Qualitative survey and practical tool

A tool to support professionals in healthcare and social services in dealing with children, adolescents and young adults providing care.

Basis

The situation in Switzerland regarding children, adolescents and young adults under the age of 25 providing care constitutes a research gap. Little is known about the number of children, adolescents and young adults providing care, or about the type and extent of their responsibilities and the impact that these are having. Nor has there been any research into the needs of young people with a caring role, or their families. There is also little awareness of their situation.

Project

The first sub project as part of the “Young Carers” research programme has been running since January 2015. As part of a qualitative study, an investigation is being conducted into the nature and intensity of care, the journey into care and the socio-economic and demographic factors of children, adolescents and young adults providing care, and their families. The perspective of professionals, who may be able to prevent and raise awareness of the issue in their field of activity, is also being investigated.

Based on the findings, a specific tool is being developed as part of the second sub project to support professionals working in healthcare and social services (e.g. GPs, A&E departments, agencies for the protection of children and adults). This sub project gives professionals the opportunity to recognise the signs of children and young people providing care and to respond appropriately. Professional associations also stand to benefit from this practical tool. This practical tool will be the first in a range of other tools, also available to education services, as a result of additional third-party funding.

Interviewees required
Flyer (german) from Careum Research calling for children and young people providing care to come forward to talk about their experiences and responsibilities.

Sub project 1:

Qualitative survey with affected children, adolescents and young adults, as well as professionals
Duration: January 2015–August 2016
Project management: Prof. Dr. iur. Agnes Leu
Funding: Ebnet Foundation

Sub project 2:

Development of a practical tool for healthcare
Duration: January 2015–August 2016
Project management: Prof. Dr. iur. Agnes Leu
Funding: Ebnet Foundation

Étude qualitative et outil pratique

Un instrument doit pouvoir soutenir les spécialistes de la santé et du social dans leurs relations avec les enfants, les adolescents et les jeunes adultes soignants.

Situation de départ

En Suisse, on constate une lacune de la recherche quant à la situation des enfants, adolescents et jeunes adultes soignants de moins de 25 ans. On ne connaît ni le nombre d’enfants concernés, ni le type et l’étendue de leurs tâches, ni les effets qu’elles ont sur ces derniers. Les besoins des jeunes qui endossent un rôle de soignant et de leurs familles sont tout aussi méconnus. Rares sont les personnes qui ont conscience de leur situation.

Projet

La première partie du projet se déroule depuis janvier 2015, dans le cadre du programme de recherche «Young Carers». Une étude qualitative doit permettre de déterminer la nature et l’intensité des soins fournis, la raison qui a poussé à prodiguer des soins, ainsi que les circonstances socio-économiques et démographiques des enfants, adolescents et jeunes adultes soignants et de leurs familles. Le point de vue des spécialistes est également observé, car ils pourraient assurer la prévention et la sensibilisation sur le sujet dans leur domaine d’activité.

Le deuxième projet partiel consistera à développer un instrument concret, à l’aide des résultats de la première partie, qui aidera les spécialistes de la santé et du social (par ex. médecins de famille, autorités de protection de l’enfant et de l’adulte) dans leur travail. Ce projet partiel donnera aux spécialistes la possibilité de déceler les signes révélant qu’un enfant ou un jeune prodigue des soins et de réagir par des mesures appropriées. Les associations professionnelles profiteront également de cet outil pratique. Celui-ci sera le premier d’une série d’autres instruments qui seront aussi mis à disposition du secteur éducatif par le biais de fonds tiers.

Recherche de témoins
Flyer (en allemand) de Careum Recherche qui incite les enfants et les adolescents soignants à parler de leurs expériences et de leurs tâches.

Projet partiel 1:

Étude qualitative avec les enfants, les adolescents et les jeunes adultes
concernés, ainsi qu’avec les spécialistes
Durée: Janvier 2015–août 2016
Directrice: Prof. Dr. iur. Agnes Leu
Subventions: Fondation Ebnet

Projet partiel 2:

Développement d’un outil pratique pour le secteur de la santé
Durée: Janvier 2015–août 2016
Directrice: Prof. Dr. iur. Agnes Leu
Subventions: Fondation Ebnet