Art and construction

The Careum Foundation firmly believes in the artistic potential of construction. And the various works of art around the Careum Campus are testament to this.

The Careum Foundation has created a unique educational campus for the healthcare professions in Zurich's higher education district. And given the exemplary style of the new clinker brick buildings, those in charge of the project were keen to adopt an “art and construction” approach to the new Careum Campus – to supplement the high-quality architecture from Bern-based architecture firm GWJ Architekten AG. With this in mind, an art commission was set up in July 2003 to launch a competitive tender process where various Swiss artists were invited to take part. It was a case of coming up with artistically convincing designs, both inside and out, and delivering these accordingly. 2007 saw the first phase implemented, with works by Annelies Strba, Piero Maspoli and Urs Eberle situated both inside and in front of the Careum buildings 1 and 2 on Gloriastrasse (see the site plan).

In autumn 2015, the Careum Foundation ran another invitation-only art competition when the auditorium was built. The Foundation felt it was important that the new auditorium – designed by the Zurich architects Bhend Klammer – should be enhanced by contemporary interventions that were both creative and unique. Those in charge of the project convened another art commission to provide artists Christine Streuli and Beat Zoderer with active support both during the competition phase and as they carried out their work.

The artist's work
 

Urs Eberle: Haus der vier Elemente, 2004

The artist earmarked four places for interventions, namely the atrium and the main, south and north stairwells. The artist used colour at the four locations to reflect the elements of fire, water, earth and wind. In the main stairwell, an oracle with a fire theme was integrated into the wall and the paint. Eberle sees his painting style as an extension of architecture and a kind of spatial sculpture that people can walk past or through. The technical and functional aspects of the architecture were complemented by Eberle's painting, which added a colourful and sensuous component.

Annelies Strba «PEMA CHÖKYI» (flower of joyfull teaching), 2005

The starting point was some film footage from a kitchen garden in Horgen near Zurich, which the artist had known very well since her childhood. What you see are kaleidoscopic colour compositions flowing into each other – a bright interplay of colourful impressions that convey a sense of movement. The two pictures, which only really evoke floral motifs when seen at a distance, need to be understood as a single entity. They radiate a powerful sense of emotion and bring something sensuous and dynamic to the open space inside the cafeteria. Through her work, the artist creates a dream-like and gaily coloured counterpoint to the day-to-day routine of an educational establishment.

Piero Maspoli: Ohne Titel (Keil), 2006

The artist had contrived a kind of wedge-shaped ramp made of various sandstone slabs for the transitional area between Gloriastrasse and the Careum Campus (and tapering off towards Plattenstrasse). The wedge is around 1.20 m high where it starts and decreases in height – down a gradient already present – to around 40 cm, while narrowing to form a point at the bottom. The artist saw the wedge as a minimalist intervention in keeping with the specific situation at the site. A balance between forging an architectural/sculptural shape and creating a natural appearance, with the wedge marking an understated boundary (from a town planning perspective) between the Careum Campus and both Gloriastrasse and the wider university district.

Beat Zoderer: Raster, 2016

In terms of form and content, this artist, who is active both at home and abroad, would have to come under the banner of constructive art. Zoderer described his work at the Careum Auditorium as follows: “The impression is a net-like structure covering the whole space. It is actually a dot matrix consisting of three circles of various sizes. The axes for the matrix run diagonal to the space and make it appear larger. The sequence used for the dots incorporates a degree of variety. It's a kind of dual system combining order and chaos.” (Beat Zoderer, 2016 competition). The result is a floorscape where dots suggesting both regular and irregular sequences form a rhythm of sorts and create an impression of vitality and excitement. This system of dots spaced at different intervals only emerges upon closer inspection, forcing the viewer to work that bit harder, so to speak, in order to fathom out and understand the laws behind the “secret” dot matrix.

Christine Streuli: Brushstrokes, 2016

The artist has become known for her expressive and ornamental style of painting. Her works tend to be highly dynamic or intensely colourful. She explains her mural in the entrance hall as follows: “The basic idea behind my concept was to take drawings of stylised brushstrokes, have these enlarged, and then apply them to the concrete walls in the entrance and foyer area of the new Careum building. The frozen 'brushstrokes' are intended to signify the painter's gestures and stand for movement, energy and a certain train of thought. If executed cleanly, large brushstrokes can become a kind of logo and a proxy expression of human gestures and vitality. Massive enlargement of a small movement represents a playful way of shifting our habitual perception and interpretation of scale. It can get us thinking in new and interesting ways.“ (Christine Streuli, 2016 competition)


Photo gallery Photo gallery

Contact

Careum Foundation

Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 50 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

info@careum.ch

Art et construction

L’animation artistique compte beaucoup pour la Fondation Careum. C’est pourquoi elle a doté son campus de plusieurs œuvres d’art.

En réaménageant l’aire de la Fondation, Careum a créé un extraordinaire campus de formation pour les professions de la santé dans le Hochschulquartier de Zurich. Inspirés par les nouvelles constructions en klinker, les maîtres d’ouvrage ont souhaité doter le nouveau campus de Careum d’une animation artistique («Kunst und Bau») en complément à l’architecture de haut niveau du bureau d’architectes bernois GWJ Architekten AG. En juillet 2003, une commission d’art a donc été mise sur pied afin de permettre à des artistes suisses invités de participer à un concours. Ceux-ci devaient créer et réaliser un aménagement extérieur et intérieur de manière artistiquement convaincante. En 2007, la première phase du projet a été réalisée. On a alors pu admirer les œuvres d’Annelies Strba, de Piero Maspoli et d’Urs Eberle à l’extérieur et à l’intérieur des édifices Careum 1 et 2 sur la Gloriastrasse (voir plan de situation).

À l’automne 2015, pour la rénovation de l’auditorium, la Fondation Careum a lancé un autre concours artistique sur invitation. Elle tenait à revaloriser le nouvel auditorium, créé par l’architectes zurichois Bhend Klammer, par des aménagements inédits, contemporains et créatifs. Pour ce faire, les maîtres d’ouvrage ont à nouveau mis sur pied une commission d’art afin d’épauler les artistes Christine Streuli et Beat Zoderer aux étapes du concours et de la réalisation.

Les œuvres d’art des créateurs

Urs Eberle: Haus der vier Elemente, 2004

L’artiste a établi quatre lieux d’intervention: la cour intérieure, la cage d’escalier principale, la cage d’escalier sud et la cage d’escalier nord. Il a associé aux quatre lieux d’intervention une couleur inspirée des éléments naturels (feu, eau, terre et air). Dans la cage d’escalier principale, il a peint sur le mur un oracle consacré au thème du feu. Urs Eberle considère sa fresque comme le prolongement de l’architecture, un peu comme une sculpture que l’on pourrait parcourir. La peinture d’Urs Eberle a ajouté des éléments symboliques et colorés à l’architecture technico-fonctionnelle de l’endroit.

Annelies Strba «PEMA CHÖKYI» (flower of joyfull teaching), 2005

L’artiste s’est inspirée d’extraits filmés dans un jardin de campagne à Horgen près de Zurich, qu’elle connaît depuis sa tendre enfance. Ces images montrent des compositions de couleur kaléidoscopiques se fondant l’une dans l’autre, un jeu où les couleurs semblent se mouvoir. Les deux images qui, de loin, rappellent des motifs floraux, doivent être vues comme un tout. Il en émane un fort rayonnement émotionnel et elles confèrent à la cafétéria à aire ouverte une composante symbolique et dynamique. Par cette œuvre, Annelies Strba évoque un monde onirique et coloré, qui tranche avec la réalité académique des lieux.

Piero Maspoli: Ohne Titel (Keil), 2006

Dans le passage qui mène de la Gloriastrasse au Campus de Careum, l’artiste a imaginé une rampe descendante en forme de cale, faite de diverses plaques de grès, qui donne sur la Plattenstrasse. La cale fait 1,20 m à son plus haut point et suit la pente naturelle pour ne faire que 40 cm à son extrémité, formant une pointe en biseau. Pour Piero Maspoli, la cale est une intervention minimale qui épouse le relief de l’endroit, sise entre des designs architecturo-sculpturaux et des manifestations naturelles. D’un point de vue urbanistique, elle délimite discrètement le campus de Careum de la Gloriastrasse et de tout le quartier universitaire.

Beat Zoderer: Raster, 2016

Actif en Suisse et à l’étranger, l’artiste évolue dans le domaine de l’art constructiviste, tant sur le plan de la forme que du contenu. Il décrit son travail dans l’auditorium Careum de la manière suivante: «On peut voir une structure quadrillée dans toute la pièce. Il s’agit d’une trame de points formée de trois cercles différents. Les axes de la trame suivent les diagonales de la pièce pour lui donner une impression de grandeur. L’ordre des points est alterné. Il s’agit d’un système binaire qui représente l’ordre et le chaos.» (Beat Zoderer, concours 2016). L’artiste a créé des motifs sur le plancher, dont les points rythmés par la régularité et l’irrégularité provoquent une sensation de vitalité et de tension. Ce n’est qu’en y regardant de plus près qu’on remarque le schéma de points à intervalles irréguliers qui invite l’observateur à considérer, voire à comprendre, la régularité de la «mystérieuse» trame de points.

Christine Streuli: Brushstrokes, 2016

L’artiste s’est fait connaître par sa peinture expressive et ornementale. Ses œuvres sont empreintes d’une forte dynamique ou de coloris intenses. Elle décrit sa fresque murale dans le vestibule comme suit: «L’idée de base est d’agrandir des coups de pinceau stylisés et de les exposer sur les murs en béton de l’entrée et du hall dans le nouvel édifice de Careum. Les coups de pinceau ainsi figés représentent l’importance du geste de peindre, du mouvement, de l’énergie et du fil de la pensée. Les grands coups de pinceau, par leur exécution propre, deviennent une forme de logo et de représentant de l’action et de la vitalité humaines. Le fait de surdimensionner un petit mouvement a pour effet de remettre en question notre perception et notre interprétation des proportions. Cela nous amène à penser différemment.» (Christine Streuli, concours 2016)


Galerie d'images Galerie d'images

Contact

Fondation Careum

Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 50 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

info@careum.ch