Main Library – Medicine Careum

A shared information centre for medicine and health care: the “Main Library – Medicine Careum” offers specialist literature for students, trainees, teachers and researchers.

The “Main Library – Medicine Careum” is an interprofessional information centre for the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Zurich, University Hospital Zurich, the Careum Training Centre and the Department of Health Science at Kalaidos University of Applied Sciences. It serves a wide range of professionals involved in vocational training and higher education.

The library on the Careum Campus encompasses numerous aspects of teaching and research in the medical and healthcare professions. It exploits synergies, creates opportunities for people to meet and interact and lays the foundations for interdisciplinary and interprofessional collaboration. It also serves as an electronic library and as a centre of expertise for clinical libraries in Zurich.

Careum works with the “Main Library – Medicine Careum” to promote the further development of healthcare as a topic. The healthcare library's stocks have been continually expanded in recent years, particularly in the area of nursing science, in cooperation with University Hospital Zurich and the Careum Training Centre. This process has been helped by the transfer of the library stocks from the Continuing Education Centre for Healthcare Professionals at the former Swiss Red Cross Nursing Management School.

A place of learning for over 8,000 students, trainees and lecturers

In 2015, the “Main Library – Medicine Careum” – with a staff of 9.8 full-time equivalents – provided specialist literature and information to almost 3,000 medical students and around 2,500 researchers from the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Zurich and University Hospital Zurich, some 1,000 students from universities of applied sciences and PET colleges, 950 trainees undergoing basic vocational training and roughly 350 lecturers and instructors specialising in healthcare professions.

The library building covers 2,120 square metres and contains 350 reading desks. It is open from 8.00 a.m. to 8.00 p.m. on Monday to Friday and from 8.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m. on Saturdays.

Find out more about the “Main Library – Medicine Careum”


Contact

Main Library –
Medicine Careum

Gloriastrasse 16
CH-8006 Zürich

T +41 44 634 50 50

E-Mail

Hauptbibliothek – Medizin Careum

Gemeinsames Informationszentrum für Medizin und Gesundheit: Die «Hauptbibliothek – Medizin Careum» bietet Fachliteratur für Studierende, Lernende, Lehrende und Forschende.

Die «Hauptbibliothek – Medizin Careum» ist ein interprofessionell ausgerichtetes Informationszentrum für die Medizinische Fakultät der Universität Zürich, das UniversitätsSpital Zürich, das Careum Bildungszentrum und die Kalaidos Fachhochschule Gesundheit. Sie dient einem breiten Spektrum von Fachpersonen aus Berufs- und Hochschulbildung.

Die Bibliothek auf dem Careum Campus bündelt zahlreiche Aufgaben für Lehre und Forschung in den Gesundheits- und Medizinberufen. Sie nutzt Synergien, schafft Begegnungsmöglichkeiten und bietet die Voraussetzungen für die interdisziplinäre und interprofessionelle Zusammenarbeit. Zudem ist sie eine elektronische Bibliothek und ein bibliothekarisches Fachzentrum für Klinikbibliotheken in Zürich.

Careum engagiert sich zusammen mit der «Hauptbibliothek – Medizin Careum» für den weiteren Ausbau des Schwerpunkts Gesundheit. Die Bestände der Gesundheitsbibliothek, insbesondere des Fachbereichs Pflegewissenschaft, konnten in Kooperation mit dem UniversitätsSpital Zürich und dem Careum Bildungszentrum in den letzten Jahren kontinuierlich erweitert werden. Dazu beigetragen hat auch die Überführung der Bibliotheksbestände des Weiterbildungszentrums für Gesundheitsberufe der ehemaligen Kaderschule für Krankenpflege des Schweizerischen Roten Kreuzes.

Ort des Lernens für gut 8000 Studierende, Lernende und Lehrende

Die «Hauptbibliothek – Medizin Careum» versorgte mit 9,8 Mitarbeiterstellen im Jahr 2015 knapp 3000 Medizinstudierende und rund 2500 Forschende der Medizinischen Fakultät und des UniversitätsSpitals Zürich, rund 1000 Studierende der Fachhochschule und Höheren Fachschule, 950 Lernende in der beruflichen Grundbildung sowie rund 350 Dozierende und Lehrbeauftragte im Bereich Gesundheitsberufe mit Fachliteratur und -informationen.

Die Bibliothek umfasst 2120 Quadratmeter Nutzfläche mit 350 Leseplätzen. Sie ist von Montag bis Freitag von 8.00 bis 20.00 Uhr und samstags von 8.00 bis 16.00 Uhr geöffnet.

Erfahren Sie mehr zur Hauptbibliothek – Medizin Careum Zürich


Kontakt

Hauptbibliothek –
Medizin Careum

Gloriastrasse 16
CH-8006 Zürich

T +41 44 634 50 50

E-Mail