Art and construction

The Careum Foundation firmly believes in the artistic potential of construction. And the various works of art around the Careum Campus are testament to this.

The Careum Foundation has created a unique educational campus for the healthcare professions in Zurich's higher education district. And given the exemplary style of the new clinker brick buildings, those in charge of the project were keen to adopt an “art and construction” approach to the new Careum Campus – to supplement the high-quality architecture from Bern-based architecture firm GWJ Architekten AG. With this in mind, an art commission was set up in July 2003 to launch a competitive tender process where various Swiss artists were invited to take part. It was a case of coming up with artistically convincing designs, both inside and out, and delivering these accordingly. 2007 saw the first phase implemented, with works by Annelies Strba, Piero Maspoli and Urs Eberle situated both inside and in front of the Careum buildings 1 and 2 on Gloriastrasse (see the site plan).

In autumn 2015, the Careum Foundation ran another invitation-only art competition when the auditorium was built. The Foundation felt it was important that the new auditorium – designed by the Zurich architects Bhend Klammer – should be enhanced by contemporary interventions that were both creative and unique. Those in charge of the project convened another art commission to provide artists Christine Streuli and Beat Zoderer with active support both during the competition phase and as they carried out their work.

The artist's work
 

Urs Eberle: Haus der vier Elemente, 2004

The artist earmarked four places for interventions, namely the atrium and the main, south and north stairwells. The artist used colour at the four locations to reflect the elements of fire, water, earth and wind. In the main stairwell, an oracle with a fire theme was integrated into the wall and the paint. Eberle sees his painting style as an extension of architecture and a kind of spatial sculpture that people can walk past or through. The technical and functional aspects of the architecture were complemented by Eberle's painting, which added a colourful and sensuous component.

Annelies Strba «PEMA CHÖKYI» (flower of joyfull teaching), 2005

The starting point was some film footage from a kitchen garden in Horgen near Zurich, which the artist had known very well since her childhood. What you see are kaleidoscopic colour compositions flowing into each other – a bright interplay of colourful impressions that convey a sense of movement. The two pictures, which only really evoke floral motifs when seen at a distance, need to be understood as a single entity. They radiate a powerful sense of emotion and bring something sensuous and dynamic to the open space inside the cafeteria. Through her work, the artist creates a dream-like and gaily coloured counterpoint to the day-to-day routine of an educational establishment.

Piero Maspoli: Ohne Titel (Keil), 2006

The artist had contrived a kind of wedge-shaped ramp made of various sandstone slabs for the transitional area between Gloriastrasse and the Careum Campus (and tapering off towards Plattenstrasse). The wedge is around 1.20 m high where it starts and decreases in height – down a gradient already present – to around 40 cm, while narrowing to form a point at the bottom. The artist saw the wedge as a minimalist intervention in keeping with the specific situation at the site. A balance between forging an architectural/sculptural shape and creating a natural appearance, with the wedge marking an understated boundary (from a town planning perspective) between the Careum Campus and both Gloriastrasse and the wider university district.

Beat Zoderer: Raster, 2016

In terms of form and content, this artist, who is active both at home and abroad, would have to come under the banner of constructive art. Zoderer described his work at the Careum Auditorium as follows: “The impression is a net-like structure covering the whole space. It is actually a dot matrix consisting of three circles of various sizes. The axes for the matrix run diagonal to the space and make it appear larger. The sequence used for the dots incorporates a degree of variety. It's a kind of dual system combining order and chaos.” (Beat Zoderer, 2016 competition). The result is a floorscape where dots suggesting both regular and irregular sequences form a rhythm of sorts and create an impression of vitality and excitement. This system of dots spaced at different intervals only emerges upon closer inspection, forcing the viewer to work that bit harder, so to speak, in order to fathom out and understand the laws behind the “secret” dot matrix.

Christine Streuli: Brushstrokes, 2016

The artist has become known for her expressive and ornamental style of painting. Her works tend to be highly dynamic or intensely colourful. She explains her mural in the entrance hall as follows: “The basic idea behind my concept was to take drawings of stylised brushstrokes, have these enlarged, and then apply them to the concrete walls in the entrance and foyer area of the new Careum building. The frozen 'brushstrokes' are intended to signify the painter's gestures and stand for movement, energy and a certain train of thought. If executed cleanly, large brushstrokes can become a kind of logo and a proxy expression of human gestures and vitality. Massive enlargement of a small movement represents a playful way of shifting our habitual perception and interpretation of scale. It can get us thinking in new and interesting ways.“ (Christine Streuli, 2016 competition)


Photo gallery Photo gallery

Contact

Careum Foundation

Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 50 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

info@careum.ch

Kunst und Bau

Der Careum Stiftung ist Kunst am Bau ein Anliegen. So sind auf dem Careum Campus mehrere Kunstwerke entstanden.

Careum hat mit der Überbauung des Stiftungsareals einen einzigartigen Bildungscampus für Gesundheitsberufe im Hochschulquartier von Zürich geschaffen. Die beispielgebenden Klinkerneubauten brachten es mit sich, dass sich die Bauherrschaft neben der hochrangigen Architektur des Berner Architekturbüros GWJ Architekten AG auch eine «Kunst und Bau»-Intervention für den neuen Careum Campus wünschte. Aus diesem Grund wurde im Juli 2003 eine Kunstkommission ins Leben gerufen, um unter eingeladenen Schweizer Künstlern einen Wettbewerb auszuschreiben. Dabei ging es um die künstlerisch überzeugende Innen- wie Aussenraumgestaltung und deren Realisierung. 2007 konnte die erste Phase mit den Werken von Annelies Strba, Piero Maspoli und Urs Eberle in und vor den Gebäuden Careum 1 und 2 an der Gloriastrasse (siehe Lageplan) umgesetzt werden.

Im Herbst 2015 führte die Careum Stiftung im Zuge des Auditorium-Neubaus erneut einen Kunstwettbewerb im Einladungsverfahren durch. Dabei war es der Stiftung ein Anliegen, das neue Auditorium, das von den Zürcher Architekten Bhend Klammer entworfen wurde, mit kreativen und einzigartigen zeitgenössischen Interventionen aufzuwerten. Dafür setzte die Bauherrschaft erneut eine Kunstkommission ein, um die Kunstschaffenden Christine Streuli und Beat Zoderer in der Phase des Wettbewerbs und der Ausführung aktiv zu begleiten.

Die Kunstwerke der Kunstschaffenden
 

Urs Eberle: Haus der vier Elemente, 2004

Der Künstler definierte vier Interventionsorte: Lichthof, Haupttreppenhaus, südliches Treppenhaus und nördliches Treppenhaus. Die Farben zu den vier Interventionsorten brachte der Künstler mit den Elementen Feuer, Wasser, Erde und Wind in Verbindung. Im Haupttreppenhaus wurde ein Orakel zum Thema Feuer in die Wand bzw. Farbe eingelassen. Eberle versteht seine Malerei als Erweiterung der Architektur in Richtung begehbarer Raumplastik (Skulptur). Der technisch-funktionalen Architektur wurde durch Eberles Malerei eine farblich-sinnliche Komponente hinzugefügt.

Annelies Strba «PEMA CHÖKYI» (flower of joyfull teaching), 2005

Ausgangspunkt sind Filmaufnahmen aus einem Bauerngarten in Horgen bei Zürich, den die Künstlerin seit ihrer Kindheit gut kennt. Zu sehen sind kaleidoskopartige Farbkompositionen, die ineinanderfliessen – ein buntes Spiel von sich optisch bewegenden Farbimpressionen. Die beiden Bilder, die nur noch entfernt an Blumenmotive erinnern, sind als Einheit zu verstehen. Sie verfügen über eine starke emotionale Ausstrahlung und verleihen dem offenen Raum der Cafeteria eine sinnlich-dynamische Komponente. Die Künstlerin schafft mit ihrem Werk eine traumnahe und farbenfrohe Gegenwelt zum schulischen Alltag.

Piero Maspoli: Ohne Titel (Keil), 2006

Der Künstler hatte sich für den Übergang von der Gloriastrasse zum Careum Campus eine keilförmige, gegen die Plattenstrasse abfallende Rampe aus verschiedenen Sandsteinplatten ausgedacht. Ausgangspunkt des Keils ist eine Höhe von ca. 1,20 m. Im natürlich abfallenden Gelände reduziert sich das Werk auf ca. 40 cm und spitzt sich gegen unten zu. Der Künstler verstand den Keil als minimalen, geländespezifischen Eingriff, angesiedelt zwischen architektonisch-skulpturaler Formgebung und naturhaftem Erscheinen, der aus städtebaulicher Sicht den Careum Campus von der Gloriastrasse und dem ganzen Universitätsquartier auf dezente Art und Weise abgrenzt.

Beat Zoderer: Raster, 2016

Der im In- und Ausland tätige Künstler ist formal und inhaltlich in das Umfeld der konstruktiven Kunst einzuordnen. Über seine Arbeit im Careum Auditorium äusserte sich Zoderer wie folgt: «Über den ganzen Raum wird eine netzartige Struktur vorgeschlagen. Es ist ein Punktraster aus drei verschieden grossen Kreisen. Die Achsen des Rasters verlaufen diagonal zum Raum und machen ihn scheinbar grösser. Die Reihenfolge der Punkte wechselt sich ab. Es ist ein duales System von Ordnung und Chaos.» (Beat Zoderer, Wettbewerb 2016). Entstanden ist ein Bodenbild, das mit seinen regelmässig-unregelmässigen, in einem rhythmischen Ablauf gesetzten Punkten ein Bild von Vitalität und Spannung erzeugt. Erst bei näherer Betrachtung fällt das System der in unterschiedlichen Abständen verteilten Punkte auf und fordert den Betrachter gleichsam auf, die Gesetzmässigkeit des «geheimnisvollen» Punkterasters genauer zu ergründen bzw. zu verstehen.

Christine Streuli: Brushstrokes, 2016

Die Künstlerin ist durch eine expressiv-ornamentale Malerei bekannt geworden. Ihre Werke sind geprägt von einer starken Dynamik oder intensiver Farbigkeit. Sie äussert sich über ihr Wandbild im Vestibül wie folgt: «Die Grundidee meines Konzeptes ist es, Zeichnungen von stilisierten Pinselhieben zu vergrössern und diese an die Betonwände des Eingangs und des Foyers im neuen Careum Gebäude anzubringen. Der eingefrorene ‹Brushstroke› soll hier als signifikant für die gemalte Geste, für Bewegung, Energie und Denkfluss stehen. Die grossen Pinselhiebe werden durch eine saubere Ausführung zum Logo und zum Stellvertreter für den Ausdruck menschlicher Geste und Vitalität. Die massive Vergrösserung einer kleinen Bewegung spielt mit der Verschiebung unserer gewohnten Wahrnehmung und Interpretation von Massstäblichkeit. Sie führt zu neuen und interessanten Denkansätzen.» (Christine Streuli, Wettbewerb 2016)


Bildergalerie Bildergalerie

Kontakt

Careum Stiftung

Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zürich

T +41 43 222 50 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

info@careum.ch