Where do the best come from?

Global competition in education. Who trains the competent healthcare professionals of the future?

Certain demands are being made of healthcare personnel across the world. New forms of learning have established themselves that place less emphasis on knowledge and more on problem-solving skills and interprofessional teamwork. Problem-based learning (PBL) has now emerged, in its many versions, as the standard approach to training within the health professions.

Expenditure on the training of health professionals is high. Switzerland invests around a billion francs a year in training – three-quarters of which goes on training doctors.

The challenges in terms of health policy and the possible solutions are becoming increasingly similar across the industrialised countries. This in turn should see the development of international competition, in terms of training, and a certain amount of cross-border exchange. Currently, however, the only competition is for workers. And since healthcare systems are confined within national borders, each country tends to reinvent its own training courses, as health professionals are mainly trained to practise their profession within the domestic market. The potential and opportunities for cross-border cooperation remain largely unexploited.

The Careum Working Paper 2 derives skills profiles for training health professionals fit for the future. Careum is also developing four theories regarding training for healthcare up to 2032. The theories call for borders to be set aside: health professionals fit for the future will only be produced if the training and healthcare system stops treating medicine as a “special case” and training institutions set themselves up as competence centres in a system based on division of labour.

Tomorrow's training institutions should only develop part of any standardised content themselves and look to exchange more material with other partners with a view to completing their portfolio.

Working Paper 2

Panfil, E. M., & Sottas, B. (2009). Where do the best come from? Careum: Zürich. PDF

D’où viennent les meilleurs?

Concurrence mondiale dans la formation – qui forme des professionnels de la santé équipés pour l’avenir?

Le personnel de santé est demandé dans le monde entier. Les nouvelles formes d’apprentissage, qui insistent moins sur le savoir et plus sur les capacités à résoudre des problèmes et à travailler au sein d’équipes interprofessionnelles, se sont établies. L'apprentissage par problèmes (APP) s’est ainsi imposé sous différents aspects comme standard dans la formation aux métiers de la santé.

Les dépenses pour la formation des professionnels de la santé sont élevées. La Suisse investit près d’un milliard de francs par an dans la formation, dont trois quarts sont consacrés à la formation des médecins.

Les défis en matière de politique de santé et les solutions possibles sont de plus en plus similaires dans les pays industrialisés. Les conditions sont ainsi posées pour que se développent une concurrence internationale dans la formation et un échange au-delà des frontières. Actuellement, il n’existe toutefois qu’une concurrence autour de la main d’œuvre. Étant donné que les systèmes de santé sont limités au niveau national, chaque pays réinvente les cursus de formation, puisque les professionnels de la santé sont d’abord formés pour exercer leur métier sur le marché intérieur. Le potentiel et les opportunités de coopérations au-delà des frontières restent largement inexploités.

Le Working Paper 2 de Careum répertorie les profils de compétences pour la formation des futurs professionnels de la santé. Careum approfondit en outre quatre thèses sur la formation pour le secteur de la santé 2032. Celles-ci plaident en faveur d’un décalage des frontières: pour bénéficier de professionnels de la santé équipés pour l’avenir, il est essentiel de délaisser l’«exception médicale» des systèmes de formation et de santé et, pour les établissements de formation, de se positionner comme centres de compétences dans un système de répartition du travail.

Les futurs établissements de formation ne devraient concevoir eux-mêmes qu’une partie des contenus standardisés et échanger davantage avec les autres partenaires pour compléter leur portefeuille.

Working Paper 2

Panfil, E. M., & Sottas, B. (2009). Woher kommen die Besten? Careum: Zürich. PDF