work & care Swiss Cancer League

Careum Research has investigated the issue of reconciling work and care as it relates to people with cancer and their relatives.

Basis

In their work, the cantonal cancer leagues encounter much more than just questions about cancer as a disease. There are also more and more relatives caring for people with cancer, who are seeking support for reconciling work and care.

Project

The project's objectives arose from the fact that, as an association, the Cancer League was increasingly preoccupied with the subject of “work & care”. It took the opportunity of raising the awareness of institutions and their members about this issue. The remit also included an online survey for all the institutions' employees regarding their own “work & care” situation. The tool for the occupational online survey was thus initially tested in a non-profit organisation. Since then, it has already been used in companies and by public-sector employers.

On completion of the project, a guide was published in German and French, at the end of 2013, entitled “Zwischen Arbeitsplatz und Pflegeaufgabe” (Between work and caregiving), discussing the reconciliation of work and caring for relatives.

Guide (german)
 
Guide (french)

 

“Relatives are the most important caregivers for people with cancer. A particular challenge for them is to reconcile the provision of support and care for the people concerned with work. The Cancer League wants to raise awareness of this particularly challenging situation facing relatives providing care, improve support opportunities and stand up for their concerns.”

Eliane Boss, Expert in Social Security and Healthcare
Brigitte Baschung, Deputy General Manager

www.krebsliga.ch

work & care à la Ligue contre le cancer

Careum Recherche a examiné la compatibilité entre vie professionnelle et soins dans le cas de malades du cancer et de leurs proches.

Situation de départ

Les Ligues cantonales contre le cancer ne reçoivent pas seulement des questions sur le cancer, elles rencontrent aussi un nombre croissant de proches soignants qui cherchent de l’aide pour concilier leur vie professionnelle et la prise en charge de leurs proches malades.

Projet

L’objectif du projet était que la Ligue contre le cancer, en tant qu’association, se penche davantage sur la question du «work & care». L’occasion fut donc saisie pour sensibiliser les organes et les membres de l’association à cet aspect. Le mandat comprenait aussi une enquête en ligne auprès de tous les collaborateurs de l’association pour connaître leur propre situation «work & care». Ainsi, l’outil pour l'enquête en ligne auprès des entreprises a été testé pour la première fois dans une organisation non gouvernementale, après avoir été utilisé auprès d’entreprises et d’employeurs du secteur public.

En clôture du projet, la brochure «Soigner un proche et travailler: une mission possible» sur le thème de la compatibilité entre activité professionnelle et accompagnement des proches a été publié fin 2013 en français et en allemand.

Ratgeber (allemand)
 
Brochure (français)

 

«Les proches sont les personnes de référence les plus importantes pour les malades du cancer. Leur défi principal consiste alors à concilier l’accompagnement et le soin aux proches avec leur travail. La Ligue contre le cancer souhaite sensibiliser le public à cette situation particulièrement délicate pour les proches soignants, mais aussi améliorer les possibilités de soutien et défendre leurs intérêts.»

Eliane Boss, experte des assurances sociales et de la politique de santé
Brigitte Baschung, directrice adj.

www.liguecancer.ch