work & care connect

Temporary care places for relatives needing care: Careum Research examines an alliance between care centres and organisations.

Basis

The “work & care connect” project is based on findings from the “work & care” research and development programme. In the large organisations in which Careum Research conducted representative surveys, the proportion of employees with relatives needing care was at least 12 % in each case. The figures show that when it comes to willingness to care for relatives, there is barely any difference between the sexes. However, there appears to be a significant difference when it comes to workload. Whilst men largely organise care and support work around a full-time job, women leave scope for working part-time. For this reason, when it comes to reconciling work with caring for relatives, a variety of needs-orientated services are essential for people to cope with their various professional and personal lives. Gender-stereotyped imputations of care and support work should thus be avoided and sociocultural inequalities should be reduced.

Project

The “work & care connect” pilot project has developed an innovative approach for a reconciliation arrangement that links the world of work with healthcare. It came up with the idea of an alliance between organisations and care centres, to enable care places to be offered to relatives needing care. In other words, employees would be able to use day and night services in care centres for their relatives needing care, whilst they are at work – similar to how nurseries operate. Experts were interviewed on this subject. Overall, these interviews showed that the idea of the alliance was considered to be interesting, appealing and innovative. However, awareness was lacking on how employers could get involved in the area of reconciling work and care for relatives, in order to support employees. A follow-up project is planned, which will conduct an in-depth investigation of the operational details of specific services with partners.

When it comes to reconciling professional and private life, the alliance between organisations and care centres should thus result in employees with relatives needing care being able to rely on the same support as employees with small, healthy children. In this context, the findings of the “work & care connect” project contribute towards promoting equal opportunities as part of reconciliation.

Project team

Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger, Karin van Holten

Duration of pilot project

1 November 2014–20 May 2015

External funding

Swiss Federal Office for Gender Equality (FOGE) as part of the financial support in accordance with the Equality Act

Publications

Jähnke, A., & Scherrer, A. (2015). Flexible Tages- und Nachtstätten in Pflegezentren. Clinicum, 12 (4), 57–58. PDF

van Holten, K. (2013). Angehörigenpflege: Männer helfen kräftig mit. Männerzeitung, (4), 36–37. PDF

van Holten, K., Sax, A., & Bischofberger, I. (2014). Vereinbarkeit von Erwerbstätigkeit und Angehörigenpflege als Erfolgsfaktor für die Wirtschaft? Die Volkswirtschaft, (3), 43–45. PDF

work & care connect

Des places d’accueil temporaire pour les proches ayant besoin de soins: Careum Recherche teste une alliance entre les centres de soins et les entreprises.

Situation de départ

Le projet «work & care connect» repose sur les conclusions du programme de recherche et de développement «work & care». Dans toutes les grandes entreprises où Careum Recherche a mené des enquêtes représentatives, la part de collaborateurs s’occupant de leurs proches atteignait au moins de 12 %. Les chiffres montrent que le sexe des personnes concernées a peu d’influence sur la disposition à assumer les soins des proches. Une différence notable apparaît toutefois au niveau du taux d’activité. Tandis que les hommes organisent majoritairement les tâches de soins et de suivi autour de leur travail à temps plein, les femmes, elles, gardent plus de flexibilité en travaillant à temps partiel. Il est par conséquent essentiel de proposer des offres diversifiées et orientées sur les besoins pour permettre de concilier profession et soins aux proches quels que soient les profils professionnels et privés. Cela permettrait à la fois d’éviter les stéréotypes sur la répartition des rôles entre les sexes en matière de soins et d’accompagnement et de réduire les inégalités socio-culturelles.

Projet

L’avant-projet «work & care connect» a élaboré une approche innovante pour permettre de concilier le monde du travail et le secteur de la santé. Il est parti de l’idée d’une alliance entre les entreprises et les centres de soins qui permettrait d’offrir des places d’accueil aux proches ayant besoin de soins. Ainsi, les collaborateurs pouvaient bénéficier d’offres de jour et de nuit dans les centres de soins pour leurs proches dépendants – selon un principe similaire à celui des crèches – pendant qu’ils allaient travailler. Parallèlement, des entretiens ont été menés avec des experts. Ils ont dans l’ensemble montré que l’idée d’une alliance était perçue comme intéressante, attrayante et novatrice. Une prise de conscience reste toutefois nécessaire quant à la possibilité pour les employeurs de s’engager dans le domaine de l’adéquation entre profession et soins aux proches afin de soutenir les collaborateurs. Il est prévu, dans un projet ultérieur, d’examiner plus en profondeur les détails opérationnels des offres concrètes avec les partenaires.

L’alliance entre les entreprises et les centres de soins devrait permettre aux collaborateurs ayant des proches dépendants de bénéficier du même soutien que ceux ayant des enfants en bas âge (en bonne santé), facilitant ainsi la compatibilité entre travail et vie privée. En ce sens, les conclusions du projet «work & care connect» contribuent à la promotion de l’égalité des chances.

Équipe du projet

Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger, Karin van Holten

Durére de l'avant-projet

1er novembre 2014–20 mai 2015

Fonds tiers

Bureau fédéral de l'égalité entre femmes et hommes (BFEG) dans le cadre des aides financières prévues par la loi sur l’égalité

Publications

Jähnke, A., & Scherrer, A. (2015). Flexible Tages- und Nachtstätten in Pflegezentren. Clinicum, 12 (4), 57–58. PDF

van Holten, K. (2013). Angehörigenpflege: Männer helfen kräftig mit. Männerzeitung, (4), 36–37. PDF

van Holten, K., Sax, A., & Bischofberger, I. (2014). Vereinbarkeit von Erwerbstätigkeit und Angehörigenpflege als Erfolgsfaktor für die Wirtschaft? Die Volkswirtschaft, (3), 43–45. PDF