Health issues in the healthcare profession

Healthcare professionals and care workers are exposed to high physical and mental workloads. A collaborative project is investigating the relationships between workload and health problems in the healthcare professions in Switzerland.


According to surveys from neighbouring countries, healthcare professionals and care workers are subject to particularly high levels of physical and mental stress. It is therefore not surprising that records show the rate of staff turnover and absence in the healthcare professions to be higher than the average. One example of this is documented in the 2004 German absence report, focusing on the subject of “Health management in hospitals and care institutions”. Other examples are provided by the Austrian health monitor, which has been conducted every year since 2009. Two key American health authorities, the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) and the Center for Disease Control (CDC), also find higher levels of substance abuse, suicide and various stress-related illnesses, such as depression, anxiety disorders, burnout or absence caused by illness.

They recommend various occupational and other measures to avoid the problem of higher levels of stress in healthcare professions. Professionals employed in healthcare are also involved more frequently than other professional groups in the care of their sick, disabled or elderly relatives. These are the findings of organisational surveys conducted by Careum Research and international research literature.


The organisational survey on working conditions and health problems aims to provide knowledge about the relationships between health problems and workload amongst healthcare professionals and care workers. The issue of reconciling the ability to work with caring for relatives (“work & care”) plays a particularly key role in this study.

The aim is to enable solution proposals to be developed for socio-political and (cross-)operational intervention and prevention measures. The project undertaken with the cooperation of the Institute for Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Prevention at the University of Zurich sheds light on and raises awareness of the issue of increased workloads and health problems in healthcare. It highlights the efforts of the Swiss National Accident Insurance Fund (Suva) to reduce or even avoid work-related health problems.

Aims of the survey:

  • Initial and extensive survey of working conditions, workload, health and health problems in care and healthcare professions.
  • Individual and professional group-specific needs of care workers and health professionals are established. How can particular working conditions and health be improved?
  • What insights can be gained for policy and organisations by a comparative analysis of workloads and associated health problems, aspirations for professional advancement, intentions to give notice and absences from work?


Project team

UZH, Institute for Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Prevention: PD Dr. Oliver Hämmig, MPH (Lead), Nadine Häusler MSc Public Health (Scientific Staff)
Careum Research: Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger (Programme Manager “work & care”), Anke Jähnke RN, M.A., MPH (Research Assistant)

Financial support

Les problèmes de santé dans les métiers

Le personnel médical et soignant est soumis à des charges de travail physiques et mentales considérables. Un projet de coopération analyse les relations entre la charge de travail et les problèmes de santé dans les métiers de la santé en Suisse.

Situation de départ

Les personnes actives qui travaillent dans le secteur de la santé ou des soins font face à des charges physiques et psychiques élevées, selon des enquêtes réalisées dans les pays voisins. Il n’est donc pas étonnant que les taux de rotation et d’absentéisme dans les métiers de la santé soient supérieurs à la moyenne. C’est ce que montre par exemple le rapport sur l’absentéisme allemand 2004 sur le thème de la gestion de la santé dans les hôpitaux et les établissements médico-sociaux, ou le Moniteur de la santé publié chaque année en Autriche depuis 2009. Deux autorités sanitaires américaines majeures, le National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) et le Center for Disease Control (CDC), ont constaté des taux plus élevés de consommation de drogues, de suicides et de diverses maladies liées au stress, ainsi que de dépressions, de troubles anxieux, de burn-out ou d’arrêts maladie dans les professions liées au secteur de la santé.

Elles recommandent de prendre différentes mesures, notamment dans les établissements, afin de prévenir le problème de surcharge dans ces professions. En outre, les professionnels de la santé actifs s’engagent aussi auprès de leurs proches malades, handicapés ou âgés dans le domaine privé, et ce, plus fréquemment que dans les autres groupes professionnels. C’est ce que révèlent les enquêtes menées auprès d’entreprises par Careum Recherche et les publications de recherche internationales.

Projet

L’enquête sur les conditions de travail et les problèmes de santé menée auprès d’établissement doit permettre de tirer des conclusions sur le rapport entre les problèmes médicaux et la charge de travail dans les métiers des soins et de la santé. La question de la compatibilité entre activité professionnelle et soins aux proches («work & care») joue ici un rôle particulier.

Cette approche devrait aboutir à des propositions de solutions qui se traduiront par des mesures d’intervention et de prévention au niveau de la politique sociale et des établissements, voire au niveau inter-établissements. Le projet de coopération avec l’institut d’épidémiologie, de biostatistique et de prévention de l’université de Zurich contribue à clarifier les surcharges de travail et les problèmes de santé dans le secteur de la santé, et à sensibiliser à la problématique. Il souligne les efforts de la Caisse nationale suisse d’assurance en cas d’accidents (Suva) pour réduire, voire éviter les problèmes de santé liés à la profession exercée.

Objectifs de l'enquête:

  • Réaliser un premier état des lieux complet des conditions de travail, de la charge de travail, de la santé et des problèmes de santé dans les métiers des soins et de la santé.
  • Déterminer les besoins individuels et spécifiques du groupe professionnel du personnel médical et soignant. Comment les conditions de travail et la santé peuvent-elles être améliorées?
  • Quelles conclusions importantes pour la politique et les établissements peut-on tirer d’une analyse comparative des charges de travail et des problèmes de santé qui y sont liés, des souhaits de reconversion, des intentions de démissionner et de l’absentéisme au travail?

 

Équipe du projet

UZH, Institut für Epidemiologie, Biostatistik und Prävention: PD Dr. Oliver Hämmig, MPH (Lead), Nadine Häusler MSc Public Health (collaboratice scientifique)
Careum Recherche: Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger (direction du programme «work & care»), Anke Jähnke RN, M.A., MPH (collaboratice scientifique)

Soutien financier

SUVA

Durée

2014–2016