work & care in central Switzerland

How is “work & care” managed in day-to-day business? An investigation conducted in selected organisations in central Switzerland provides some answers.

Basis

Careum Research, together with the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts , sheds light on the “work & care” situation in selected organisations in central Switzerland. Associated with increasing life expectancy is the desire among Swiss people that they will be able to stay at home, in a familiar environment, for as long as possible, even when faced with health issues.

Research shows that a person's partner is often the principal carer. In just over a third of cases, sons or daughters assume this role. These people often find themselves in a situation where, as well as caring for their elderly family members, they also have to manage their own family and professional commitments: two-thirds of sons and daughters are in employment. This gives rise to conflicting challenges when it comes to reconciling work and care.

Project

The “work & care in the context of the ageing demographic in central Switzerland” project contributes to the discussion of the issue in central Switzerland and makes recommendations for organisations and employees. The study focuses on the three following questions, which are posed to gain insight into the perspectives of employees, Human Resource management and general management:

  • How great is the extent to which employees in the organisation provide care and support to relatives alongside their job?

  • To what extent is HR management aware of the issue or already actively working on it?

  • How is the issue dealt with from a management perspective?

The research team interviewed twelve HR managers and one manager from various sectors. The findings of the investigation show that all organisations questioned have experienced the issue of “work & care”. However, concern is usually rated as being low. Most organisations report that they are faced with individual cases, which can be resolved individually. The investigation also shows that there is generally little specific knowledge regarding the reconciliation of work with caring for relatives. However, the organisations questioned are open to the issue and, in principle, have a positive attitude towards it.

There are various conditions that would enable work and care for relatives to be reconciled. In general, the following criteria were specified: sufficiently flexible and transparent communication culture, contact person and information point, absence management, awareness of the issue by the workforce and managers at all levels in the hierarchy. The investigation also revealed that, whether consciously or subconsciously, a distinction is made regarding whether the person is caring for a younger, older or elderly person.

Project team

Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts: Prof. Christoph Buerkli, Prof. Yvonne Siegrist Mastai, Kathrin Jehle
Careum Research: Andrea Radvasky, Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger

Duration

December 2013–June 2015

Further information

Radvanszky, A. (2015). Umfrage zu «work & care». Themenapéro «Unternehmen Verantwortung». HSLU Soziale Arbeit, Luzern, 18.11.2015. PDF

work & care en Suisse centrale

Comment parvenir à un bon équilibre «work & care» dans le quotidien de l’entreprise? Une étude menée dans des entreprises sélectionnées de Suisse centrale apporte des éléments de réponse.

Situation de départ

Careum Recherche a examiné, en collaboration avec la Haute école de Lucerne, la situation «work & care» dans une sélection d’entreprises de Suisse centrale. La hausse de l’espérance de vie est étroitement liée au souhait de la population suisse de pouvoir rester aussi longtemps que possible à domicile, en dépit des problèmes de santé éventuels.

Les études ont montré que le ou la partenaire est le plus souvent la personne qui prodigue les soins. Dans un bon tiers des cas, ce sont les enfants qui assument ce rôle. Ces derniers se trouvent par ailleurs fréquemment dans une situation où, outre les soins aux proches, ils doivent remplir d’autres obligations familiales et professionnelles: deux tiers des enfants travaillent. Cela engendre des difficultés à concilier ces deux défis.

Projet

Le projet «work & care dans le contexte du vieillissement démographique en Suisse centrale» contribue à la discussion sur le sujet en Suisse centrale et donne des recommandations pour les entreprises et les collaborateurs. L’étude se concentre sur trois questions principales afin d’aborder la perspective des collaborateurs, de la gestion des ressources humaines et de la direction:

  • Quel est le volume de collaborateurs qui assument des tâches de soins et d’accompagnement pour leurs proches, parallèlement à leur travail dans l’entreprise?

  • Dans quelle mesure les responsables RH sont-ils sensibilisés à ce sujet ou sont-ils éventuellement déjà actifs en ce sens?

  • Comment le sujet est-il traité au niveau de la direction?

L’équipe de recherche a interviewé au total douze responsables RH et un directeur d’entreprise issus de différents secteurs d’activité. Les résultats de cette recherche montrent que toutes les entreprises interrogées avaient vécu des expériences relatives au «work & care», mais qu’elles estimaient généralement être peu concernées. La plupart des entreprises ont rapporté être confrontées à des cas isolés, qui pouvaient toutefois être réglés au niveau individuel. La recherche a en outre révélé que les connaissances concrètes sur le thème de la compatibilité entre profession et soins aux proches sont maigres. Les entreprises interrogées sont néanmoins ouvertes quand il s’agit d’aborder le sujet et adoptent une approche positive.

Les conditions qui doivent permettre de concilier vie professionnelle et soins aux proches sont diverses. Les critères suivants sont généralement donnés: une culture de la communication suffisamment flexible et transparente, un point d’accueil et d’information, une gestion des absences, la sensibilisation au sujet au sein du personnel et de la direction à tous les niveaux de la hiérarchie. L’étude dévoile enfin que la distinction est consciemment ou inconsciemment faite entre les jeunes, les adultes et les personnes âgées nécessitant des soins.

Équipe du projet

Haute école de Lucerne: Prof. Christoph Buerkli, Prof. Yvonne Siegrist Mastai, Kathrin Jehle
Careum Recherche: Andrea Radvasky, Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger

Durée

Décembre 2013–juin 2015

Plusieurs informations

Radvanszky, A. (2015). Umfrage zu «work & care». Themenapéro «Unternehmen Verantwortung». HSLU Soziale Arbeit, Luzern, 18.11.2015. PDF