Case management for the care of relatives

Careum Research has created a case management profile for working people who are caring for relatives.

Basis

In parallel with employment, family members take on considerable coordination and organisation responsibilities to ensure nursing and medical care for their relatives. This also includes clarification on social security issues that are often very time-consuming and emotionally stressful. These are the findings from interviews with relatives of people with dementia in the “work & care 1” research project.

Owing to their wide-ranging activities throughout the course of their relatives' illnesses, family members providing care are also often described as “unofficial case managers”. What this means is that they are the ones pulling the strings when it comes to the care of their dependent relatives. They are often the only people who have a complete overview of the care and treatment pathway. These coordination and cooperation responsibilities certainly sap their energy, as they are also responsible for providing the care and running the home. When these relatives are also in employment themselves, the workload is especially difficult to manage.

Project

In the project “Case Management – relief potential for working relatives providing care” Careum Research developed a profile for family-orientated case management, with financial assistance from the Paul Schiller Foundation. The results have been published in the “Case Management” journal.


Publications

Bischofberger, I. (2010). Case Management – Entlastungspotenzial für erwerbstätige pflegende Angehörige. Case Management, (1), 31-33. PDF

Case Management für Angehörigenpflege

Careum Forschung hat ein Profil eines Case Managements für berufstätige pflegende Angehörige erstellt.

Ausgangslage

Familienmitglieder übernehmen parallel zur Berufstätigkeit erhebliche Koordinations- und Organisationsaufgaben, um die pflegerische und medizinische Versorgung ihrer Angehörigen zu gewährleisten. Dazu gehören auch Abklärungen zu Sozialversicherungsfragen, die oft sehr zeitaufwändig und emotional belastend sind. Dies geht aus Interviews mit Angehörigen von demenzkranken Personen im Forschungsprojekt «work & care 1» hervor.

Pflegende Angehörige werden aufgrund ihrer umfassenden Tätigkeiten rund um den Krankheitsverlauf von ihnen Nahestehenden auch als «inoffizielle Case Manager» bezeichnet. Damit ist gemeint, dass sie die Fäden bei der Betreuung ihrer pflegebedürftigen Angehörigen in der Hand halten. Sie sind oft die Einzigen, die den gesamten Behandlungs- und Betreuungspfad überblicken. Allerdings zehren diese Koordinations- und Kooperationsaufgaben an den Kräften, weil sie zusätzlich zur Pflege und zum Haushalt anfallen. Vor allem wenn Angehörige gleichzeitig erwerbstätig sind, ist dieses Aufgabenpensum kaum zu bewältigen.

Projekt

Im Projekt «Case Management – Entlastungspotenzial für erwerbstätige pflegende Angehörige» hat Careum Forschung mit finanzieller Unterstützung der Paul Schiller-Stiftung ein Profil für ein familienorientiertes Case Management erarbeitet. Die Resultate sind in der Zeitschrift «Case Management» erschienen.


Publikation

Bischofberger, I. (2010). Case Management – Entlastungspotenzial für erwerbstätige pflegende Angehörige. Case Management, (1), 31-33. PDF