Quality development

Quality assurance really matters to Careum. This is why training concepts and learning and teaching material are reviewed and updated on a regular basis.

Careum Training Development performs ongoing evaluations of both curricula and learning and teaching material. This is done in collaboration with the training institutions in the curriculum association for problem-based learning and with other specialists.

Evaluation of teaching material for care and community health assistance professionals

Careum Training Development has evaluated the existing teaching material for care and community health assistance professionals on behalf of Careum Publishing. This was done in parallel with a revision of the training ordinance applicable to care and community health assistance professionals.

The main focus was on investigating whether the level is right and on updating things to reflect the latest specialist developments. This meant conducting a full census. Of the 67 learning centres approached across the various linguistic regions, 41 said they would be prepared to participate in the online survey, with 25 eventually completing it. Replies were received from all linguistic regions.

An analysis of the results picked up on specialist content, the transfer between theory and practice, and active learning as the main topics. Based on feedback regarding specialist content, topics are duly supplemented/regrouped and content updated/adapted to the level associated with care and community health assistance professionals. The investigation found that the transfer from theory to practice needs to be demonstrated using examples, images and graphics, and situations from professional practice. Active learning is all about getting learners to adopt a more active outlook by giving them learning tasks and food for thought.

Ahead of the national survey, a pilot project addressed the issue of how an active take on learning might be enhanced within the new edition of the teaching material for care and community health assistance professionals. Experts believe the following core aspects are critical: consistent inclusion of “illustrative situations” in the training plan, structured activation of existing knowledge, and integration of tasks involving learning and reflection. This ensures factual knowledge is supplemented by a more applied and practical knowledge of how to do things. Professional competencies are promoted as a result. The results from the pilot project have been compiled in a guide by the relevant authors. The results from the Switzerland-wide survey and the guide by the authors are helping Careum Publishing edit the teaching material for care and community health assistance professionals with a view to a publishing a new edition.

Evaluation of the Higher Vocational College for Nursing

Those graduating from the Higher Vocational College for Nursing who were trained in accordance with the concept of problem-based learning tend to prove their worth in professional practice. They have good or even very good behavioural competencies and are valued by their managers as competent specialists. This is revealed by a Ustudy undertaken by the Institute of Business Education and Educational Management at the University of St Gallen (in german) in 2011. The study involved a survey of 58 qualified nursing staff (and their immediate line managers) one year after they completed their training at the Careum Training Centre in Zurich or the Bildungszentrum Gesundheit und Soziales (Training Centre for Health and Social Care) in Chur. The self-assessment element is more critical and varied than the third-party assessment by the line managers.

Careum first asked the Institute of Business Education and Educational Management to perform an evaluation as long ago as 2004. The idea was to investigate the implementation of problem-based learning and the problem-based model curriculum for the Higher Vocational College for Nursing. The results showed that implementing problem-based learning can be challenging for students and teachers, while the findings fed directly into the implementation and further development of learning and teaching material for all training courses at the Higher Vocational College.


Contact

Careum Education Development

Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 50 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

E-mail

Développement de la qualité

Careum accorde une grande importance à l’assurance qualité. C’est pourquoi les concepts de formation ainsi que les manuels et supports didactiques sont évalués et mis à jour à intervalles réguliers.

Développement de formation Careum évalue continuellement les cursus ainsi que les manuels et supports didactiques. Cette évaluation est réalisée en collaboration avec les établissements d’enseignement qui font partie de l’association du cursus de l’apprentissage par problèmes, ainsi qu’avec des experts.

Évaluation du support didactique «assistance en soins et santé communautaire»

Développement de formation Careum a examiné le support didactique existant de la formation professionnelle «assistance en soins et santé communautaire», à la demande des éditions Careum. Cette évaluation s’est faite parallèlement à la révision de l’ordonnance sur la formation d’assistante et d'assistant en soins et santé communautaire.

Cet examen visait principalement à s’assurer que le support est adapté au niveau des élèves et qu’il comporte les récents développements propres au domaine. Un recensement a été réalisé à cet effet. 41 des 67 lieux d’enseignement contactés, sur l’ensemble des régions linguistiques, ont accepté de participer au sondage en ligne. Au final, 25 lieux d’enseignement ont répondu au sondage en ligne. Des réponses sont parvenues de toutes les régions linguistiques.

L’analyse des résultats a mis en lumière les grands axes suivants: contenus spécialisés, passage de la théorie à la pratique et activation des connaissances. Sur la base des réponses obtenues au sujet des contenus spécialisés, les thèmes seront développés et regroupés différemment. Ils seront en outre mis à jour et adaptés au niveau des ASSC. Le sondage a démontré la nécessité de renforcer le passage de la théorie à la pratique au moyen d’exemples, d’illustrations, de graphiques, ainsi que de situations professionnelles. L’activation des connaissances consiste à inciter les apprentis à se servir activement des apprentissages et pistes de réflexion.

En amont du sondage national, un avant-projet s’était penché sur la question du renforcement de l’apprentissage actif dans la nouvelle édition du support didactique «assistance en soins et santé communautaire». Selon les experts, les points suivants sont déterminants: l’application conséquente du plan de formation «à des situations concrètes», la mise à contribution structurée des connaissances préalables et l’intégration d’exercices d’apprentissage et de réflexion. Selon cette démarche, les connaissances factuelles sont consolidées par un savoir-faire axé sur l’application pratique, ce qui favorise le développement des compétences professionnelles. Les résultats de l’avant-projet ont été résumés dans un guide des auteurs. Ce guide, de même que les résultats du sondage réalisé à l’échelle nationale, serviront à l’élaboration d’une nouvelle version du support didactique «assistance en soins et santé communautaire» par les éditions Careum.

Évaluation de l’école supérieure, département Soins

Les diplômés de l’école supérieure, dép. Soins, qui ont été formés selon le concept de l’apprentissage par problèmes, se démarquent dans la pratique professionnelle. Ils disposent d’un savoir-faire jugé bon à très bon et sont perçus par leurs supérieurs comme des professionnels compétents. C’est ce qu’a démontré une étude réalisée par l’Institut de pédagogie des Sciences Economiques (IWP) de l’université de Saint-Gall (en allemand) en 2011. Pour les besoins de l’étude, 58 infirmiers, ainsi que leurs supérieurs directs, ont été interrogés une année après la formation au Centre de formation Careum de Zurich ou au Centre de formation dans les domaines de la santé et du social à Coire. L’autoévaluation faite par les diplômés s’est révélée plus critique et différenciée que l’évaluation faite par leurs supérieurs.

En 2004, Careum avait déjà mandaté l’IWP pour une première évaluation. Il s’agissait alors d’examiner la mise en œuvre de l’apprentissage par problèmes et du cursus basé sur l’approche par problèmes au sein de l’école supérieure, dép. Soins. Les résultats ont démontré que la mise en œuvre de l’apprentissage par problèmes représentait un défi tant pour les étudiants que pour les enseignants. Les résultats de cette étude ont été pris en compte directement dans l’application et l’élaboration ultérieure des manuels et supports didactiques de toutes les filières de formation de l’école supérieure.


Contact

Développement de
formation Careum

Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 50 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

E-mail