Independent Living Network

This “moderated” network brought together businesses and non-profit organisations which wanted to do something around the issue of independent living.

From 2008 to the end of 2016, the Independent Living Network (IL-NW) gave organisations from German-speaking countries a chance to discuss the issues of independent living and active and assisted living (AAL). It encouraged various stakeholders and disciplines to apply a degree of forethought and lateral thinking to a range of converging issues including research, health and social provision, property and finance, welfare associations and service providers, senior citizens, and IT/technology. The network was founded in 2008 by the University of St. Gallen and was run by Careum Research from 2015. The Independent Living Network met twice a year at a two-day workshop. A total of 15 workshops were held, and these provided fertile ground for a wide range of exciting projects and collaborations. 

Uberisation of care

The last workshop in autumn 2016 focused on the “Uberisation of care and support”. Uber taxis and Airbnb have long been a fact of life, with people ordering an Uber taxi on the spur of the moment or booking their holiday flat online. And the principle behind these digital matching businesses has also reached the areas of assistance, support and care. The members of the network all agreed how important it was to identify at an early stage the opportunities and risks the platform economy presented in terms of social and health care and understand the possible impact. The workshop produced a mission paper (in german), which was also published as an article (in german) in the Swiss trade magazine Krankenpflege. In collaboration with Careum Continuing Education, an evening event was also held on 21 June, which asked “Is the Uber and Airbnb Principle Taking over Care Provision?”.

Director and sounding board

Richard Züsli was the Director of the Independent Living Network until December 2016. He was supported by a sounding board made up of Dr Andrea Kofler (Zurich University of Applied Sciences, ZHAW), Dr Christophe Kunze (Furtwangen University) and Prof. Ulrich Otto (Head of Careum Research).

Réseau Independent Living

Le réseau de discussion a réuni des entreprises et des organisations non gouvernementales qui souhaitaient faire bouger les choses en matière de vie autonome.

De 2008 à fin 2016, le réseau Independent Living (IL-NW) a permis à des organisations germanophones d’échanger sur des sujets touchant à l’Independent Living (vie autonome) et à l’Active and Assisted Living (AAL) (vie active et assistée). Il a invité divers intervenants et disciplines à réfléchir de manière proactive et créative sur la recherche, la santé et les services sociaux, l’immobilier et la finance, les associations caritatives et les prestataires, les seniors et l’informatique/la technique. Fondé en 2008 à l’université de Saint-Gall, le réseau est dirigé par Careum Recherche depuis 2015. À raison de deux ateliers de deux jours par an, Independent Living a ainsi organisé 15 ateliers depuis sa création. Ce laboratoire d’idées a d’ailleurs fait naître toute une série de projets et de coopérations de grand intérêt.

Ubérisation des soins

Le dernier atelier qui s’est tenu à l’automne 2016 portait sur l’ubérisation des soins et de l’encadrement. Depuis un certain temps déjà, les taxis Uber et l’entreprise Airbnb permettent respectivement de commander sur-le-champ un taxi Uber et de réserver une maison de vacances par Internet. Or, ce principe entrepreunarial de jumelage numérique, le «digital matching», a fait son entrée dans le monde de l’accompagnement, de l’encadrement et des soins. Les membres du réseau ont d’ailleurs convenu de la nécessité de reconnaître en amont les perspectives et les risques de l’économie de plateformes pour les services sociaux et les soins de santé et en comprendre les conséquences possibles. L’atelier a mené à la création d’un Mission Paper (en allemand) qui est aussi paru dans un article (en allemand) de la revue «Soins infirmiers», la publication suisse spécialisée en soins de santé. Avec l’aide de Formation continue Careum, une rencontre en soirée a été organisée le 21 juin 2017. La question posée était la suivante: le principe d’Uber et d’Airbnb gagnera-t-il les soins de santé?

Directeur et comité consultatif

Richard Züsli a été jusqu’en décembre 2016 directeur du réseau Independent Living. Il était épaulé par un comité consultatif formé d’Andrea Kofler (ZHAW), de Christophe Kunze (Université de Furtwangen) et du Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto (responsable de Careum Recherche).


Télécharger Télécharger