Patient education in Switzerland

Options and future prospects

Healthcare is in a transitional phase in historical terms and faces some major challenges. Large sections of the population want to become more involved in decision-making processes relating to their health. At the same time, service providers, those funding services and the state are increasingly stressing the need for individuals to share or even assume responsibility for their own personal health. But in order for patients to take on board the possibilities and duties which come with this new and active role, they need to be equipped with some highly specific skills.

Patient education is what is required to promote these skills of dealing with illness and its consequences and navigating the medical care system. The Careum Foundation has taken a systematic look at the situation regarding patient education in Switzerland and analysed in particular the education on offer to people with chronic conditions.

Working Paper 6 explains Careum's “Patient Education” project, along with the relevant analytical criteria, objectives and range of options in this area. The results are grouped according to the providers involved. The various individual results are then considered as a whole, with a view to coming up with recommendations for further investigations and deliberations on the future development of patient education in Switzerland.

Working Paper 6

Ospelt-Niepelt, R., Egli, K., & Stutz Steiger T. (2010). Patientenbildung in der Schweiz. Zürich: Careum. PDF

La formation des patients en Suisse

Offres et perspectives d’avenir

Le secteur de la santé se trouve dans une situation de bouleversement historique et fait face à des défis majeurs. De larges pans de la population souhaitent être davantage impliqués dans les processus décisionnels lorsqu’il est question de leur santé. Parallèlement, les différents prestataires de services et l’État insistent toujours plus sur la coresponsabilité et la responsabilité individuelle en matière de santé personnelle. Afin de pouvoir exploiter les possibilités et les missions qui sont liées à ce nouveau rôle actif, les patientes et les patients doivent disposer de compétences bien spécifiques.

Ces compétences dans la gestion de la maladie et de ses conséquences, ainsi que dans le contact avec le système de prise en charge médicale, sont encouragées par la formation des patients. La fondation Careum a systématiquement examiné la situation de la formation des patients en Suisse et analysé en particulier l’offre de formation pour les personnes atteintes de maladies chroniques.

Le Working Paper 6 aborde le projet Careum «Formation des patients», les critères de l’analyse, les objectifs ainsi que la sélection des offres. Les résultats sont regroupés par prestataires. Les différents résultats font ensuite l’objet d’un récapitulatif. Cela permet d’en déduire des recommandations pour d’autres recherches et réflexions sur l’évolution future de la formation des patients en Suisse.

Working Paper 6

Ospelt-Niepelt, R., Egli, K., & Stutz Steiger T. (2010). Patientenbildung in der Schweiz. Zürich: Careum. PDF

Télécharger Télécharger