Learning modules for nursing and medicine

Role play for critical scenarios: a chance for nursing and medical students to train in interprofessional collaboration through joint learning modules.

Careum Education Development, the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Zurich and the Careum Training Centre have collaborated to develop two modules to be taken by interprofessional specialist groups. The two learning units give nursing and medical students a chance to prepare for the interprofessional reality of their day-to-day working life while they are still being trained. The students pick up specialist knowledge and undergo skills training together. Feedback from tutors and student observers enables them to reflect on and enhance their experiences of interprofessional collaboration. Surveys regarding the learning settings indicate these options are really popular with nursing and medical students and can help raise awareness of interprofessional collaboration.

Acting and communicating together in emergency situations

The interprofessional module known as “Emergency Situations – Interventions” has been run every year since 2007. The aim is for nursing and medical students to train together, in simulated emergency situations, in interprofessional action and communication. In mixed groups, the students have to assess and judge emergency situations and decide what actions to take. Following the series of exercises, there is a chance to reflect on roles and duties and also communication.

Sharing bad news at the bedside

How do you tell a sick patient they only have a few days to live? The module known as “Interprofessional Communication and Ethics – Complex Conversations Situations with Patients” is a chance for nursing and medical students to practise in the form of bedside role play how they might cope with such a difficult task. They prepare in teams and then perform at the patient's bedside. Actors play the role of patients. Following the conversation, the team reflects upon everything that has happened along with teaching staff from both groups of professionals. Everyone benefits when people learn with, from and about each other. Patients feel confident about and able to participate in a tried-and-tested exchange, while students have a chance to develop, while still training, the kinds of interprofessional skills they will need later.

This learning setting has sparked considerable interest among professionals at both a national and international level. At the Standardized Patients and Simulation in Health Care (SPSIM) Conference, the learning setting was discussed in an international context with the help of a poster-based presentation. At the Swiss Congress for Health Professions (SCHP) 2014, the module was a topic of the workshop entitled “Training in Nursing and Medicine: an Interprofessional Approach to Skills Training”.

Honored with Awards

The two modules “Interprofessional Communication and Ethics – Complex Conversations Situations with Patients” and “Emergency Situations – Interventions” received a great deal of attention at the 2nd Symposium on Interprofessionality in healthcare in 2017 as well. They have each won an award for «Interprofessionality» by the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences (SAMW).

Presentations

Schroeder, G. (2018). Unterschiedliche Berufsgruppen – viele Perspektiven – ein Ziel. Referat. Impulsveranstaltung «Interprofessionelle Zusammenarbeit in der
Gesundheitsversorgung» der Kantone Nidwalden und Obwalden. Obwalden, 25.01.2018. PDF

Schroeder, G. (2014). Ausbildung in Pflege und Medizin: Skills interprofessionell trainieren. Referat. Swiss Congress for Health Professions. Bern, 11.3.2014. PDF

Schroeder, G. (2010). Professionalisierung durch interprofessionelle Bildung?! Referat. SBK Kongress 2010. Luzern. PDF

Publications

Schroeder, G. (2015). «Voneinander, miteinander und übereinander lernen»: Chancen und Risiken der Interprofesionalität aus der Sicht von Careum. Synapse, (2), 12. PDF

Bastami, S., Krones, T., Schroeder, G., Schirlo, C., Schäfer, C., Aeberhard, R., & Biller-Adorno, N. (2012). Interprofessionelle Kommunikationsprozesse – schwierige Gesprächssituationen mit Patientinnen und Patienten. Ethik in der Medizin, 24, Issue 3, 241-244. doi: 10.1007/s00481-011-0177-1

Schroeder, G. (2010). Interprofessionalität in der Umsetzung. PrInterNet, 12(1), 18-23. PDF

Lernmodule für Pflege und Medizin

Rollenspiele für den Ernstfall: Pflege- und Medizinstudierende trainieren in gemeinsamen Lernmodulen die interprofessionelle Zusammenarbeit.

In Zusammenarbeit zwischen Careum Bildungsentwicklung, der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Zürich und dem Careum Bildungszentrum ist es gelungen, zwei Module in interprofessionellen Fachgruppen zu entwickeln. Die beiden Lerneinheiten ermöglichen es den Pflege- und Medizinstudierenden, sich bereits in der Ausbildung auf den interprofessionellen Berufsalltag vorzubereiten. Die Studierenden erwerben Fachwissen und führen gemeinsam Skillstrainings durch. Dank Feedback von Lehrpersonen und studentischen Beobachtungspersonen können sie ihre Erfahrungen zur interprofessionellen Zusammenarbeit reflektieren und erweitern. Die Evaluationen der Lernsettings zeigen, dass diese Angebote bei den Pflege- und Medizinstudierenden auf grosse Resonanz stossen und für die interprofessionelle Zusammenarbeit sensibilisieren können.

Gemeinsames Handeln und Kommunizieren im Notfall

Das interprofessionelle Modul «Notfallsituationen – Interventionen» wird seit 2007 jährlich durchgeführt. Das Ziel ist es, dass die Studierenden der Pflege und Medizin in simulierten Notfallsituationen gemeinsam das interprofessionelle Handeln und Kommunizieren trainieren. In gemischten Gruppen müssen die Studierenden die Notfallsituationen einschätzen und beurteilen sowie über das weitere Handeln entscheiden. Im Anschluss an die Übungssequenz werden sowohl die Rollen und Aufgaben als auch die Kommunikation reflektiert.

Schlechte Nachrichten am Spitalbett überbringen

Wie teilt man einer kranken Person mit, dass sie nur noch wenige Tage zu leben hat? Im Modul «Interprofessionelle Kommunikation und Ethik – Komplexe Gesprächssituationen mit Patientinnen und Patienten» üben Pflege- und Medizinstudierende in einem Rollenspiel am Krankenbett, wie sie solch schwierige Aufgaben bewältigen können. In Teams bereiten sie sich vor und treten ans Krankenbett. Schauspieler mimen die Patientinnen und Patienten. Nach dem Gespräch wird der ganze Ablauf im Team und mit Lehrpersonen beider Berufsgruppen reflektiert. Vom Lernen miteinander, voneinander und übereinander profitieren alle: der Patient, weil er sich auf ein eingeübtes Zusammenspiel verlassen und sich einbringen kann; die Studierenden, da sie bereits in der Ausbildung notwendige interprofessionelle Kompetenzen erarbeiten können.

Dieses Lernsetting stiess auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene in der Fachwelt auf grosses Interesse. An der Konferenz Standardized Patients and Simulation in Health Care (SPSIM) wurde das Lernsetting im internationalen Kontext im Rahmen einer Posterpräsentation diskutiert. Am Swiss Congress for Health Professions (SCHP) 2014 war das Modul im Workshop «Ausbildung in Pflege und Medizin: Skills interprofessionell trainieren» Thema.

Publikation

Bastami, S., Krones, T., Schroeder, G., Schirlo, C., Schäfer, C., Aeberhard, R., & Biller-Adorno, N. (2012). Interprofessionelle Kommunikationsprozesse – schwierige Gesprächssituationen mit Patientinnen und Patienten. Ethik in der Medizin, 24, Issue 3, 241-244. doi: 10.1007/s00481-011-0177-1

Weitere Informationen finden Sie rechts im Downloadbereich.