USECARE AAL – Use Cases for Informal Care

Exploring the acceptance of a self-management support system for community-dwelling older adults with chronic conditions and their informal caregivers. Furthermore mapping effects on symptoms, clinical outcomes, behaviour change and quality of life.

Basis

Information and communication technology (ICT-)based interventions are considered useful for chronic disease management as they reach out to large numbers of individuals at relatively low cost and may provide benefits for community-dwelling older adults and informal caregivers. In Switzerland, SENACA (SENior health ACAdemy) has been developed by the European Medical Network EMN. SENACA is a structured self-management support system with several interacting components, combining tele-monitoring devices and a solution for personalised health plans. This online support system’s usability, the behaviour change techniques it builds on, modes of delivery and its effects on health-related behaviour, clinical and Quality-of-Life outcomes will be established in a larger group of end-users. Testing the usability of SENACA and practical effectiveness of this intervention is the goal of this multi-national EU-funded ambient assisted living (AAL) project USECARE. SENACA will be implemented in three countries (Israel, Norway and Switzerland) via field test with community-dwelling older adults living with chronic conditions (i.e. diabetes, COPD, chronic heart failure) and their informal caregivers.

Project

Key element of USECARE AAL is a field-test including a study with a pre-experimental design with three time point measurements and a pre-usability round. Multiple methods will be used to evaluate the usability and to observe clinical and process parameters before, during and after the implementation of the enhanced SENACA prototype.
All of the results combined will provide an insight into the end-user experience, usage pattern, usability perception and potential added value of the enhanced SENACA prototype for chronic disease management in the participating countries.

ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT02832739

Duration

May 2015–March 2017

Institutions

Institute of Nursing Science INS, University of Basel, Bernoullistrasse 28, CH-4056 Basel
Careum Research, Pestalozzistrasse 3, CH-8032 Zurich

Project team

Institute of Nursing Sciences INS: Sabina de Geest PhD RN (Co-Investigator), Mette Langeland Iversen M.Sc. PhD Student
Careum Research: Dr. Jörg Haslbeck (Principal Investigator), Urs A. Fichtner M.Sc. (Research Associate), Sylvie Zanoni M.A. (Research Associate)

Consortium of partners

Switzerland:

Institute of Nursing Science INS, University of Basel, Basel
Careum Research, Zurich
European Medical Network EMN AG, Kilchberg

Norway:

University Hospital of North Norway, Tromsø
University of Oslo, Department of Health Management & Health Economics, Oslo

Israel:

Assuta Medical Center, Tel Aviv

Spain:

Open Evidence, Barcelona
Soluciones Tecnológicas para la Salud y el Bienestar TSB, Valencia

Italy:

Institute for Health and Consumer Protection IHCP, Ispra

Awarding authorities

Active and Assisted Living Research and Development Programme, European Union
State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation SERI, Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research EAER, Einsteinstrasse 2, CH-3003 Bern


Contact

Patient education

Careum Research
Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zurich

T +41 43 222 64 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

E-Mail

USECARE AAL – Use Cases for Informal Care

Das Projekt untersucht die Akzeptanz eines Supportsystems zum Selbst-Management für im eigenen Haushalt lebende ältere Menschen mit chronischen Erkrankungen und für deren informelle Betreuer. Zudem sollen die Auswirkungen auf Symptome, klinische Ergebnisse, Verhaltensänderungen und die Lebensqualität erfasst werden.

Ausgangslage

Massnahmen, die auf Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie (ICT) basieren, gelten als hilfreiche Massnahmen bei der Behandlung chronischer Erkrankungen. Gründe dafür: Sie erreichen zahlreiche Personen zu relativ geringen Kosten und können den im eigenen Haushalt lebenden älteren Menschen und deren informellen Betreuern Vorteile bieten. SENACA (SENior health ACAdemy) wurde in der Schweiz vom European Medical Network EMN entwickelt. SENACA ist ein strukturiertes Supportsystem zum Selbst-Management mit verschiedenen interaktiven Komponenten. Dabei werden Geräte zur Fernüberwachung und eine Lösung für individualisierte Gesundheitsprogramme miteinander kombiniert. Die Tauglichkeit dieses Online-Support-Systems, die Verhaltensänderungstechniken, auf denen es fusst, die verschiedenen Arten der Bereitstellung und dessen Auswirkungen auf das gesundheitsbezogene Verhalten, auf klinische Ergebnisse und die Lebensqualität werden bei einer grösseren Gruppe von Endanwendern ermittelt.

Projekt

Das Ziel des von der EU finanzierten länderübergreifenden USECARE-Projekts aus dem Bereich des umgebungsunterstützten Wohnens (AAL) ist das Testen der Tauglichkeit und der praktischen Wirksamkeit von SENACA. SENACA wird in drei Ländern (Israel, Norwegen und der Schweiz) im Rahmen eines Feldtests bei im eigenen Haushalt lebenden älteren Menschen mit chronischen Erkrankungen (also Diabetes, COPD, chronischer Herzinsuffizienz) und deren informellen Betreuern eingeführt.

Zentrales Element von USECARE AAL ist ein Feldtest in Form einer vorexperimentellen Versuchsanordnung mit Messungen zu drei verschiedenen Zeitpunkten. Zusätzlich ist der Hauptstudie eine Tauglichkeitsüberprüfung mit ausgewählten Patienten in der Schweiz vorgelagert. Zur Beurteilung der Tauglichkeit und zur Beobachtung von klinischen Parametern und Prozessparametern vor, während und nach der Einführung des erweiterten SENACA-Prototypen kommen verschiedene Methoden zum Einsatz.

Die Gesamtsumme aller Ergebnisse wird Erkenntnisse über die Benutzerfreundlichkeit, über Nutzungsmuster, die wahrgenommene Tauglichkeit und den potenziellen Mehrwert des erweiterten SENACA-Prototypen zur Behandlung chronischer Erkrankungen in den teilnehmenden Ländern liefern.

Projekt auf ClinicalTrials.gov: NCT02832739

Laufzeit

Mai 2015–März 2017

Institutionen

Institut für Pflegewissenschaft INS, Universität Basel, Bernoullistrasse 28, CH-4056 Basel
Careum Forschung, Pestalozzistrasse 3, CH-8032 Zürich

Projektteam

Institut für Pflegewissenschaft INS, Universität Basel: Sabina de Geest PhD RN (Co-Investigator), Mette Langeland Iversen M.Sc. Doktorandin
Careum Forschung: Dr. Jörg Haslbeck (Studienleiter), Urs A. Fichtner M.Sc. (wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter), Sylvie Zanoni M.A. (wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin)

Partnerkonsortium

Schweiz:
Institut für Pflegewissenschaft INS, Universität Basel, Basel
Careum Forschung, Zürich
European Medical Network EMN AG, Kilchberg

Norwegen:
Universitätsklinik Nordnorwegen, Tromsø
Universität Oslo, Abteilung Gesundheitsmanagement und Gesundheitsökonomie, Oslo

Israel:
Assuta Medical Center, Tel Aviv

Spanien:
Universitat Oberta de Catalunya UOC, Barcelona
Soluciones Tecnológicas para la Salud y el Bienestar TSB, Valencia

Italien:
Institut für Gesundheit und Verbraucherschutz IHCP, Ispra

Drittmittel

Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprogramm zum aktiven, umgebungsunterstützten Leben, EU
Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation SBFI, Eidgenössisches Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung (WBF), Einsteinstrasse 2, CH-3003 Bern

Fachgebiete

Pflege, Öffentliche Gesundheit, IKT, Gesundheitspsychologie, Sozialwissenschaften

Geografische Region

International: Israel, Norwegen, Schweiz


Kontakt

Kompetenzzentrum Patientenbildung

Careum Forschung
Pestalozzistrasse 3
CH-8032 Zürich

T +41 43 222 64 00
F +41 43 222 50 05

E-Mail