work & care 2

Reconciling work and care: the reciprocal demands and expectations of relatives providing care and health professionals.

Basis

In cases of chronic disease progression, family members providing care are often in contact with professionals providing care to their relatives as an inpatient, outpatient or at home. There is considerable need for cooperation and coordination for relatives providing care, particularly when they are working. The research project “work & care 2” investigated the interfaces between the professional and family care system.

Project

CCareum Research conducted an in-depth study, entitled “Reconciling work and care in the context of institutional care” with three partners in the Aarau area. The Barmelweid Clinic, the Lindenfeld Geriatric Centre and the Aargau Cancer League provided the opportunity to investigate the situation of working people who were caring for relatives in the context of the progression of various diseases. These organisations also provided an insight into interactions between health professionals and relatives providing care in three different care settings. All three organisations were interested in the research data and the further development of a relative-friendly organisation.

The findings of the subsequent study enabled services for working relatives and for the care institutions involved to be improved or redeveloped. These services can also be used by the practice partner organisations. On the subject of “work & care”, presentations were given and discussions were held on family and healthcare policy, which increased awareness of the issue. In the volume entitled “Who Cares? Pflege und Solidarität in der alternden Gesellschaft” (Who Cares? Care and solidarity in the ageing society), published by the Swiss Red Cross, there was an article in spring 2013, entitled “Berufstätigkeit und Angehörigenpflege vereinbaren” (Reconciling work with caring for relatives), which brings together and provides an overall presentation of findings.

Duration

May 2010–February 2013

Drittmittel

Swiss National Science Foundation SNSF/DORE

Praxispartner

“Our patients' relatives are important for us in both treatment and care. We can also see even greater potential for improvement, which we want to address by cooperating with the research project. We are happy to support the research team and provide the empirical site for its research.”

Hillevi Zimmerli, Care Service, Manuela Genner, Care Managerin, www.barmelweid.ch

“We are committed to this project because we believe it is important to better understand the difficulties affecting relatives, so that we can provide them with more specific support. We also consider it is very important for the employer to provide the employees concerned at Lindenfeld with the necessary support in these situations. We hope to be able to develop greater mutual understanding.”

Thomas Holliger, Director, Sven Egger, Training and Professional Development, Deputy Care Service, www.lindenfeld.ch

“People with cancer are often looked after by their relatives, who are pushed to their limits in the face of this burden. The Aargau Cancer League is pleased to be working on developing approaches to better reconcile work with providing care to family members, not least because the people concerned, their relatives, employers and society as a whole stand to benefit.”

Christine Honegger, Manager, Jeanette Schmid, Social Counselling, www.krebsliga-aargau.ch

Publications

Bischofberger, I., Radvanszky, A., van Holten, K., & Jähnke, A. (2013). Berufstätigkeit und Angehörigenpflege vereinbaren. In Schweizerisches Rotes Kreuz (Hrsg.), Who Cares? Pflege und Solidarität in der alternden Gesellschaft (S. 162–184). Zürich: Seismo.

Bischofberger, I. (2012). Erwerbstätige pflegende Angehörige - drei zentrale Handlungsfelder. Soziale Sicherheit CHSS, (1), 6-8. PDF

Bischofberger, I. (2012). work & care: Die Unternehmen sind gefordert. Care Management, 5 (4), 23-25. PDF

Bischofberger, I., Jähnke, A., & Radvanszky, A. (2012). Neue Herausforderung: berufstätig sein und Angehörige pflegen: Double Duty Caregiving. Competence, 76 (10), 28-29. PDF

work & care 2

Concilier travail et soins: les exigences et attentes réciproques des proches soignants et des spécialistes de la santé.

Situation de départ

Les proches soignants sont souvent en contact avec les fournisseurs de prestations – résidentielles, ambulatoires et à domicile – au cours de l’évolution d’une maladie chronique. Lorsqu’ils sont actifs en particulier, les proches soignants ont fortement besoin de coopération et de coordination. Le projet de recherche «work & care 2» a examiné les interfaces entre les systèmes de santé professionnel et familial.

Projet

Careum Recherche a réalisé l’étude d’approfondissement «Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Pflege im institutionellen Versorgungskontext» (Concilier travail et soins dans le contexte de la prise en charge institutionnelle) avec trois partenaires de terrain dans la région d’Aarau. La clinique Barmelweid, le centre de gériatrie Lindenfeld et la Ligue contre le cancer Aargau ont donné la possibilité d’étudier la situation des proches soignants actifs dans le contexte de différents types d’évolution de maladies. Ces établissements ont en outre fourni un aperçu des interactions entre le personnel soignant et les proches, dans trois contextes de prise en charge différents. Les trois partenaires étaient intéressés à la fois par les données de recherche et par le développement ultérieur d’un établissement adapté à la situation des proches.

DLes résultats de l’étude d’approfondissement ont permis d’améliorer ou d’élaborer des offres pour les proches actifs et pour les institutions de prise en charge impliquées. Ces offres peuvent également être utilisées par les entreprises partenaires de terrain. Des présentations et des groupes de discussion sur le thème «work & care» ont été organisés sur le thème de la politique de la famille et de la santé, et ont permis d’accroître la sensibilisation à ce sujet. L’ouvrage collectif «Who Cares? Pflege und Solidarität in der alternden Gesellschaft» (Who Cares? Soins et solidarité dans la société vieillissante), publié par la Croix-Rouge suisse en avril 2013, contenait l’article «Berufstätigkeit und Angehörigenpflege vereinbaren» (Concilier l’activité professionnelle et la prise en charge de proches), qui présente les conclusions résumées et complètes de l’étude.

Durée

Mai 2010–février 2013

Fonds tiers

Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique (FNS)/DORE

Partenaires de terrain

«Les proches de nos patientes et patients jouent pour nous un rôle important dans les soins et le traitement. Nous percevons encore un potentiel d’amélioration, que nous souhaitons exploiter en collaborant au projet de recherche. C’est donc avec plaisir que nous soutenons l’équipe de recherche et que nous mettons à disposition notre champ de recherche pratique.»

Hillevi Zimmerli, prestations de soins, Manuela Genner, responsable des soins, www.barmelweid.ch

«Nous nous engageons dans ce projet, car nous tenons à mieux connaître les difficultés des proches concernés, afin de pouvoir nous soutenir mutuellement de manière plus ciblée. Nous estimons aussi qu’il est important, dans de telles situations, que les collaborateurs de Lindenfeld bénéficient du soutien nécessaire de la part de leur employeur. Nous espérons ainsi pouvoir développer une plus grande compréhension réciproque.»

Thomas Holliger, directeur, Sven Egger, formation initiale et continue, adj. prestations de soins, www.lindenfeld.ch

«Les malades du cancer sont généralement pris en charge par leurs proches, qui frôlent souvent leurs limites en termes de charge de travail. La Ligue contre le cancer Aargau collabore donc volontiers au développement d’approches permettant de mieux concilier la vie professionnelle et les soins aux proches. Cela profitera en effet aux personnes malades, aux proches, aux employeurs et à la société dans son ensemble.»

Christine Honegger, directrice, Jeanette Schmid, consultation sociale, www.krebsliga-aargau.ch

Publications

Bischofberger, I., Radvanszky, A., van Holten, K., & Jähnke, A. (2013). Berufstätigkeit und Angehörigenpflege vereinbaren. In Schweizerisches Rotes Kreuz (Hrsg.), Who Cares? Pflege und Solidarität in der alternden Gesellschaft (S. 162–184). Zürich: Seismo.

Bischofberger, I. (2012). Erwerbstätige pflegende Angehörige - drei zentrale Handlungsfelder. Soziale Sicherheit CHSS, (1), 6-8. PDF

Bischofberger, I. (2012). work & care: Die Unternehmen sind gefordert. Care Management, 5 (4), 23-25. PDF

Bischofberger, I., Jähnke, A., & Radvanszky, A. (2012). Neue Herausforderung: berufstätig sein und Angehörige pflegen: Double Duty Caregiving. Competence, 76 (10), 28-29. PDF