Quality development

Quality assurance really matters to Careum. This is why training concepts and learning and teaching material are reviewed and updated on a regular basis.

Careum Training Development performs ongoing evaluations of both curricula and learning and teaching material. This is done in collaboration with the training institutions in the curriculum association for problem-based learning and with other specialists.

Evaluation of teaching material for care and community health assistance professionals

Careum Training Development has evaluated the existing teaching material for care and community health assistance professionals on behalf of Careum Publishing. This was done in parallel with a revision of the training ordinance applicable to care and community health assistance professionals.

The main focus was on investigating whether the level is right and on updating things to reflect the latest specialist developments. This meant conducting a full census. Of the 67 learning centres approached across the various linguistic regions, 41 said they would be prepared to participate in the online survey, with 25 eventually completing it. Replies were received from all linguistic regions.

An analysis of the results picked up on specialist content, the transfer between theory and practice, and active learning as the main topics. Based on feedback regarding specialist content, topics are duly supplemented/regrouped and content updated/adapted to the level associated with care and community health assistance professionals. The investigation found that the transfer from theory to practice needs to be demonstrated using examples, images and graphics, and situations from professional practice. Active learning is all about getting learners to adopt a more active outlook by giving them learning tasks and food for thought.

Ahead of the national survey, a pilot project addressed the issue of how an active take on learning might be enhanced within the new edition of the teaching material for care and community health assistance professionals. Experts believe the following core aspects are critical: consistent inclusion of “illustrative situations” in the training plan, structured activation of existing knowledge, and integration of tasks involving learning and reflection. This ensures factual knowledge is supplemented by a more applied and practical knowledge of how to do things. Professional competencies are promoted as a result. The results from the pilot project have been compiled in a guide by the relevant authors. The results from the Switzerland-wide survey and the guide by the authors are helping Careum Publishing edit the teaching material for care and community health assistance professionals with a view to a publishing a new edition.

Evaluation of the Higher Vocational College for Nursing

Those graduating from the Higher Vocational College for Nursing who were trained in accordance with the concept of problem-based learning tend to prove their worth in professional practice. They have good or even very good behavioural competencies and are valued by their managers as competent specialists. This is revealed by a Ustudy undertaken by the Institute of Business Education and Educational Management at the University of St Gallen (in german) in 2011. The study involved a survey of 58 qualified nursing staff (and their immediate line managers) one year after they completed their training at the Careum Training Centre in Zurich or the Bildungszentrum Gesundheit und Soziales (Training Centre for Health and Social Care) in Chur. The self-assessment element is more critical and varied than the third-party assessment by the line managers.

Careum first asked the Institute of Business Education and Educational Management to perform an evaluation as long ago as 2004. The idea was to investigate the implementation of problem-based learning and the problem-based model curriculum for the Higher Vocational College for Nursing. The results showed that implementing problem-based learning can be challenging for students and teachers, while the findings fed directly into the implementation and further development of learning and teaching material for all training courses at the Higher Vocational College.


Contact

Careum Education Development

Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 50 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

E-mail

Qualitätsentwicklung

Careum ist die Qualitätssicherung ein Anliegen. Daher werden die Bildungskonzepte sowie die Lern- und Lehrmittel regelmässig überprüft und aktualisiert.

Careum Bildungsentwicklung führt laufend Evaluationen für die Curricula sowie die Lern- und Lehrmittel durch. Dies erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit den Bildungsinstitutionen im Curriculumsverbund Problembasiertes Lernen sowie Fachexpertinnen und Fachexperten.

Evaluation des Lehrmittels Fachfrau/Fachmann Gesundheit

Careum Bildungsentwicklung hat das bestehende Lehrmittel der Berufsausbildung Fachfrau/Fachmann Gesundheit im Auftrag des Careum Verlags evaluiert. Dies erfolgte parallel zur Revision der Bildungsverordnung Fachfrau/Fachmann Gesundheit.

Im Zentrum der Untersuchung standen die Niveaugerechtigkeit und die Aktualisierung an neueste fachliche Entwicklungen. Dafür wurde eine Vollerhebung durchgeführt. Von 67 angeschriebenen Lernorten aus allen Sprachregionen haben sich 41 bereit erklärt, an der Online-Umfrage teilzunehmen. 25 Lernorte haben die Online-Umfrage beantwortet. Es sind Rückmeldungen aus allen Sprachregionen eingegangen.

Die Analyse der Ergebnisse ergab die Schwerpunkte Fachinhalte, Theorie-Praxis-Transfer und Lernaktivierung. Anhand der Rückmeldungen zu den Fachinhalten werden Themen ergänzt und neu gruppiert sowie Inhalte aktualisiert und dem Niveau der Fachfrau/Fachmann Gesundheit angepasst. Aus der Untersuchung ging hervor, dass der Transfer von der Theorie zur Praxis mit Beispielen, Bildern und Grafiken sowie mit beruflichen Situationen veranschaulicht werden soll. Bei der Lernaktivierung geht es darum, die Lernenden über Lernaufgaben und Denkanstösse zu aktivieren.

Im Vorfeld der nationalen Umfrage ging ein Vorprojekt der Frage nach, wie das aktiv-verstehende Lernen in der Neuauflage des Lehrmittels Fachfrau/Fachmann Gesundheit erhöht werden kann. Aus Fachexpertensicht sind dafür folgende Kernpunkte entscheidend: ein konsequenter Einbezug der «beispielhaften Situation» des Bildungsplans, eine strukturierte Aktivierung des Vorwissens und die Integration von Lern- und Reflexionsaufgaben. So wird das Faktenwissen durch anwendungsorientiertes, praxisnahes Handlungswissen ergänzt. Die Entwicklung von beruflichen Kompetenzen wird dadurch gefördert. Die Ergebnisse des Vorprojekts sind in einem Autorenleitfaden zusammengefasst worden. Die Ergebnisse der schweizweiten Umfrage und der Autorenleitfaden dienen dem Careum Verlag bei der redaktionellen Bearbeitung des Lehrmittels Fachfrau/Fachmann Gesundheit für eine Neuauflage.

Evaluation der Höheren Fachschule Pflege

Die Absolventinnen und Absolventen der Höheren Fachschule Pflege, die nach dem Konzept des Problembasierten Lernens ausgebildet wurden, bewähren sich in der Berufspraxis. Sie verfügen über gute bis sehr gute Handlungskompetenzen und werden von den Vorgesetzten als kompetente Fachpersonen eingeschätzt. Dies zeigt eine Untersuchung des Instituts für Wirtschaftspädagogik (IWP) der Universität St. Gallen von 2011. Dafür wurden 58 Pflegefachpersonen ein Jahr nach der Ausbildung am Careum Bildungszentrum in Zürich und am Bildungszentrum Gesundheit und Soziales in Chur sowie die jeweiligen direkten Vorgesetzten der Pflegefachpersonen befragt. Die Selbstbeurteilung ist kritischer und differenzierter als die Fremdbeurteilung  durch die Vorgesetzten.

Bereits 2004 hat Careum das IWP erstmals mit einer Evaluation beauftragt. Untersucht wurde die Implementierung des Problembasierten Lernens und des Problembasierten Modell-Curriculums für die Höhere Fachschule Pflege. Die Ergebnisse zeigten auf, dass es für die Studierenden und die Lehrpersonen herausfordernd ist, Problembasiertes Lernen umzusetzen. Die Erkenntnisse flossen direkt in die Umsetzung und Weiterentwicklung der Lern- und Lehrmittel in allen Bildungsgängen der Höheren Fachschule ein.


Kontakt

Careum Bildungsentwicklung

Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zürich

T +41 43 222 50 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

E-Mail