History

The Careum Foundation has been involved in healthcare training for over 130 years.

The Careum story began in 1882 with the establishment of the foundation known as “Schwesternschule und Krankenhaus vom Roten Kreuz Zürich-Fluntern” (“Zurich-Fluntern Red Cross Nursing School and Hospital”). The nursing school and its associated training hospital were set up in close proximity to the University of Zurich and the University Hospital Zurich. This effectively laid the foundations for the Careum Campus. Even today, this unique location – right in the heart of Zurich's university district – still offers the perfect conditions for fulfilling the Foundation's purpose: “The Foundation supports training in healthcare and social services through innovation and development.”

Nursing school and hospital

After it was founded, the nursing school developed into a non-denominational school for nursing and healthcare. The Zurich-Fluntern Red Cross Hospital became established as a private clinic and training hospital with a particular focus on gynaecology and obstetrics. Developments in health and training policy in the 1990s prompted the Foundation to change course and pursue a new path:

  • In 1997, the hospital closed following the introduction of the Swiss Federal Health Insurance Act (Krankenversicherungsgesetz KVG).
  • In 1999, the development of a radically revised curriculum for nursing involving problem-based learning began.
  • In 2004, the Foundation changed its name to the “Careum Foundation”. This incorporates two elements: “care” and “lyceum” (a place of learning in ancient Athens).
  • In 2005, the Careum Training Centre opened with a vocational college and a PET (professional training and education) college.

Since 2005, the Careum Campus has been training men and women into qualified nursing professionals. The Careum Training Centre also offers five training schemes for health professions at PET college level and two vocational training programmes at upper secondary level. In 2012, the Department of Health Science at Kalaidos University of Applied Sciences moved to the Careum Campus, where training and continuing education courses are taken up to Master's degree level.

Development of an interprofessional Careum Campus

Since construction work on the site began in 2003, Careum has been pursuing the vision of creating an interprofessional campus to serve as a place for learning, research and exchange. The motto is one of “teaching, learning and researching – from, about and with one another”. During the course of developing and extending the Careum Campus, various innovative training projects have been implemented. These include, among other things, the Careum Training Centre for vocational training and higher education in healthcare, the curriculum network for problem-based learning and Careum Publishing, which develops and distributes learning and teaching material for professions associated with the healthcare and social services sectors. For the last ten years, Careum has also been working with the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Zurich to develop and implement interprofessional learning settings to prepare students for interdisciplinary collaboration.

The training projects make a vital contribution towards the development of skilled personnel to respond to the needs of the healthcare sector, demographic changes and social developments. With its wide range of training programmes, Careum appeals to trainees at various levels of education, from different age groups, with different personal situations and from different social backgrounds. The Careum Campus advocates the development and use of appropriate learning settings which enable experts to apply their skills effectively in the world of work. As well as specialist expertise, a great deal of emphasis is placed on interdisciplinary skills such as a capacity for reflection and the ability to communicate.

Research

The Careum Foundation has been running a research unit since 2010 in cooperation with the Department of Health Science at Kalaidos University of Applied Sciences. Careum Research is orientated towards the competence and participation of patients, their relatives and professionals in healthcare and social services. Its main focus is on developing new innovative and cross-sectoral forms of care provision and living arrangements. These help to develop a high-quality and effective community-based care system which enables people to make their own decisions and lead an independent life. Key research areas include living with chronic illness, health literacy, supporting self-management and empowerment.

Patient education, an integral part of Careum Research, epitomises Careum's commitment to a systematically patient- and user-orientated approach and has been developed and expanded by Careum since 2009. Integrated care with a focus on holistic processes and co-production is particularly called for in this respect. One reason for this is to ensure that the needs and resources of relatives as providers of informal support are taken into account. Due consideration is given to “caring” and the compatibility of family care with other roles at all stages in life. Through user-oriented projects, Careum generates impetus for tackling current issues relating to training and care provision in healthcare.


Contact

Careum Foundation

Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 50 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

info@careum.ch

Geschichte

Die Careum Stiftung engagiert sich seit gut 130 Jahren für die Bildung im Gesundheitswesen.

Die Geschichte von Careum beginnt im Jahr 1882 mit der Gründung der Stiftung «Schwesternschule und Krankenhaus vom Roten Kreuz Zürich-Fluntern». Die Schwesternschule mit Ausbildungsspital wurde in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft der Universität Zürich und des Universitätsspitals aufgebaut. Damit war der Grundstein für den Careum Campus gelegt. Die einmalige Lage, mitten im Hochschulgebiet von Zürich, bietet auch heute noch ideale Voraussetzungen zur Umsetzung des Stiftungszwecks: «die Förderung der Bildung im Gesundheits- und Sozialwesen durch Innovation und Entwicklung».

Schwesternschule und Krankenhaus

Die Schwesternschule entwickelte sich nach der Gründung zu einer konfessionell neutralen Schule für Gesundheits- und Krankenpflege. Das Krankenhaus vom Roten Kreuz Zürich-Fluntern etablierte sich als Privatklinik und Ausbildungsspital, insbesondere im Bereich Gynäkologie und Geburtshilfe. Die gesundheits- und bildungspolitischen Entwicklungen der 1990er-Jahre bewogen die Stiftung, die Weichen neu zu stellen:

  • 1997 schloss das Spital nach der Einführung des Krankenversicherungsgesetzes (KVG).
  • 1999 startete die Entwicklung eines grundlegend neuen Pflegecurriculums mit «Problem-based Learning».
  • 2004 änderte die Stiftung ihren Namen in «Careum Stiftung». Darin sind zwei Elemente enthalten: «to care» (englisch für sich kümmern, betreuen, pflegen) und «lyceum» (Lehrstätte im alten Athen).
  • 2005 eröffnete das Careum Bildungszentrum mit Berufsfachschule und Höherer Fachschule.

Seit 2005 werden auf dem Careum Campus Frauen und Männer zu diplomierten Pflegefachpersonen ausgebildet. Das Careum Bildungszentrum bietet zudem fünf Ausbildungen für Gesundheitsberufe der Höheren Fachschule sowie zwei Berufsausbildungen der Sekundarstufe II an. 2012 zog das Departement Gesundheit der Kalaidos Fachhochschule auf den Careum Campus. Heute finden dort Aus- und Weiterbildungen bis zur Masterstufe statt.

Aufbau eines interprofessionellen Careum Campus

Seit dem Start der Arealüberbauung im Jahr 2003 verfolgt Careum die Vision eines interprofessionell ausgerichteten Campus, der als Ort des Lernens, Forschens und Austauschs dient. Das Motto lautet: «Voneinander, übereinander und miteinander lehren, lernen und forschen.» Im Zuge des Auf- und Ausbaus des Careum Campus wurden innovative Bildungsprojekte realisiert. Dazu gehören unter anderem das Careum Bildungszentrum für Berufs- und Hochschulbildung im Gesundheitswesen, der Curriculumsverbund Problembasiertes Lernen sowie der Careum Verlag, der Lern- und Lehrmittel für Gesundheits- und Sozialberufe entwickelt und verbreitet. Zusammen mit der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Zürich entwickelt und realisiert Careum zudem seit zehn Jahren interprofessionelle Lernsettings, welche die Studierenden auf die berufsübergreifende Zusammenarbeit vorbereiten.

Die Bildungsprojekte tragen massgeblich zur Fachkräfteentwicklung im Kontext der Gesundheitswirtschaft, der Demografie und der gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen bei. Mit den vielfältigen Bildungsangeboten richtet sich Careum an Lernende unterschiedlicher Bildungsstufen, Altersstufen, Lebenssituationen sowie unterschiedlicher sozialer Herkunft. Der Careum Campus steht für die Entwicklung und Nutzung geeigneter Lernsettings, die Fachleute befähigen, ihre Kompetenzen in der Berufswelt wirksam einzusetzen. Dabei werden neben fachlichem Know-how auch überfachliche Kompetenzen, wie beispielsweise die Reflexionsfähigkeit und kommunikative Fähigkeiten, stark gewichtet.

Forschung

In Kooperation mit der Kalaidos Fachhochschule Gesundheit führt die Careum Stiftung seit 2010 eine Forschungsabteilung. Die Careum Forschung orientiert sich an der Kompetenz und Partizipation von Patientinnen und Patienten, ihren Angehörigen und den Fachpersonen im Gesundheits- und Sozialwesen. Neue sektorenübergreifende und innovative Versorgungs- und Wohnformen stehen dabei im Mittelpunkt. Damit werden Beiträge zu einer qualitativ hochwertigen und wirksamen gemeindenahen Versorgung erarbeitet, um die Menschen zu eigenen Entscheidungen und autonomer Lebensführung zu befähigen. Schwerpunkte sind das Leben mit chronischer Krankheit, Gesundheitskompetenz, Selbstmanagementförderung und Empowerment.

Patientenbildung steht als Teil der Careum Forschung für ein systematisch patienten- und nutzerzentriertes Engagement, das Careum seit 2009 auf- und ausbaut. Integrierte Versorgung mit Blick auf ganzheitliche Verläufe und Koproduktion ist hier besonders gefragt, auch um die Bedürfnisse und Ressourcen der Angehörigen als informelle Unterstützungspersonen zu berücksichtigen. «Caring» und die Vereinbarkeit der Angehörigenpflege mit anderen Rollen werden dabei über den gesamten Lebenslauf betrachtet. Mit nutzerzentrierten Projekten gibt Careum Impulse zu aktuellen Bildungs- und Versorgungsfragen im Gesundheitswesen.


Kontakt

Careum Stiftung

Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zürich

T +41 43 222 50 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

info@careum.ch