work & care Swiss Cancer League

Careum Research has investigated the issue of reconciling work and care as it relates to people with cancer and their relatives.

Basis

In their work, the cantonal cancer leagues encounter much more than just questions about cancer as a disease. There are also more and more relatives caring for people with cancer, who are seeking support for reconciling work and care.

Project

The project's objectives arose from the fact that, as an association, the Cancer League was increasingly preoccupied with the subject of “work & care”. It took the opportunity of raising the awareness of institutions and their members about this issue. The remit also included an online survey for all the institutions' employees regarding their own “work & care” situation. The tool for the occupational online survey was thus initially tested in a non-profit organisation. Since then, it has already been used in companies and by public-sector employers.

On completion of the project, a guide was published in German and French, at the end of 2013, entitled “Zwischen Arbeitsplatz und Pflegeaufgabe” (Between work and caregiving), discussing the reconciliation of work and caring for relatives.

Guide (german)
 
Guide (french)

 

“Relatives are the most important caregivers for people with cancer. A particular challenge for them is to reconcile the provision of support and care for the people concerned with work. The Cancer League wants to raise awareness of this particularly challenging situation facing relatives providing care, improve support opportunities and stand up for their concerns.”

Eliane Boss, Expert in Social Security and Healthcare
Brigitte Baschung, Deputy General Manager

www.krebsliga.ch

work & care Krebsliga Schweiz

Careum Forschung hat die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Pflege in Bezug auf Krebskranke und ihre Angehörige untersucht.

Ausgangslage

Die kantonalen Krebsligen begegnen in ihrer Arbeit nicht nur Fragen zur Krebskrankheit. Es gibt auch immer wieder pflegende Angehörige von krebsbetroffenen Menschen, die Hilfestellungen für die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Pflege suchen.

Projekt

Das Projekt zielte darauf ab, dass sich die Krebsliga als Verband vertieft mit der «work & care»-Thematik auseinandersetzte. Sie nutzte die Gelegenheit, die Verbandsorgane und -mitglieder zu diesem Aspekt zu sensibilisieren. Integriert in den Auftrag war auch eine Online-Umfrage bei allen Verbandsmitarbeitenden zu ihrer eigenen «work & care»-Situation. Damit wurde das Tool für die betriebliche Online-Umfrage erstmals in einer Non-Profit-Organisation getestet, nachdem es bereits in Firmen und bei öffentlichen Arbeitgebern eingesetzt worden war.

Zum Abschluss des Projekts erschien Ende 2013 der Ratgeber «Zwischen Arbeitsplatz und Pflegeaufgabe» zur Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Angehörigenbetreuung in deutscher und französischer Sprache.

Ratgeber (deutsch)
 
Brochure (français)

 

«Die Angehörigen sind die wichtigsten Bezugspersonen für Menschen mit Krebs. Eine besondere Herausforderung für sie ist, die Begleitung und Pflege der Betroffenen mit der Erwerbstätigkeit zu vereinbaren. Die Krebsliga möchte für diese besonders herausfordernde Situation von pflegenden Angehörigen sensibilisieren, die Unterstützungsmöglichkeiten verbessern und für ihre Anliegen einstehen.»

Eliane Boss, Expertin Sozialversicherungen und Gesundheitspolitik
Brigitte Baschung, stv. Geschäftsleiterin

www.krebsliga.ch