Main Library – Medicine Careum

A shared information centre for medicine and health care: the “Main Library – Medicine Careum” offers specialist literature for students, trainees, teachers and researchers.

The “Main Library – Medicine Careum” is an interprofessional information centre for the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Zurich, University Hospital Zurich, the Careum Training Centre and the Department of Health Science at Kalaidos University of Applied Sciences. It serves a wide range of professionals involved in vocational training and higher education.

The library on the Careum Campus encompasses numerous aspects of teaching and research in the medical and healthcare professions. It exploits synergies, creates opportunities for people to meet and interact and lays the foundations for interdisciplinary and interprofessional collaboration. It also serves as an electronic library and as a centre of expertise for clinical libraries in Zurich.

Careum works with the “Main Library – Medicine Careum” to promote the further development of healthcare as a topic. The healthcare library's stocks have been continually expanded in recent years, particularly in the area of nursing science, in cooperation with University Hospital Zurich and the Careum Training Centre. This process has been helped by the transfer of the library stocks from the Continuing Education Centre for Healthcare Professionals at the former Swiss Red Cross Nursing Management School.

A place of learning for over 8,000 students, trainees and lecturers

In 2015, the “Main Library – Medicine Careum” – with a staff of 9.8 full-time equivalents – provided specialist literature and information to almost 3,000 medical students and around 2,500 researchers from the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Zurich and University Hospital Zurich, some 1,000 students from universities of applied sciences and PET colleges, 950 trainees undergoing basic vocational training and roughly 350 lecturers and instructors specialising in healthcare professions.

The library building covers 2,120 square metres and contains 350 reading desks. It is open from 8.00 a.m. to 8.00 p.m. on Monday to Friday and from 8.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m. on Saturdays.

Find out more about the “Main Library – Medicine Careum”


Contact

Main Library –
Medicine Careum

Gloriastrasse 16
CH-8006 Zürich

T +41 44 634 50 50

E-Mail

Bibliothèque Centrale – Médecine Careum

Centre d’information commun pour la médecine et la santé: La «Bibliothèque Centrale – Médecine Careum» propose de la littérature spécialisée pour les étudiants, les apprentis, les enseignants et les chercheurs.

La «Bibliothèque Centrale – Médecine Careum» est un centre d’information orienté sur l’interprofessionnalité pour la faculté médicale de l’université de Zurich, l’hôpital universitaire de Zurich, le centre d'èducation Careum et la Haute École Spécialisée Kalaidos. Elle est à la disposition d’un vaste éventail de spécialistes de la formation professionnelle et supérieure.

La bibliothèque du campus Careum unit de nombreuses fonctions pour l’enseignement et la recherche dans les métiers de la santé et de la médecine. Elle exploite les synergies, crée des possibilités de rencontre et offre les conditions préalables nécessaires à la collaboration interdisciplinaire et interprofessionnelle. De plus, il s’agit d’une bibliothèque électronique et d’un centre bibliothécaire spécialisé pour les bibliothèques de cliniques de Zurich.

Careum s’engage aux côtés de la «Bibliothèque Centrale – Médecine Careum» pour continuer à développer la réflexion sur le sujet majeur qu’est la santé. Les fonds de la bibliothèque de la santé, en particulier du domaine spécialisé des sciences infirmières, ont pu être constamment élargis au cours des dernières années, en collaboration avec l’hôpital universitaire de Zurich et le centre de formation Careum. Le transfert des fonds de la bibliothèque du Centre de formation complémentaire pour les professions de la santé de l’ancienne école de cadres en soins infirmiers de la Croix-Rouge suisse.

Lieu d’apprentissage pour quelque 8000 étudiants, apprentis et enseignants

La «Bibliothèque Centrale – Médecine Careum» disposait de 9,8 postes de collaborateurs pour approvisionner en littérature et en informations spécialisées près de 3000 étudiants en médecine et environ 2500 chercheurs de la faculté de médecine et de l’hôpital universitaire de Zurich, près de 1000 étudiants de l’école supérieure et de la haute école spécialisée, 950 apprentis de la formation professionnelle initiale, ainsi qu’environ 350 enseignants et conférenciers dans le domaine des métiers de la santé.

La bibliothèque s’étend sur 2120 m2 et dispose de 350 postes de lecture. Elle est ouverte du lundi au vendredi de 08h00 à 20h00 et le samedi de 08h00 à 16h00.

En savoir plus sur la «Bibliothèque Centrale – Médecine Careum»


Contact

Bibliothèque Centrale –
Médicine Careum

Gloriastrasse 16
CH-8006 Zürich

T +41 44 634 50 50

E-Mail