Children and adolescents providing care

A project team is collecting quantitative and qualitative data on children, adolescents and young adults providing care in Switzerland.

from left: Urs Moser (Universität Zürich), Hannah Wepf, Agnes Leu, Adrian Würgler (bz-gs Olten), Corinna Jung, Marianne Frech
from left: Urs Moser (Universität Zürich), Hannah Wepf, Agnes Leu, Adrian Würgler (bz-gs Olten), Corinna Jung, Marianne Frech

Basis

There has been no systematic study in Switzerland to date that has investigated the needs of children, adolescents and young adults providing care and the needs of their family members who are sick or disabled. Little is known about their number, nor about the type and extent of their responsibilities or the impact of providing care on their health, well-being, psychosocial development, education, transition into adulthood, future employment relationships or economic participation.

Project

The project “Children, adolescents and young adults as family carers in Switzerland” is conducting a quantitative and qualitative investigation into the nature and characteristics of children, adolescents and young adults providing care in Switzerland. The study, which is supported by the Swiss National Science Foundation, thus fills an important national and international research gap. The project is split into three sub projects:

  1. An online survey to investigate awareness among professionals from education, healthcare and social services of the issue of young carers and young adult carers is being conducted throughout Switzerland.
  2. Using standard tools, a survey of 4800 schoolchildren is being undertaken to gather quantitative data on the number of children, adolescents and young adult carers and their responsibilities.
  3. Semi-structured qualitative interviews are also being conducted in 20 families with children and adolescents and their relatives needing care, to consolidate and validate the findings from the quantitative sub projects 1 and 2. This will capture experiences directly from the family members needing care and the young people caring for them that relate to the issues that were identified in the surveys and in previously published studies.

The findings are linked with significant evidence from other countries.

Interviewees required
Flyer (german) from Careum Research calling for children and young people providing care to come forward to talk about their experiences and responsibilities.

Project team

Prof. Dr. iur. Agnes Leu, Careum Research (Project Manager)
Prof. Dr. Saul Becker, University of Sussex
Dr. phil. Corinna Jung, Careum Research (Senior)
Dr. Joe Sempik, University of Birmingham (Senior)
Dr. phil. Martin Verner, University of Zurich (Junior)
Marianne Frech, Careum Research (PhD candidate)

Project cooperation

Dr. Kurt Albermann, Senior consultant Social-paediatric Centre SPZ, Specialist for child and adolescent psychiatry and psychotherapy, FMH Swiss Medical Association, Specialist for  paediatrics and adolescent medicine, Winterthur Cantonal Hospital
Prof. Dr. Urs Moser, Manager, Institute for Education Evaluation, University of Zurich

Funding

SNSF Money Follows CH-UK, 10001AM_160355
Lay Summary in the resarch datebase P3: p3.snf.ch

Duration

October 2015–October 2018

Les enfants et jeunes adultes soignants

Une équipe de projet collecte des données quantitatives et qualitatives sur les enfants, adolescents et jeunes adultes soignants en Suisse.

Urs Moser (Université de Zürich), Hannah Wepf, Agnes Leu, Adrian Würgler (bz-gs Olten), Corinna Jung, Marianne Frech (de gauche à droite)).

Situation de départ

Les besoins des enfants, adolescents et jeunes adultes soignants et des membres de leur famille malades et souffrant d’un handicap n’ont fait l’objet d’aucune recherche systématique en Suisse à ce jour. On ne connaît donc pas leur nombre, ni le type ou l’étendue de leurs tâches, ou les effets des prestations de soins sur leur santé, leur bien-être, leur développement psycho-social, leur formation, leur passage à l’âge adulte, leurs futurs rapports professionnels ou leur participation économique.

Projet

Le projet «Les enfants, les adolescents et les jeunes adultes en tant que proches soignants en Suisse» examine quantitativement et qualitativement la nature et les caractéristiques des enfants, adolescents et jeunes adultes soignants en Suisse. L’étude, soutenue par le Fonds national suisse, comble ainsi une lacune importante de la recherche au niveau national et international. Le projet est divisé en trois parties:

  1. Une enquête nationale en ligne sera réalisée pour évaluer les connaissances des spécialistes issus du secteur de la formation, de la santé et du social au sujet des Young Carers et des Young Adult Carers.
  2. Une enquête sera menée auprès de 4800 élèves, à l’aide d’instruments standardisés, pour relever quantitativement le nombre et les tâches des enfants et des adolescents soignants.
  3. Des entretiens semi-structurés qualitatifs serviront en outre à interroger les enfants ou adolescents de 20 familles et leurs proches nécessitant des soins, afin de consolider et de valider les conclusions des projets quantitatifs partiels 1 et 2. Cela devrait permettre de saisir les expériences directement auprès des membres nécessitant des soins dans une famille et des jeunes soignants par rapport aux thèmes qui avaient été identifiés dans les enquêtes et les études passées.

Les résultats seront croisés avec les preuves concluantes obtenues dans les autres pays.

Recherche de témoins
Flyer (en allemand) de Careum Recherche qui incite les enfants et les adolescents soignants à parler de leurs expériences et de leurs tâches.

Équipe

Prof. Dr. iur. Agnes Leu, Careum Recherche (responsable du projet)
Prof. Dr. Saul Becker, Université de Sussex
Dr. phil. Corinna Jung, Careum Recherche (Senior)
Dr. Joe Sempik, Université de Birmingham (Senior)
Dr. phil. Martin Verner, Université de Zurich (Junior)
Marianne Frech, Careum Recherche (candidate au doctorat)

Collaboration au projet

Dr. Kurt Albermann, médecin-chef du centre socio-pédiatrique, médecin spécialiste de la psychiatrie des enfants et des jeunes FMH, médecin spécialiste en pédiatrie, hôpital cantonal de Winterthur
Prof. Dr. Urs Moser, direction d el’institut d’évaluation de la formation, Université de Zurich

Subventions

SNF Money Follows CH-UK, 10001AM_160355
Résumé dans la banque de données de recherche P3: p3.snf.ch

Durée

Octobre 2015–octobre 2018