Support for people caring for relatives

The federal government wants to better support people who look after and care for relatives. It has therefore developed an action plan for this purpose.

At a meeting held on 5 December 2014, as part of its “Health2020” health policy priorities, the Federal Council approved the “Report on supporting people looking after and caring for relatives”. The Federal Council makes it clear that the care and support of sick family members by relatives will become even more important in future, on account of demographic developments. In particular, this is because the Swiss healthcare system lacks the necessary personnel and money to be able to cover the increasing requirement with professional care.

The Federal Council has therefore initiated various measures to support relatives and to promote the reconciliation of caring for relatives with work. Implementation should be approached jointly with cantons, municipalities and private organisations. Central to the Federal Council's report is the action plan with the following four action areas:

  • Action area 1: Information and data
  • Action area 2: Respite services – quality and access
  • Action area 3: Reconciliation of work and looking after and caring for relatives
  • Action area 4: Care-related leave or alternative support option

The report entitled “Betreuungszulagen und Entlastungsangebote für betreuende und pflegende Angehörige” (Care allowances and respite services for people looking after and caring for relatives), compiled by Careum Research in association with BASS, the Swiss Office for Employment and Social Studies, forms a cornerstone of the action plan.

Find out more about Federal Council's report

Media response

The media has taken up the Federal Council's report with enthusiasm. The Swiss radio and television company SRF presented an item on it in its “10vor10” transmission. Karin van Holten, a research assistant at Careum Research, spoke about it in the programme. One of the subjects discussed was care-related leave for people caring for relatives, with which several countries, including Germany and Austria, are already familiar.

Fernsehen SRF1, 10vor10: Bund will unentgeltliche Pflege unterstützen, 05.12.2014

Blog post

Discussion in the Careum blog

Information platforms

Information platform with videos, advice and tips for organisations, authorities and people caring for relatives on the subject of reconciling work with caring for relatives
www.workandcare.ch

National platform with valuable information, tips and contact addresses on the subject of reconciling work with caring for relatives
www.info-workcare.ch

Publications

Jähnke, A., & Bischofberger, I. (2015). Entlastung von Angehörigen neu denken: Bundesrätlicher Aktionsplan zur Unterstützung für betreuende und pflegende Angehörige. Krankenpflege – Soins infirmiers, 108 (5), 19–21. PDF

Wenger, S. (2015). Die Angehörigen leisten unverzichtbaren Pflegedienst. Schweizer Gemeinde, (3), 26–29. PDF

Baumbusch, J., & Phinney, A. (2014). Invisible Hands: The Role of Highly Involved Families in Long-Term Residential Care. Journal of Family Nursing, 20 (1), 73-97. doi: 10.1177/1074840713507777

Burns, C.M., Abernethy, A.P. et al. (2014). Uncovering an invisible network of direct caregivers at the end of life: A population study. Palliative Medicine, 27 (7), 608-615. doi: 10.1177/0269216313483664

Soutien aux proches aidants

La Confédération souhaite apporter davantage de soutien aux proches aidants et soignants. Elle a donc élaboré un plan d’action.

Lors de sa séance du 5 décembre 2014, le Conseil fédéral a approuvé le «Rapport sur le soutien aux proches aidants» dans le cadre de ses priorités en matière de politique de la santé «Santé2020». Le Conseil fédéral indique clairement que le soin et l’encadrement des proches malades par les membres de la famille gagneront encore en importance en raison de l’évolution démographique. Cela est d’autant plus vrai que le système de santé suisse manque de personnel et de fonds pour pouvoir couvrir la hausse des besoins par des soins professionnels.

Le Conseil fédéral a donc lancé plusieurs mesures visant à soutenir les proches aidants et à améliorer la compatibilité des soins aux proches avec l’activité professionnelle. La mise en œuvre doit faire l’objet d’un travail commun entre les cantons, les communes et les organisations privées. Le cœur du rapport du Conseil fédéral est le plan d’action, élaboré autour de quatre champs d’action:

  • Domaine d’action 1: Information et données
  • Domaine d’action 2: Qualité des offres de décharge et accès aux prestations
  • Domaine d’action 3: Compatibilité entre activité professionnelle et activité de proche aidant
  • Domaine d’action 4: Congé pour tâches d’assistance ou autres formes de soutien

Le rapport «Betreuungszulagen und Entlastungsangebote für betreuende und pflegende Angehörige» (résumé en français) élaboré par Careum Recherche en collaboration avec le bureau BASS constitue une base importante pour le plan d’action.

En savoir plus sur le plan d'action du Conseil fédéral

Écho dans les médias

Les médias ont largement relayé le rapport du Conseil fédéral. La Schweizer Fernsehen (SRF) lui a même consacré un segment dans l’émission «10vor10». Karin van Holten, collaboratrice scientifique de Careum Recherche, a notamment été interviewée dans cette émission. Les thèmes abordés étaient entre autres celui des congés spéciaux pour la prise en charge des proches, qui existent déjà dans plusieurs pays comme l’Allemagne et l’Autriche.

Fernsehen SRF1, 10vor10: Bund will unentgeltliche Pflege unterstützen, 05.12.2014

Article de blog

Discussion sur le blog Careum

Plateformes d'information

Plateforme d’information contenant des contributions vidéo, des conseils et des outils pour les entreprises, les services publics et les proches soignants sur le thème de la compatibilité entre travail et prise en charge des proches:
www.workandcare.ch

Plateforme nationale proposant de précieuses informations, des conseils et des coordonnées utiles sur le thème de la compatibilité entre vie professionnelle et accompagnement des proches:
www.info-workcare.ch

Publications

Jähnke, A., & Bischofberger, I. (2015). Entlastung von Angehörigen neu denken: Bundesrätlicher Aktionsplan zur Unterstützung für betreuende und pflegende Angehörige. Krankenpflege – Soins infirmiers, 108 (5), 19–21. PDF

Wenger, S. (2015). Die Angehörigen leisten unverzichtbaren Pflegedienst. Schweizer Gemeinde, (3), 26–29. PDF

Baumbusch, J., & Phinney, A. (2014). Invisible Hands: The Role of Highly Involved Families in Long-Term Residential Care. Journal of Family Nursing, 20 (1), 73-97. doi: 10.1177/1074840713507777

Burns, C.M., Abernethy, A.P. et al. (2014). Uncovering an invisible network of direct caregivers at the end of life: A population study. Palliative Medicine, 27 (7), 608-615. doi: 10.1177/0269216313483664