Day-to-day life between work and care

Men and women in employment who care for dependent relatives talk about day-to-day life. A brochure contains 15 profiles spanning generations and illnesses.

Reconciling employment and family care is becoming increasingly relevant: frailty increases in rate and intensity in old age and medical progress is enabling people to live longer, even when their health is compromised. The result of this is that the need to reconcile work and care is extending over longer periods of time. This is why tried and tested solutions for employers and employees are needed to enable stable and continued employment. Healthcare professionals are also in demand. This is because service coordination and the use of new forms of communication are key, so that relatives can continue to work happily and efficiently.

The profile brochure provides specific examples of working men and women who have relatives from all generations who need care or who have various health problems. It also presents the perspective of the partner in practice: what can employers do to support employees who are caring for family members? The attractive brochure with large-format photographs is available to order from the Careum Publishing online shop.

Extracts:
 

“Our life is like a small business”
Beatrice Gerber (55) is a consultant for a specialist retailer of power tools. Her husband has been almost completely paralysed for the last eight years. Thanks to her 70 % workload and a few creative solutions, she and her family are managing everyday life at home.

...Read more (in german)

“There's no such thing as a holiday”
14-year-old Sina Fischer was left severely disabled following a complication at birth. Her parents talk about everyday life, which they manage, thanks to a smart balance of work, care, organisation and family life.

...Read more (in german)


Contact

Careum Publishing

Moussonstrasse 4
CH-8044 Zurich

T +41 43 222 51 50
F +41 43 222 51 55

verlag@careum.ch

Le quotidien entre travail et soins

Les femmes et les hommes actifs dont des proches nécessitent des soins racontent leur quotidien. Une brochure présente 15 portraits couvrant toutes les générations et les maladies.

La nécessité de concilier l’exercice d’une activité professionnelle et les soins aux proches devient toujours plus pressante. Le nombre et l’intensité des fragilités augmentent avec le grand âge. Les progrès médicaux permettent de vivre plus longtemps, y compris avec des problèmes de santé. Cela implique de devoir concilier activité professionnelle et soins sur de plus longues périodes. Il est donc essentiel de disposer de solutions pratiques éprouvées pour les travailleurs et les employeurs, afin de garantir une vie active stable et continue. Des professionnels de la santé sont également nécessaires. La coordination des prestations et de l’utilisation de nouvelles formes de technologies est primordiale, afin que les proches soignants puissent exercer leur métier de manière efficace et satisfaisante.

La galerie de portraits présente des exemples concrets de personnes actives dont des proches nécessitent des soins. Toutes les générations et différents problèmes de santé sont représentés. Elle présente aussi le point de vue des partenaires de terrain: que peuvent faire les employeurs pour permettre à leurs collaborateurs de soutenir les proches ayant besoin de soins?

La brochure est actuellement épuisée. Mais les éditions Careum font une réimpression pour des commandes groupées. Renseignez-vous sur les conditions par e-mail.


Extrait:
 

«Notre vie est semblable à celle d'une petite entreprise»
Beatrice Gerber (55 ans) est conseillère dans un magasin spécialisé en outils électriques. Son mari est presque entièrement paralysé depuis huit ans. Grâce à son taux d’occupation à 70% et à quelques solutions créatives, elle parvient à surmonter le quotidien chez elle avec sa famille.

Poursuivre la lecture... (en allemand)

«La journée de travail n’est jamais terminée»
Sina Fischer, âgée de 14 ans, est fortement handicapée suite à des complications résultant de la grossesse. Ses parents racontent leur quotidien, qu’ils parviennent à maîtriser grâce à un équilibre judicieux entre activité professionnelle, soins, organisation et vie de famille.

Poursuivre la lecture... (en allemand)


Contact

Éditions Careum

Moussonstrasse 4
CH-8044 Zurich

T +41 43 222 51 50
F +41 43 222 51 55

verlag@careum.ch