History

The Careum Foundation has been involved in healthcare training for over 130 years.

The Careum story began in 1882 with the establishment of the foundation known as “Schwesternschule und Krankenhaus vom Roten Kreuz Zürich-Fluntern” (“Zurich-Fluntern Red Cross Nursing School and Hospital”). The nursing school and its associated training hospital were set up in close proximity to the University of Zurich and the University Hospital Zurich. This effectively laid the foundations for the Careum Campus. Even today, this unique location – right in the heart of Zurich's university district – still offers the perfect conditions for fulfilling the Foundation's purpose: “The Foundation supports training in healthcare and social services through innovation and development.”

Nursing school and hospital

After it was founded, the nursing school developed into a non-denominational school for nursing and healthcare. The Zurich-Fluntern Red Cross Hospital became established as a private clinic and training hospital with a particular focus on gynaecology and obstetrics. Developments in health and training policy in the 1990s prompted the Foundation to change course and pursue a new path:

  • In 1997, the hospital closed following the introduction of the Swiss Federal Health Insurance Act (Krankenversicherungsgesetz KVG).
  • In 1999, the development of a radically revised curriculum for nursing involving problem-based learning began.
  • In 2004, the Foundation changed its name to the “Careum Foundation”. This incorporates two elements: “care” and “lyceum” (a place of learning in ancient Athens).
  • In 2005, the Careum Training Centre opened with a vocational college and a PET (professional training and education) college.

Since 2005, the Careum Campus has been training men and women into qualified nursing professionals. The Careum Training Centre also offers five training schemes for health professions at PET college level and two vocational training programmes at upper secondary level. In 2012, the Department of Health Science at Kalaidos University of Applied Sciences moved to the Careum Campus, where training and continuing education courses are taken up to Master's degree level.

Development of an interprofessional Careum Campus

Since construction work on the site began in 2003, Careum has been pursuing the vision of creating an interprofessional campus to serve as a place for learning, research and exchange. The motto is one of “teaching, learning and researching – from, about and with one another”. During the course of developing and extending the Careum Campus, various innovative training projects have been implemented. These include, among other things, the Careum Training Centre for vocational training and higher education in healthcare, the curriculum network for problem-based learning and Careum Publishing, which develops and distributes learning and teaching material for professions associated with the healthcare and social services sectors. For the last ten years, Careum has also been working with the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Zurich to develop and implement interprofessional learning settings to prepare students for interdisciplinary collaboration.

The training projects make a vital contribution towards the development of skilled personnel to respond to the needs of the healthcare sector, demographic changes and social developments. With its wide range of training programmes, Careum appeals to trainees at various levels of education, from different age groups, with different personal situations and from different social backgrounds. The Careum Campus advocates the development and use of appropriate learning settings which enable experts to apply their skills effectively in the world of work. As well as specialist expertise, a great deal of emphasis is placed on interdisciplinary skills such as a capacity for reflection and the ability to communicate.

Research

The Careum Foundation has been running a research unit since 2010 in cooperation with the Department of Health Science at Kalaidos University of Applied Sciences. Careum Research is orientated towards the competence and participation of patients, their relatives and professionals in healthcare and social services. Its main focus is on developing new innovative and cross-sectoral forms of care provision and living arrangements. These help to develop a high-quality and effective community-based care system which enables people to make their own decisions and lead an independent life. Key research areas include living with chronic illness, health literacy, supporting self-management and empowerment.

Patient education, an integral part of Careum Research, epitomises Careum's commitment to a systematically patient- and user-orientated approach and has been developed and expanded by Careum since 2009. Integrated care with a focus on holistic processes and co-production is particularly called for in this respect. One reason for this is to ensure that the needs and resources of relatives as providers of informal support are taken into account. Due consideration is given to “caring” and the compatibility of family care with other roles at all stages in life. Through user-oriented projects, Careum generates impetus for tackling current issues relating to training and care provision in healthcare.


Contact

Careum Foundation

Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 50 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

info@careum.ch

Histoire

La fondation Careum s’engage depuis plus de 130 ans en faveur de la formation dans le secteur de la santé.

L’histoire de Careum commence en 1882, au moment de la création de la fondation «Schwesternschule und Krankenhaus vom Roten Kreuz Zürich-Fluntern» (École d’infirmières et hôpital de la Croix-Rouge Zürich-Fluntern). L’école d’infirmières avec un hôpital de formation fut construit juste à côté de l’université de Zurich et de l’hôpital universitaire. C’est ainsi que la première pierre du campus Careum fut posée. La situation unique, en plein quartier des hautes écoles de Zurich, offre aujourd’hui encore les conditions idéales à la mise en œuvre de l’objectif de la fondation: «promouvoir la formation dans les secteurs de la santé et du social grâce à l’innovation et au développement».

École d’infirmières et hôpital

Après sa création, l’école d’infirmières se développa pour devenir une école neutre sur le plan confessionnel, dédiée aux soins et à la santé. L’hôpital de la Croix-Rouge Zürich-Fluntern s’est alors établi comme clinique privée et hôpital de formation, en particulier dans le domaine de la gynécologie et de l’obstétrique. Les évolutions des politiques de santé et de formation dans les années 1990 incitèrent la fondation à poser de nouveaux jalons:

  • En 1997, l’hôpital est fermé suite à l’introduction de la Loi sur l’assurance-maladie (LAMal).
  • En 1999, le développement d’un cursus de soins radicalement nouveau, basé sur «l'apprentissage par problèmes», est lancé.
  • En 2004, la fondation change de nom pour devenir la «Fondation Careum». Ce nom contient deux éléments: «to care» (anglais pour s’occuper, prendre soin de) et «lyceum» (lieux d’enseignement dans l’Athènes antique).
  • En 2005, le centre de formation Careum ouvre ses portes avec l’école professionnelle et la Haute école spécialisée.

Depuis, le campus Careum accueille des femmes et des hommes qui se destinent à devenir infirmières et infirmiers diplômés. De plus, le centre de formation Careum propose cinq formations pour les métiers de la santé à la Haute école spécialisée, ainsi que deux formations professionnelles du degré secondaire II. En 2012, le département Santé de la Haute École Spécialisée Kalaidos déménage sur le campus Careum. C’est là que se tiennent aujourd’hui les formations initiales et continues jusqu’au Master.

Création d’un campus Careum interprofessionnel

Depuis le début de l’aménagement du site en 2003, Careum a une vision: celle d’un campus orienté sur l’interprofessionnalité, faisant office de lieu d’apprentissage, de recherche et d’échange. Sa devise est la suivante: «Enseigner, apprendre et rechercher dans le cadre d’un échange permanent.» Parallèlement à la construction et à l’extension du campus Careum, des projets de formation novateurs ont été menés à bien. Cela comprend notamment le centre de formation Careum pour la formation professionnelle et supérieure dans le secteur de la santé, l’association du cursus à un apprentissage par problèmes, ainsi que les éditions Careum, qui développent et diffusent des manuels et supports didactiques pour les métiers de la santé et du social. En collaboration avec la faculté de médecine de l’université de Zurich, Careum développe et met en œuvre des formations interprofessionnelles depuis dix ans, afin de préparer les étudiants à la coopération interdisciplinaire.

Les projets de formation contribuent massivement au développement de la main d’œuvre spécialisée dans le contexte de l’économie de la santé, de la démographie et des mutations sociales. Les offres diversifiées de formation permettent à Careum de s’adresser aux apprenants de différents niveaux de formation, catégories d’âge, situations de vie et origines sociales. Le campus Careum s’engage pour le développement et l’utilisation de formes d’apprentissage adaptées qui permettent aux spécialistes d’utiliser efficacement leurs compétences dans le monde du travail. Outre le savoir-faire spécialisé, les compétences interdisciplinaires comme la capacité de réflexion et les capacités de communication ont un poids important.

Recherche

En coopération avec la Haute École Spécialisée Kalaidos, la fondation Careum dirige depuis 2010 un département de recherche. Axée sur les compétences et la participation des patientes et des patients, de leurs proches et des professionnels des secteurs de la santé et du social, Careum Recherche se concentre sur les nouvelles formes de soins et d’habitat innovantes qui couvrent tous les secteurs. Cela donne lieu à des contributions pour des soins de proximité efficaces et de grande qualité, afin de permettre aux personnes concernées de prendre leurs propres décisions et de mener une vie autonome. Les sujets principaux à cet égard sont la vie avec une maladie chronique, la compétence en matière de santé, la promotion de l’autogestion et l’empowerment.

En tant que partie de Careum Recherche, la formation des patients s’engage pour une focalisation systématique sur les patients et les utilisateurs, élaborée et consolidée par Careum depuis 2009. Les soins intégrés qui tiennent compte des processus globaux et de la coproduction sont ici particulièrement demandés, afin de prendre aussi en compte les besoins et les ressources des proches en tant que soutiens informels. «Caring» et compatibilité des soins aux proches avec d’autres rôles sont ainsi considérés dans le cadre global du parcours de vie. En proposant des projets axés sur les utilisateurs, Careum fait avancer les questions actuelles sur la formation et les soins dans le secteur de la santé.


Contact

Fondation Careum

Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 50 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

info@careum.ch