Where do the best go?

Global competition for healthcare professionals. What role does migration play in their career future?

In OECD countries, the health sector is one of the most important in terms of employment. The demand for qualified health professionals generally far exceeds domestic supply. In the case of Switzerland, about one third of the health workforce has foreign passports. This figure is expected to grow, the reasons for which are twofold. On the one hand, this can be attributed to steadily increasing demand, comparatively high salaries, good training opportunities and favourable working conditions. On the other hand, the insufficient number of people trained to replace those reaching retirement age will also play a significant role (see Careum Working Paper 1).

Neither the migration nor the shortage of health professionals is a recent phenomenon. Indeed, according to the WHO, there is a global shortage or, as the OECD puts it, “a looming crisis in the health workforce”. The number of health professionals required worldwide amounts to 4.25 million. This shortage is, in itself, a matter of concern because it compromises the quality of care delivery. The real issue, however, is seen in the migration of skilled health workers, which is characterised by a “cascade-type” pattern whereby the wealthier countries attract qualified personnel from countries in the East or South. This situation raises ethical issues because “care drain” results in the deterioration of already disadvantaged health systems. Moreover, it transfers considerable investments intended to provide relief and causes additional exposure and vulnerability. On the other hand, the labour market is very much global in nature and offers opportunities to talented and skilled labour. Several initiatives have been launched to address the discrepancy between these two opposing situations and to tackle the migration of health workers. The goal in this regard is to develop strategies to mitigate the adverse effects on health systems.

The Swiss Federal Office of Public Health has been commissioned with the present Careum Working Paper with the aim of stimulating discussions in the workshop focusing on the global competition for healthcare professionals at the “Careum Congress 2009”. This paper sheds light on the relevance of the migration of health workers for Switzerland, the measures taken to hopefully raise self-sufficiency, and it sets the country in regards to the WHO code of practice on the international recruitment of health personnel. It appears that the mobility of healthcare workers will remain an important element for the Swiss health care system. However, it cannot be seen as the definitive solution.

The Careum Foundation, which has been actively involved in educational matters within the healthcare sector for 130 years, would like to generate the new ways of thinking that are needed to improve the domestic supply through strategies that focus on education, practice and policies that will enable the recruitment, training and retention of many more health professionals.

Working Paper 3

Silberschmidt, G., & Merçay, C. (2009). Where do the best go? Zürich: Careum. PDF

Contact

Careum Education Development

Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 50 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

E-mail

Où vont les meilleurs?

Concurrence internationale pour les professionnels de la santé. Quel rôle joue la migration dans l’avenir de leur carrière?

Dans les pays de l’OCDE, le secteur de la santé est l’un des premiers en termes d’emploi. La demande en professionnels de santé qualifiés est généralement supérieure à l’offre intérieure. Dans le cas de la Suisse, environ un tiers du personnel de santé possède un passeport étranger. Cette part est appelée à augmenter pour deux raisons. Cela est d’un côté lié à la demande en hausse constante, aux salaires plus élevés, aux bonnes conditions de formation et aux conditions de travail favorables. D’un autre côté, le nombre insuffisant de personnes formées pour remplacer les professionnels partant à la retraite jouera également un rôle important (cf. Careum Working Paper 1).

La migration et le manque de professionnels de la santé ne sont pas des phénomènes récents. L’OMS met en garde contre le manque mondial ou, comme le dit l’OCDE, «la crise des professionnels de la santé est imminente». Le nombre de professionnels de la santé requis au niveau mondial est de 4,25 millions. Cette pénurie annoncée a de quoi préoccuper, puisqu’elle remet en question la qualité des soins fournis. Néanmoins, le véritable problème semble être la migration des travailleurs qualifiés de la santé, qui se caractérise par un schéma «en cascade» dans lequel les pays plus riches attirent le personnel qualifié des pays de l’Est et du Sud. La situation soulève des questions éthiques, puisque la «fuite des cerveaux» provoque la dégradation des systèmes de santé désavantagés. Cela entraîne en outre un transfert considérable des investissements destinés à fournir une assistance et accroît la vulnérabilité. Parallèlement, le marché du travail est véritablement international par nature et offre des opportunités aux travailleurs compétents et qualifiés. Plusieurs initiatives ont été lancées pour combler l’écart entre ces deux situations opposées et remédier à la migration du personnel de la santé. À cet égard, l’objectif est d’élaborer des stratégies pour atténuer les effets négatifs sur les systèmes de santé.

L’Office fédéral de la santé publique suisse a été chargé de la rédaction du présent document de travail Careum afin d’encourager les discussions au sein de l’atelier consacré à la concurrence internationale sur le marché des professionnels de la santé lors du «Careum Congress 2009». Le document explique l’importance de la migration des travailleurs de la santé pour la Suisse et les mesures prises dans l’espoir d’atteindre l’autosuffisance. Il situe également le pays par rapport au Code de pratique mondial de l’OMS pour le recrutement des personnels de santé. Il apparaît que la mobilité des professionnels de la santé continuera à représenter un aspect important du système de santé suisse. Elle ne saurait toutefois être considérée comme une solution définitive.

La fondation Careum, activement impliquée dans les questions d’éducation au sein du secteur de la santé depuis 130 ans, souhaite créer de nouvelles approches visant à améliorer l’offre intérieure. L’idée est ainsi de privilégier des stratégies qui se concentrent sur l’éducation, la pratique et les politiques afin de permettre le recrutement, la formation et le maintien d’un plus grand nombre de professionnels de la santé.

Working Paper 3

Silberschmidt, G., & Merçay, C. (2009). Where do the best go? Zürich: Careum. PDF

Contact

Développement de
formation Careum

Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 50 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

E-mail