Patient education

Improving health together: targeting co-production – with patient involvement as the guiding principle.

For Careum, the involvement of patients and their relatives is key. Their perspectives and requirements as “experts based on experience” form the basis for research, training and education and services. Important cross-cutting issues:

  • Living with chronic illness and multimorbidity
    Non-communicable chronic conditions are regarded as “slow-motion disaster” and pose major challenges for healthcare systems in general, but particularly for patients and their relatives in their everyday lives. For elderly people, living with several chronic conditions is the norm rather than the exception. This is known as multimorbidity. Innovative approaches involving the patients themselves can encourage independent action and participatory decision-making.

  • Health literacy
    One in two people living with at least one long-term illness has a limited or insufficient level of health literacy. For healthcare provision, prevention and disease management, it is relevant to have access to healthcare information and to be able to understand it, assess it and apply it. Supporting health literacy means putting people in a position where they can participate in making decisions and act independently within the healthcare system.

  • Self-management support and empowerment
    Supporting patients and relatives in managing illness and disability in their everyday lives and enabling them to participate in decisions on health-related issues can help to maintain health, prevent illness and improve both quality of care and patient safety.

 

Evivo Network Association

As a result of the patient education project (2010–2014) the Evivo course programme Gesund und aktiv leben” (Healthy and active living) was introduced in Switzerland and German-speaking Europe. It is based on the Chronic Disease Self-Management Programme (CDSMP) offered by the University of Stanford (USA) and supports people with chronic conditions or disabilities, as well as their relatives, to enable them to lead a healthcare-aware and self-managed life. The “Healthy and active living” course has been run successfully since 2014 by the “Evivo Network” Association, whose founding members include Careum.

Further information

Find out more about the subject of patient education in the Careum blog, in the “Positionspapier Patientenbildung” (Patient education policy paper) published by the Careum Foundation and in the Careum Working Paper 6.

Publications

Rosenbaum, L., & Lamas, D. (2011). Facing a «slow-motion disaster» – the UN meeting on noncommunicable diseases. New England Journal of Medicine, 365 (25), 2345-2348. doi: 10.1056/NEJMp1112235

Barnett, K., Mercer, S., Norbury, M., Watt, G., Wyke, S., & Guthrie, B. (2012). Epidemiology of multimorbidity and implications for health care, research, and medical education: a cross-sectional study. The Lancet, 380 (9836), 37-43. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(12)60240-2

Sørensen, K., et al. (2012). Health literacy and public health: a systematic review and integration of definitions and models. BMC Public Health, 12:80. doi: 10.1186/1471-2458-12-80

WHO-Regionalbüro für Europa (2016). Gesundheitskompetenz: Die Fakten. Hg. von I. Kickbusch, J. M. Pelikan, J. Haslbeck, F. Apfel, & A. D. Tsouros. Zürich: Kompetenzzentrum Patientenbildung, Careum Stiftung. Volltext

Osborn, R., & Squires, D. (2012). International perspectives on patient engagement: results from the 2011 Commonwealth Fund Survey. The Journal of Ambulatory Care Management, 35 (2), 118-128. doi: 10.1097/JAC.0b013e31824a579b


Downloads Downloads

Contact

Patient education

Careum Research
Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 64 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

E-Mail

Formation des patients

Concevoir ensemble la santé: la coproduction comme objectif, la participation du patient comme maxime.

Pour Careum la formation des patients, la participation des patients et de leurs proches est essentielle. Leur perspective et leurs besoins en tant qu’«expertes et experts par expérience» sont à la base de la recherche, de l’enseignement et des prestations. Des questions transversales importantes:

  • Vivre avec une maladie chronique et une multimorbidité
    Les maladies chroniques non transmissibles sont considérées comme un «Slow Motion Disaster» et mettent le système de santé, mais aussi et surtout les patientes, les patients et leurs proches face à des défis quotidiens majeurs. Chez les personnes âgées, vivre avec plusieurs maladies chroniques (la multimorbidité) est davantage la norme que l’exception. Les approches novatrices qui misent sur la participation du patient peuvent favoriser un comportement responsable et autonome, ainsi que la prise de décision participative.

  • Compétence en matière de santé
    Une personne sur deux vivant avec une ou plusieurs affections à long terme dispose de compétences insuffisantes en matière de santé. Pour la promotion de la santé, la prévention et la maîtrise de la maladie, il est important d’avoir accès aux informations médicales et de pouvoir les comprendre, les évaluer et les appliquer. Encourager la compétence en matière de santé implique de permettre aux personnes touchées de participer activement aux décisions sur le système de santé et d’agir avec une plus grande autonomie.

  • Promotion de l'autogestion et empowerment
    Aider les patientes, les patiens et leurs proches à maîtriser le quotidien avec une maladie et un handicap, et à pouvoir participer aux questions et décisions relatives à la santé peut contribuer à préserver la santé, à prévenir l’apparition de maladies et à améliorer la qualité de la prise en charge et la sécurité du patient.

 

Association Réseau Evivo

Le cursus Evivo «Devenir acteur de sa santé» a été introduit en Suisse et en Europe germanophone avec le projet «formation des patients» (2010–2014). Il se base sur le Chronic Disease Self-Management Program (CDSMP) de l’université de Stanford (États-Unis) et soutient les personnes souffrant de maladies chroniques ou de handicaps ainsi que leurs proches afin de leur permettre d’avoir une vie autonome et saine. Le cours «Devenir acteur de sa santé» est mis en œuvre avec succès depuis 2014 par l’association «Réseau Evivo», dont Careum est l’un des membres fondateurs.

Plusieurs informations

Apprenez-en davantage sur le thème de la formation des patients avec le blog Careum, avec la «prise de position sur le sujet de la formation des patients» (en allemand) de la fondation Careum et avec le Working Paper 6 (en allemand).

Publications

Rosenbaum, L., & Lamas, D. (2011). Facing a «slow-motion disaster» – the UN meeting on noncommunicable diseases. New England Journal of Medicine, 365 (25), 2345-2348. doi: 10.1056/NEJMp1112235

Barnett, K., Mercer, S., Norbury, M., Watt, G., Wyke, S., & Guthrie, B. (2012). Epidemiology of multimorbidity and implications for health care, research, and medical education: a cross-sectional study. The Lancet, 380 (9836), 37-43. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(12)60240-2

Sørensen, K., et al. (2012). Health literacy and public health: a systematic review and integration of definitions and models. BMC Public Health, 12:80. doi: 10.1186/1471-2458-12-80

WHO-Regionalbüro für Europa (2016). Gesundheitskompetenz: Die Fakten. Hg. von I. Kickbusch, J. M. Pelikan, J. Haslbeck, F. Apfel, & A. D. Tsouros. Zürich: Kompetenzzentrum Patientenbildung, Careum Stiftung. Volltext

Osborn, R., & Squires, D. (2012). International perspectives on patient engagement: results from the 2011 Commonwealth Fund Survey. The Journal of Ambulatory Care Management, 35 (2), 118-128. doi: 10.1097/JAC.0b013e31824a579b


Télécharger Télécharger

Contact

Formation des patients

Careum Recherche
Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 64 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

E-Mail