Distance Caregiving

Remote care and support: challenges and opportunities when people in need of care live far away from their relatives on whom they rely for support.

Basis

Relatives play a key role in domestic and in-patient healthcare. Having said this, relatives living locally who are able to take on primary care and support are becoming an increasingly scarce resource. Reasons for this include demographics, changing values and changing family structures. New forms are thus required, where people are prepared to make private and largely unpaid informal contributions to support and care work. This should also go beyond the previously predominant routine which saw the main carer being highly involved on-site.

Project

Although the social relevance of remote care and support is increasing, the subject has barely been discussed from a scientific, sociopolitical and operational perspective. This is where the binational, interdisciplinary research and development project “Distance Caregiving” begins, investigating the potential for care and support across national distances and international borders. The project is being run jointly by the Ludwigsburg Protestant University of Applied Science (Germany) and Careum Research. It aims to focus on relatives in society, at work and in healthcare and social services.

Overall, “Distance Caregiving” is an eye-opening project. In addition to the conventional assistance associated with “care”, “Distance Caregiving” also considers a number of other support services. These include the following:

  • Emotional support
  • Finding decision-making routes
  • Motivation
  • Coordination/administration/organisation
  • Information
  • Control and security
     

Research design
A multi-methodological concept focusing on participation, transferability and sustainability; quantitative secondary analyses, interviews with experts, problem-focused individual interviews; close interrelation with research and development, as well as transfer.

Project team

Careum Research: Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger, Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Karin van Holten
Ludwigsburg Protestant University of Applied Science: Prof. Dr. Annette Franke, Dr. Birgit Kramer, Helena Kunz, Marketa Kindl

Partners

  • Daimler AG
  • Wüstenrot & Württembergische AG
  • Statistisches Landesamt Baden-Württemberg
  • Evangelische Diakonissenanstalt Stuttgart
  • BruderhausDiakonie, Reutlingen
     

Duration

2016–2019

External funding

German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, SILQUA programme

Publications

Bischofberger, I., Franke, A., Otto, U., & Schnepp, W. (2017). Pflegebedürftige Angehörige aus Distanz unterstützen: Zwei Fallstudien. Pflege & Gesellschaft, 22(1), 84-93.

Bischofberger, I., Otto, U., & Franke, A. (2015). Distance Caregiving: Wie Angehörige ihre pflegebedürftigen Nächsten unterstützen können. Competence, 79 (3), 28–29. PDF

Otto, U., Bischofberger, I., Hegedüs, A., Kramer, B., van Holten, K., & Franke, A. (2017). Wenn pflegende Angehörige weiter entfernt leben – Technik eröffnet Chancen für Distance Caregiving, ist aber nicht schon die Lösung. In I. Hämmerle & G. Kempter (Hrsg.), Umgebungsunterstütztes Leben. Beiträge zum Usability Day XV (S. 140–148). Lengerich, Westfalen: Pabst Science Publishers. PDF

Otto, U., Tarnutzer, S., & Brettenhofer, M. (2015). Telemedizin für Ältere – Chancen mehren, kritische Punkte angehen! Therapeutische Umschau,72 (9), 577–579. doi:10.1024/0040-5930/a000721

Further information

Distance Caregiving

Hilfe und Pflege auf Distanz: Herausforderungen und Möglichkeiten, wenn Pflegebedürftige weit entfernt von unterstützenden Angehörigen leben.

Ausgangslage

Angehörige spielen in der häuslichen und stationären Gesundheitsversorgung eine wesentliche Rolle. Allerdings werden Angehörige vor Ort, die sich vorwiegend um die Pflege und Hilfe kümmern können, immer mehr zur knappen Ressource. Gründe dafür sind die Demografie, der Wertewandel und die veränderten Familienstrukturen. Deshalb sind neue Formen gefragt, in denen Menschen bereit sind, private und zumeist unbezahlte informelle Beiträge zur Sorge- und Pflegearbeit zu leisten. Dies soll auch jenseits der bisher vorrangigen Figur der hochinvolvierten Hauptpflegeperson vor Ort passieren.

Projekt

Obwohl die gesellschaftliche Relevanz von Pflege und Hilfe auf Distanz steigt, wird das Thema wissenschaftlich, sozialpolitisch und betrieblich nur marginal behandelt. Hier setzt das binationale, interdisziplinäre Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekt «Distance Caregiving»  an, das die Pflege- und Hilfepotenziale über nationale Distanzen und internationale Grenzen hinweg untersucht. Das Projekt wird gemeinsam von der Evangelischen Hochschule Ludwigsburg (D) und Careum Forschung durchgeführt. Es richtet den Fokus auf Angehörige in der Gesellschaft, am Arbeitsplatz und im Gesundheits- und Sozialwesen.

Insgesamt öffnet «Distance Caregiving» den Blick. Neben den traditionell mit «Pflege» verbundenen Handreichungen berücksichtigt «Distance Caregiving» auch zahlreiche andere Unterstützungsleistungen. Darunter fallen folgende Hilfen:

  • Emotionale Unterstützung
  • Entscheidungswege finden
  • Motivation
  • Koordination/Administration/Organisation
  • Information
  • Kontrolle und Sicherheit
     

Forschungsdesign
Multimethodisches Konzept mit Fokus auf Partizipation, Übertragbarkeit und Nachhaltigkeit; quantitative Sekundäranalysen, Experteninterviews, problemzentrierte Einzelinterviews; enge Verschränkung von Forschung und Entwicklung sowie Transfer

Projektteam

Careum Forschung: Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger, Prof. Dr. Ulrich Otto, Karin van Holten
Evangelische Hochschule Ludwigsburg: Prof. Dr. Annette Franke, Dr. Birgit Kramer, Helena Kunz, Marketa Kindl

Praxispartner

  • Daimler AG
  • Wüstenrot & Württembergische AG
  • Statistisches Landesamt Baden-Württemberg
  • Evangelische Diakonissenanstalt Stuttgart
  • BruderhausDiakonie, Reutlingen
     

Laufzeit

2016–2019

Drittmittel

Deutsches Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, Schwerpunktprogramm SILQUA

Weitere Informationen

 

Publikationen

Bischofberger, I., Franke, A., Otto, U., & Schnepp, W. (2017). Pflegebedürftige Angehörige aus Distanz unterstützen: Zwei Fallstudien. Pflege & Gesellschaft, 22(1), 84-93.

Bischofberger, I., Otto, U., & Franke, A. (2015). Distance Caregiving: Wie Angehörige ihre pflegebedürftigen Nächsten unterstützen können. Competence, 79 (3), 28–29. PDF

Otto, U., Bischofberger, I., Hegedüs, A., Kramer, B., van Holten, K. & Franke, A. (2017). Wenn pflegende Angehörige weiter entfernt leben – Technik eröffnet Chancen für Distance Caregiving, ist aber nicht schon die Lösung. In I. Hämmerle & G. Kempter (Hg.), Umgebungsunterstütztes Leben: Beiträge zum Usability Day XV. Lengerich, Westfalen: Pabst Science Publishers (im Erscheinen).

Otto, U., Tarnutzer, S., & Brettenhofer, M. (2015). Telemedizin für Ältere – Chancen mehren, kritische Punkte angehen! Therapeutische Umschau, 72 (9), 577–579. doi:10.1024/0040-5930/a000721