Inpatient-outpatient transitions

Central to this project is the interface between inpatient and outpatient care: what care do elderly and sick people receive in hospital and subsequently in their home environment?

Basis

Increasing life expectancy is resulting in an ageing society. This demographic change is not just sparking a debate on the ability to finance public health: it is also raising the broader question of suitable care in inpatient and outpatient scenarios within the legal framework. Containing costs is a central concern of today's modern healthcare systems, to enable continued provision of good quality, affordable healthcare.

As part of large-scale healthcare reform, flat rate payments (SwissDRG) were introduced in Switzerland in 2012 to pay for inpatient services in acute hospitals. A previous study showed how hospitals are responding to the new tariff system. The results provide evidence that the change in commercial incentives in inpatient care in hospitals is triggering a displacement of services. Services with a high proportion of care are thus less appealing to hospitals. Sometimes, inpatient acute care in hospitals ends earlier these days, or is delegated to care at home. Furthermore, since 2011, new legal principles have applied to supplementary AHV/IV (old-age and survivors' / disability insurance) benefits. There has been little research into the interaction between the two financing strategies.

Project

The interdisciplinary project “inpatients-outpatients transitions in the era of DRGs: the legal framework and current practice” adopts a legal, medical and sociological approach and is a collaborative project with the University of Zurich (Prof. Dr. iur. Thomas Gächter),The University of Basel (Prof. Dr. med. Bernice Elger) and Careum Research (Prof. FH Dr. iur Agnes Leu). Building on previous projects should address a gap in research. So far, no findings have been established on the legal aspects and consequences of overlapping new payment rules for inpatient and outpatient care. The project pursues three main objectives:

  1. It investigates whether the legal conditions are effective, enabling the interaction of both reformed systems of finance and whether the applicable rules provide sufficiently clear guidelines.
  2. It investigates those factors influencing healthcare and support following acute care. Another important question is whether and to what extent both reformed financing systems affect the decisions of service providers and insured persons. To conduct this investigation, interviews are being conducted with experts and interest groups (health professionals, politicians, patient organisation representatives) regarding the implementation of the new legal conditions in five different cantons (ZH, GE, LU, BS, TI). Finally, patients are also asked about their experiences and satisfaction with the decision-making process.
  3. This should clarify whether legislative measures are proven with respect to the individual entitlement, enshrined within the constitution, to treatment for illnesses and associated care. Is there a risk that the new legal framework is causing patient decisions to be made that result in a reduction of care for or discrimination against particularly vulnerable groups?


The research team is working in conjunction with national and international experts from the fields of social security, law, medicine, medical ethics, health economics and sociology. The research findings are published in national and international journals and also included in the Dissertation by Yvonne Padrutt, Mlaw (Prof. Dr. iur. Thomas Gächter, University of Zurich).

Project team

University of Zurich: Prof. Dr. iur. Thomas Gächter (Institute of Law, Professor of Constitutional, Administrative and Social Security Law)
University of Basel: Prof. Dr. med. Bernice Elger (Institute for Biomedical Ethics)
Careum Research: Prof. FH Dr. iur. Agnes Leu

External funding

Swiss National Science Foundation SNSF, CR13I1_156274/1

Duration

October 2015–October 2018

Partners in practice

Publications

Leu, A., Gaechter, T., & Elger, B. (2013). 365 Tage SwissDRG – Anreize, Instrumente, Wirkungen. hill Zeitschrift für Recht und Gesundheit, (95). Online verfügbar unter https://hill.swisslex.ch

Leu, A. (2015). Einfluss der SwissDRG auf die vulnerablen Patientengruppen in der Schweiz: Ethische Kriterien und rechtliches Korrelat. Berlin: De Gruyter. Verlag

Leu, A., Gächter, T., & Elger, B. S. (2015). Swiss DRG: Missbrauchsgefahr bei der Datenweitergabe an Krankenversicherer?: Erwartungen und Entwicklungen. Schweizerische Zeitschrift für Gesundheitsrecht RSDS/SZG, 83-96. Volltext

Leu, A., Gächter, T., & Elger, B. (2015). Führt SwissDRG zu einer Minderversorgung vulnerabler Patientengruppen? Pflegerecht, 4 (1), 9–14. PDF

Wild, V., Fourie, C., Frouzakis, R., Clarinval, C., Leu, A. et al. (2015). Assessing the impact of DRGs on patient care and professional practice in Switzerland (IDoC) – a potential model for monitoring and evaluating health care reform. Swiss Medical Weekly, 145, w14034. doi: 104414/smw.2015.14034

Le passage du résidentiel à l’ambulatoire

L’interface entre les soins résidentiels et ambulatoires est au cœur du projet «Inpatient-outpatient transitions»: comment les personnes âgées et malades sont-elles prises en charge à l’hôpital, et comment sont-elles ensuite prises en charge dans leur environnement domestique?

Situation de départ

La hausse de l’espérance de vie entraîne un vieillissement global de la société. Cette évolution démographique ne provoque pas seulement des débats sur la manière de financer le secteur de la santé, elle pose aussi des questions quant aux prestations de soins appropriées dans les secteurs ambulatoire et résidentiel, dans le cadre des conditions légales. L’amortissement des coûts est une préoccupation centrale des systèmes de santé modernes, car il permet de continuer à proposer des services de soins abordables et de bonne qualité.

Dans le cadre d’une vaste réforme de la santé suisse en 2012, les forfaits par cas (SwissDRG) ont été introduits pour la rémunération des prestations hospitalières dans les hôpitaux de soins aigus. Une étude précédente avait permis de montrer la réaction des hôpitaux au nouveau système tarifaire. Les résultats ont prouvé que la modification des incitations économiques dans les hôpitaux entraînait une délocalisation des prestations. Les prestations nécessitant une part de soins élevée deviennent ainsi moins attrayantes pour les hôpitaux. Aujourd’hui, la prise en charge aiguë résidentielle dans les hôpitaux est interrompue plus tôt ou déléguée aux soins à domicile. À cela s’ajoute le fait que depuis 2011, les prestations complémentaires de l’AVS/AI sont elles aussi soumises à de nouvelles bases juridiques. L’interaction entre ces deux logiques de financement reste cependant largement inexplorée.

Projet

Le projet interdisciplinaire «Inpatient-outpatient transitions in the era of DRGs: the legal framework and current practice» (les transitions patients hospitalisés-patients externes à l’ère des GHM: cadre légal et pratique actuelle), doté d’une approche juridico-médico-sociale, est une coopération entre l’université de Zurich (Prof. Dr. iur. Thomas Gächter), l’université de Bâle (Prof. Dr. med. Bernice Elger) et Careum Recherche (Prof. FH Dr. iur Agnes Leu). Son objectif est, en se basant sur le projet précédent, de combler une autre lacune de la recherche. Pour l’instant, il n’existe pas de résultats fiables sur les aspects juridiques et sur les conséquences des nouvelles politiques de rémunération pour la prise en charge résidentielle et ambulatoire.

Le projet poursuit trois objectifs principaux:

  1. Il étudie l’efficacité des conditions-cadres juridiques dans l’interaction entre les deux systèmes de financement révisés et il observe si les directives applicables fournissent des lignes directrices suffisamment claires.
  2. Il analyse les facteurs qui influencent les services de santé et l’accompagnement après les soins transitoires. Il est également important de déterminer si et dans quelle mesure les deux systèmes de financement révisés influencent les décisions des prestataires et des assurés. À cet effet, des entretiens d’experts seront menés avec des groupes d’intérêts (professionnels de la santé, politicien(ne)s, représentants d’organisations de patients) sur la mise en œuvre des nouvelles conditions-cadres juridiques dans cinq cantons différents (ZH, GE, LU, BS, TI). Enfin, les patients seront aussi interrogés sur leurs expériences et leur satisfaction par rapport au processus de décision.
  3. Il faudra ainsi clarifier si des mesures législatives sont indiquées au regard du droit constitutionnel individuel à un traitement des maladies et aux soins qui y sont attachés. Existe-t-il un risque que le nouveau cadre juridique pousse les patients à prendre des décisions qui auraient pour conséquence une baisse de la prise en charge ou une discrimination des groupes particulièrement vulnérables?


L’équipe de recherche travaille avec des expertes et experts nationaux et internationaux issus de domaines tels que le droit des assurances sociales, la médecine, l’éthique médicale, l’économie de la santé et la sociologie. Les résultats de recherche seront publiés dans des revues spécialisées nationales et internationales et seront aussi inclus dans la thèse d'Yvonne Padrutt, Mlaw (encadrée par le Prof. Dr. iur. Thomas Gächter, université de Zurich).

Équipe du projet

Université de Zurich: Prof. Dr. iur. Thomas Gächter (Rechtswissenschaftliches Institut, Lehrstuhl für Staats-, Verwaltungs- und Sozialversicherungsrecht)
Université de Bâle: Prof. Dr. med. Bernice Elger (Institut für Bio- und Medizinethik IBMB)
Careum Recherche: Prof. FH Dr. iur. Agnes Leu

Fonds tiers

Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique (FNS), CR13I1_156274/1

Durée

octobre 2015–octobre 2018

Partenaires de terrain

Publications

Leu, A., Gaechter, T., & Elger, B. (2013). 365 Tage SwissDRG – Anreize, Instrumente, Wirkungen. hill Zeitschrift für Recht und Gesundheit, (95). Online verfügbar unter https://hill.swisslex.ch

Leu, A. (2015). Einfluss der SwissDRG auf die vulnerablen Patientengruppen in der Schweiz: Ethische Kriterien und rechtliches Korrelat. Berlin: De Gruyter. Verlag

Leu, A., Gächter, T., & Elger, B. S. (2015). Swiss DRG: Missbrauchsgefahr bei der Datenweitergabe an Krankenversicherer?: Erwartungen und Entwicklungen. Schweizerische Zeitschrift für Gesundheitsrecht RSDS/SZG, 83-96. Volltext

Leu, A., Gächter, T., & Elger, B. (2015). Führt SwissDRG zu einer Minderversorgung vulnerabler Patientengruppen? Pflegerecht, 4 (1), 9–14. PDF

Wild, V., Fourie, C., Frouzakis, R., Clarinval, C., Leu, A. et al. (2015). Assessing the impact of DRGs on patient care and professional practice in Switzerland (IDoC) – a potential model for monitoring and evaluating health care reform. Swiss Medical Weekly, 145, w14034. doi: 104414/smw.2015.14034