work & care

Reconciling work and family care is a major social and economic challenge.

According to a study conducted in 2014 by the Swiss Federal Office of Public Health (BAG bulletin 36/2014), caring for relatives provides work valued at more than CHF 9.5 billion. Given that 80 % of people in need of care are looked after by relatives, the reconciliation of paid work and family care, also known as “work & care”, is no fringe phenomenon.

Careum Research has been involved in “work & care” since 2007. Previous findings from company surveys send out a clear message: more than a quarter of the employees surveyed have experience of caring for relatives. Other research findings clearly show that there is a need for action in the area of “work & care”, as the number of people requiring care continues to increase.

Reasons for this include demographic changes and the increase in chronic illnesses. However, social changes are also of increasing significance for “work & care”: more single-person households, increasing divorce rates, relatives living far away from each other, more women at work and an increasing retirement age.

Federal Council action plan

The federal government recognises the social and economic significance of “work & care”. At the end of 2014, as part of its “Health2020” agenda, the Federal Council presented an action plan to better support people looking after and caring for relatives.

The framework conditions

Media


Radio SRF1, Forum: Beruf und Betreuung vereinbaren - was Betriebe dafür tun, 01.05.2017


Radio SRF1, Forum: Angehörigenpflege – der Spagat zwischen Verantwortung und Beruf, 27.10.2016


Fernsehen SRF1, 10vor10: Online-Hilfe für Privatpflegende, 24.10.2016

Fernsehen SRF 1, Club: Pflegen bis zur Erschöpfung, 09.09.2014


Radio SRF 1, Treffpunkt: Angehörigenpflege und Berufstätigkeit, 02.09.2014


Download Download

work & care

La nécessité de concilier vie professionnelle et prise en charge de proches pose un important défi socio-économique.

Les proches aidants fournissent un travail d’une valeur de plus de 9,5 milliards de francs, selon une étude de l’Office fédéral de la santé publique réalisée en 2014 (Bulletin OFSP 36/2014). Au total, 80% des personnes nécessitant des soins sont prises en charge par leurs proches. La nécessité de concilier exercice professionnel et prise en charge de proches – aussi désignée sous le terme «work & care» – est donc loin d’être un phénomène marginal.

Careum Recherche travaille sur la thématique du «work & care» depuis 2007. Les résultats obtenus grâce à des enquêtes dans les entreprises sont sans équivoque: plus d’un quart des collaborateurs interrogés ont déjà soigné des proches. Face au nombre toujours croissant de personnes ayant besoin de soins, les résultats d’autres recherches mettent en évidence une grande nécessité d’agir dans le domaine «work & care».

Le tournant démographique et la hausse des maladies chroniques expliquent notamment cette évolution. Néanmoins, les changements sociétaux participent aussi à l’importance croissante du «work & care»: accroissement du nombre des ménages d’une seule personne et du nombre de divorces, éloignement géographique des membres de familles, nombre croissant de femmes exerçant une activité professionnelle et élévation de l’âge de la retraite.

Plan d'action du Conseil fédéral

La Confédération a reconnu l’importance sociale et économique du «work & care». Fin 2014, elle a élaboré un plan d’action dans le cadre de sa stratégie «Santé2020», afin de mieux soutenir les proches aidants et soignants.

Les conditions-cadres

 

Médias

Fernsehen SRF 1, Iren Bischofberger in der Sendung «Puls», 27.11.2017

 

Radio SRF1, Forum: Beruf und Betreuung vereinbaren – was Betriebe dafür tun, 01.05.2017

Radio SRF1, Forum: Angehörigenpflege – der Spagat zwischen Verantwortung und Beruf, 27.10.2016

Fernsehen SRF1, 10vor10: Online-Hilfe für Privatpflegende, 24.10.2016

Fernsehen SRF1, Club: Pflegen bis zur Erschöpfung, 9. September 2014


Télécharger Télécharger