work & care in central Switzerland

How is “work & care” managed in day-to-day business? An investigation conducted in selected organisations in central Switzerland provides some answers.

Basis

Careum Research, together with the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts , sheds light on the “work & care” situation in selected organisations in central Switzerland. Associated with increasing life expectancy is the desire among Swiss people that they will be able to stay at home, in a familiar environment, for as long as possible, even when faced with health issues.

Research shows that a person's partner is often the principal carer. In just over a third of cases, sons or daughters assume this role. These people often find themselves in a situation where, as well as caring for their elderly family members, they also have to manage their own family and professional commitments: two-thirds of sons and daughters are in employment. This gives rise to conflicting challenges when it comes to reconciling work and care.

Project

The “work & care in the context of the ageing demographic in central Switzerland” project contributes to the discussion of the issue in central Switzerland and makes recommendations for organisations and employees. The study focuses on the three following questions, which are posed to gain insight into the perspectives of employees, Human Resource management and general management:

  • How great is the extent to which employees in the organisation provide care and support to relatives alongside their job?

  • To what extent is HR management aware of the issue or already actively working on it?

  • How is the issue dealt with from a management perspective?

The research team interviewed twelve HR managers and one manager from various sectors. The findings of the investigation show that all organisations questioned have experienced the issue of “work & care”. However, concern is usually rated as being low. Most organisations report that they are faced with individual cases, which can be resolved individually. The investigation also shows that there is generally little specific knowledge regarding the reconciliation of work with caring for relatives. However, the organisations questioned are open to the issue and, in principle, have a positive attitude towards it.

There are various conditions that would enable work and care for relatives to be reconciled. In general, the following criteria were specified: sufficiently flexible and transparent communication culture, contact person and information point, absence management, awareness of the issue by the workforce and managers at all levels in the hierarchy. The investigation also revealed that, whether consciously or subconsciously, a distinction is made regarding whether the person is caring for a younger, older or elderly person.

Project team

Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts: Prof. Christoph Buerkli, Prof. Yvonne Siegrist Mastai, Kathrin Jehle
Careum Research: Andrea Radvasky, Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger

Duration

December 2013–June 2015

Further information

Radvanszky, A. (2015). Umfrage zu «work & care». Themenapéro «Unternehmen Verantwortung». HSLU Soziale Arbeit, Luzern, 18.11.2015. PDF

work & care in der Zentralschweiz

Wie gelingt der Umgang mit «work & care» im Unternehmensalltag? Eine Untersuchung in ausgewählten Betrieben in der Zentralschweiz liefert Antworten.

Ausgangslage

Careum Forschung hat zusammen mit der Hochschule Luzern die Situation von «work & care» in ausgewählten Betrieben in der Zentralschweiz beleuchtet. Verbunden mit der steigenden Lebenserwartung steigt der Wunsch der Schweizer Bevölkerung, auch bei gesundheitlichen Beeinträchtigungen möglichst lange zu Hause in der vertrauten Umgebung bleiben zu können.

Aus Untersuchungen ist bekannt, dass die Partnerin oder der Partner die häufigste pflegende Person ist. Bei gut einem Drittel der Fälle pflegen die Töchter und Söhne. Diese befinden sich ihrerseits häufig in einer Situation, in der sie nebst der Angehörigenpflege auch anderen familiären und beruflichen Verpflichtungen nachgehen müssen: Zwei Drittel der Töchter und Söhne sind erwerbstätig. Hier eröffnet sich ein Spannungsfeld von Vereinbarkeitsherausforderungen.

Projekt

Das Projekt «work & care im Kontext der Altersdemographie in der Zentralschweiz» leistet einen Beitrag zur Diskussion des Themas in der Zentralschweiz und gibt Empfehlungen für Betriebe und Mitarbeitende ab. Im Fokus der Studie stehen die drei folgenden Fragen, mit der die Optik der Mitarbeitenden, des Human Resources Managements und des Managements eruiert wird:

  • Wie gross ist das Ausmass an Mitarbeitenden in Unternehmen, die nebst der Berufstätigkeit Pflege- und Betreuungstätigkeiten für Angehörige übernehmen?

  • Inwieweit ist das HR-Management auf die Thematik sensibilisiert oder ist allenfalls bereits im Betrieb dazu aktiv?

  • Wie wird das Thema aus Sicht des Managements behandelt?

Das Forschungsteam hat insgesamt zwölf HR-Verantwortliche und einen Geschäftsführer aus verschiedenen Branchen interviewt. Die Ergebnisse der Untersuchung zeigen auf, dass alle befragten Unternehmen über Erfahrungen mit dem Thema «work & care» verfügen, die Betroffenheit aber in der Regel als gering eingeschätzt wird. Die meisten Unternehmen berichten, dass sie mit Einzelfällen konfrontiert sind, die individuell gelöst werden können. Weiter zeigt die Untersuchung auf, dass allgemein wenig konkretes Wissen rund um die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Angehörigenpflege vorhanden ist. Die befragten Unternehmen sind dem Thema gegenüber jedoch offen und grundsätzlich positiv eingestellt.

Die Bedingungen, damit Beruf und Angehörigenpflege unter einen Hut gebracht werden können, sind vielfältig. Allgemein werden folgende Kriterien genannt: genügend flexible und transparente Kommunikationskultur, Anlauf- und Informationsstelle, Absenzenmanagement, Sensibilisierung für das Thema bei der Belegschaft und bei den Führungspersonen auf allen Hierarchiestufen. Die Untersuchung offenbart zudem, dass bewusst oder unbewusst unterschieden wird, ob es sich bei der zu pflegenden Person um eine junge, eine ältere oder eine alte Person handelt.

Projektteam

Hochschule Luzern: Prof. Christoph Buerkli, Prof. Yvonne Siegrist Mastai, Kathrin Jehle
Careum Forschung: Andrea Radvasky, Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger

Laufzeit

Dezember 2013–Juni 2015

Weitere Informationen

Radvanszky, A. (2015). Umfrage zu «work & care». Themenapéro «Unternehmen Verantwortung». HSLU Soziale Arbeit, Luzern, 18.11.2015. PDF