Who is the festest?

Global competition in product and process innovation. What are the success factors?

Healthcare has always been both reliant on and driven by innovations, be they new products or services, new processes or structures. Working Paper 5 provides an international comparison of various factors which influence innovations within healthcare.

For example, different countries pursue different approaches aimed at strengthening the links between basic research and both clinical research and applications. The assessment of innovations is also analysed, using the Health Technology Assessment (HTA) as an example, and the role played by regulatory bodies is represented too.

The paper concludes by looking at the role of the population, which is assuming new importance with people taking more responsibility and doing more for themselves and given the greater availability of information regarding prevention. Healthcare is no longer a product to be provided by professional providers of health services, but something which citizens or patients can help deliver themselves with support from health professionals.

Three theories regarding competition for healthcare innovations emerge from the observations:

  1. The improvement of people’s health, even in Western European countries, requires fundamental changes in the public health systems.
  2. The innovation of innovation processes themselves will have to go much further than we thought.
  3. Empowerment of citizens and patients as keepers of their health is the key to more efficient healthcare innovation.


Working Paper 5

Bührlen, B./Fraunhofer ISI Karlsruhe (2009). Who is the fastest? Zürich: Careum. PDF

Qui est le plus rapide?

Concurrence mondiale sur l’innovation en matière de produits et de processus – quels sont les facteurs de succès?

La santé a toujours été à la fois dépendante et porteuse d’innovations, que ce soit pour des nouveaux produits ou prestations, de nouveaux processus ou structures. Le Working Paper 5 compare les différents facteurs d’influence sur les innovations dans le secteur de la santé mondiale.

Ainsi, les différents pays adoptent différentes approches pour unir plus étroitement la recherche fondamentale à la recherche et à l’application cliniques. L’appréciation des innovations est par exemple analysée avec l’évaluation des technologies de la santé (ETS) et le rôle des organes de régulation dans le processus d’innovation est représenté.

Enfin, le rôle de la population est pris en compte, car il prend une nouvelle dimension avec la responsabilité et la contribution individuelles, ainsi qu’avec la plus grande disponibilité des informations sur la prévention. La santé n’est plus un produit mis à disposition par des prestataires professionnels de la santé: elle est coproduite par les citoyens ou les patients, avec l’aide des professionnels de la santé.

De ces observations découlent trois thèses sur la concurrence pour les innovations dans le secteur de la santé:

  1. L’amélioration de la santé de la population nécessite aussi des changements fondamentaux dans les systèmes de santé d’Europe de l’Ouest.
  2. L’innovation des processus novateurs doit elle-même aller encore plus loin.
  3. L’empowerment des citoyens et des patients pour le maintien de leur santé est la clé d’une innovation efficace en matière de santé.


Working Paper 5

Bührlen, B./Fraunhofer ISI Karlsruhe (2009). Wer ist am schnellsten? Zürich: Careum. PDF