réponse donnée est «non», l’image reste noire. Il est possible de changer ce réglage dans les paramètres iOS (appareil photo sur «marche» dans les paramètres de l’application de Careum).

Contact

Éditions Careum

Moussonstrasse 4
CH-8044 Zurich

T +41 43 222 51 50
F +41 43 222 51 55

verlag@careum.ch