Distance Caregiving

Remote care and support: challenges and opportunities when people in need of care live far away from their relatives on whom they rely for support.

Basis

Relatives play a key role in domestic and in-patient healthcare. Having said this, relatives living locally who are able to take on primary care and support are becoming an increasingly scarce resource. Reasons for this include demographics, changing values and changing family structures. New forms are thus required, where people are prepared to make private and largely unpaid informal contributions to support and care work. This should also go beyond the previously predominant routine which saw the main carer being highly involved on-site.

Project

Although the social relevance of remote care and support is increasing, the subject has barely been discussed from a scientific, sociopolitical and operational perspective. This is where the binational, interdisciplinary research and development project “Distance Caregiving” begins, investigating the potential for care and support across national distances and international borders. The project is being run jointly by the Ludwigsburg Protestant University of Applied Science (Germany) and Careum Research. It aims to focus on relatives in society, at work and in healthcare and social services.

Overall, “Distance Caregiving” is an eye-opening project. In addition to the conventional assistance associated with “care”, “Distance Caregiving” also considers a number of other support services. These include the following:

  • Emotional support
  • Finding decision-making routes
  • Motivation
  • Coordination/administration/organisation
  • Information
  • Control and security
     

Research design
A multi-methodological concept focusing on participation, transferability and sustainability; quantitative secondary analyses, interviews with experts, problem-focused individual interviews; close interrelation with research and development, as well as transfer.

Project team

Careum Research: Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger, Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Karin van Holten
Ludwigsburg Protestant University of Applied Science: Prof. Dr. Annette Franke, Dr. Birgit Kramer, Helena Kunz, Marketa Kindl

Partners

  • Daimler AG
  • Wüstenrot & Württembergische AG
  • Statistisches Landesamt Baden-Württemberg
  • Evangelische Diakonissenanstalt Stuttgart
  • BruderhausDiakonie, Reutlingen
     

Duration

2016–2019

External funding

German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, SILQUA programme

Publications

Bischofberger, I., Franke, A., Otto, U., & Schnepp, W. (2017). Pflegebedürftige Angehörige aus Distanz unterstützen: Zwei Fallstudien. Pflege & Gesellschaft, 22(1), 84-93.

Bischofberger, I., Otto, U., & Franke, A. (2015). Distance Caregiving: Wie Angehörige ihre pflegebedürftigen Nächsten unterstützen können. Competence, 79 (3), 28–29. PDF

Otto, U., Bischofberger, I., Hegedüs, A., Kramer, B., van Holten, K., & Franke, A. (2017). Wenn pflegende Angehörige weiter entfernt leben – Technik eröffnet Chancen für Distance Caregiving, ist aber nicht schon die Lösung. In I. Hämmerle & G. Kempter (Hrsg.), Umgebungsunterstütztes Leben. Beiträge zum Usability Day XV (S. 140–148). Lengerich, Westfalen: Pabst Science Publishers. PDF

Otto, U., Tarnutzer, S., & Brettenhofer, M. (2015). Telemedizin für Ältere – Chancen mehren, kritische Punkte angehen! Therapeutische Umschau,72 (9), 577–579. doi:10.1024/0040-5930/a000721

Further information

Distance Caregiving

L’aide et les soins à distance: défis et possibilités lorsque les personnes ayant besoin de soins vivent loin des proches susceptibles de les aider.

Situation de départ

Les proches jouent un rôle majeur dans la prise en charge à domicile et dans les établissements. Toutefois, les proches qui pourraient majoritairement assumer le soin et l’assistance deviennent une ressource toujours plus rare sur place. Cela s’explique par la situation démographique, les changements de valeurs et les nouvelles structures familiales. De nouvelles formes sont donc nécessaires, dans lesquelles des personnes sont disposées à contribuer de manière privée et souvent non rémunérée au travail d’accompagnement et de soin. Loin de se limiter au seul soignant principal, fortement impliqué par nature, ces prestations devraient avoir lieu sur place.

Projet

Bien que la pertinence sociale des soins et de l’assistance à distance augmente, le sujet n’est traité que marginalement au niveau scientifique, politique et entrepreneurial. C’est ici qu’intervient le projet de recherche et de développement binational et interdisciplinaire «Distance Caregiving», », qui examine les potentiels de soins et d’assistance au-delà des distances nationales et des frontières internationales. Le projet est mené conjointement par l'Evangelische Hochschule Ludwigsburg (D) et Careum Recherche. Il se concentre sur les proches dans la société, au travail, ainsi que dans les domaines du social et de la santé.

Dans son ensemble, «Distance Caregiving» ouvre des perspectives. Outre l’assistance traditionnellement associée aux soins, le «Distance Caregiving» tient aussi compte d’innombrables prestations de soutien alternatives, notamment les aides suivantes:

  • Soutien émotionnel
  • Aide à la prise de décision
  • Motivation
  • Coordination/administration/organisation
  • Information
  • Contrôle et sécurité
     

Plan de recherche
Le concept basé sur plusieurs méthodes se concentre sur la participation, la transmissibilité et la durabilité. Il fait appel à des analyses secondaires quantitatives, des entretiens avec des experts, des interviews individuelles axées sur les problèmes, des interactions étroites entre la recherche et le développement, ainsi que le transfert.

Équipe du projet

Careum Recherche: Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger, Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Karin van Holten
Evangelische Hochschule Ludwigsburg: Prof. Dr. Annette Franke, Dr. Birgit Kramer, Helena Kunz, Marketa Kindl

Partenaires de terrain

  • Daimler AG
  • Wüstenrot & Württembergische AG
  • Statistisches Landesamt Baden-Württemberg
  • Evangelische Diakonissenanstalt Stuttgart
  • BruderhausDiakonie, Reutlingen
     

Durée

2016–2019

Fonds Tiers

Ministère fédéral allemand de l'éducation et de la recherche, programme prioritaire SILQUA

Publications

Bischofberger, I., Franke, A., Otto, U., & Schnepp, W. (2017). Pflegebedürftige Angehörige aus Distanz unterstützen: Zwei Fallstudien. Pflege & Gesellschaft, 22(1), 84-93.

Bischofberger, I., Otto, U., & Franke, A. (2015). Distance Caregiving: Wie Angehörige ihre pflegebedürftigen Nächsten unterstützen können. Competence, 79 (3), 28–29. PDF

Otto, U., Bischofberger, I., Hegedüs, A., Kramer, B., van Holten, K., & Franke, A. (2017). Wenn pflegende Angehörige weiter entfernt leben – Technik eröffnet Chancen für Distance Caregiving, ist aber nicht schon die Lösung. In I. Hämmerle & G. Kempter (Hrsg.), Umgebungsunterstütztes Leben. Beiträge zum Usability Day XV (S. 140–148). Lengerich, Westfalen: Pabst Science Publishers. PDF

Otto, U., Tarnutzer, S., & Brettenhofer, M. (2015). Telemedizin für Ältere – Chancen mehren, kritische Punkte angehen! Therapeutische Umschau, 72 (9), 577–579. doi:10.1024/0040-5930/a000721

Plusieurs informations