Organisational online survey

Using a survey tool, Careum Research gathers in-house data for companies and organisations on the care and support work undertaken by their employees.

Reconciling work with caring for relatives is becoming an issue for more and more organisations. This is linked to demographic projections, progress in medical science and the increasing significance of forms of outpatient care. If, for example, an employee's relative is suffering from cancer, dementia, or has restricted mobility as a quadriplegic, everyone involved is faced with huge challenges. For an organisation's personnel policy, it is therefore important to have an accurate picture of the stress employees are dealing with outside of work.

Careum Research provides a survey tool for this purpose, which has been developed as a result of many years of scientific research. The online survey applies to any sector and can be used in large and small organisations alike. A detailed analysis of findings provides information regarding the extent to which employees are involved in care and support work. It also provides information on changes to everyday working life imposed by caregiving and the use of existing organisational services by employees. It thus provides a fact-based foundation for discussion between managers, HR managers and employees. The online survey also contributes towards raising awareness of the issue of “work & care” within the organisation.

The organisational online survey is completed on request and after a discussion to clarify its purpose. All data is treated strictly confidentially. Data is processed directly via a Careum Research server, so that the organisation has no access to individual data records. A report of the findings is compiled. There is no individual analysis. This ensures anonymity.

The survey can include all employees of a company or organisation as well as an individual department. The broader the database, the more meaningful the findings. Careum Research would be happy to provide a quotation for the online survey, on request. The survey costs charged would only be to cover expenses.

Contact

References

“Whilst the reconciliation of work with childcare has long been an undisputed matter from a social and human resources policy point of view, care for relatives is consigned to the shadows of existence and is barely discussed at all. Due to a lack of awareness and its taboo status, even on the part of the people involved in such care, the capacity of personnel law to support reconciliation is neither exhausted nor demanded. As a progressive employer, the City of Bern wishes to use the online survey to investigate concerns, launch discussion on the subject, raise awareness amongst managers, provide information regarding the options currently available to the employer to provide support and to review and implement other measures for the benefit of the employees concerned.”

Nicole Stutzmann, Head of Competence Centre Age, City of Bern

 

    

“After the organisational online survey had been developed and tested in a number of research and practical projects, Swiss Post decided to conduct a pilot survey in PostFinance. They selected a number of people to take part and commissioned Careum R&D to conduct the survey. Swiss Post is pursuing various objectives with the survey. A healthy organisation needs healthy employees with a supportive environment. The physical, mental and social burden that comes from caring for relatives is huge. However, it is often a taboo subject in the workplace. We want to use the survey to contribute towards breaking down this taboo and to take a critical look at our human resource services.”

Thomas Meier, Swiss Post

 

“The Cancer League supports the reconciliation of work and caring for relatives. It has two tasks in this respect: firstly, as a service organisation, to offer support to cancer sufferers and their relatives in these situations and secondly, as an employer, to establish an appropriate working environment. The high rate of participation of our employees in the “work & care” survey confirms that the issue is relevant for them. As a progressive organisation, the Cancer League invests in supporting its employees and is willing to explore new territory and find individual solutions in matters of reconciling work and care of relatives.”

Gabriele Buchs, Head of Human Resources, Swiss Cancer League

 

“For Helvetia, reconciling different areas of life in different phases of life is an important matter – for this reason, we want to support our employees in striking a balance between their various roles in life. To record the number of our employees who are affected by a care situation and the resulting requirements, we conducted the “work & care” survey in autumn 2012. The good rate of response showed that reconciling work and care really is important. Based on the recommendations given by our employees in the survey, various measures are being developed and we are pushing ahead with providing information on and raising awareness of the issue. In addition to the services we already provide on reconciling work and family life, this will establish another element for a good work-life balance.”

Angela Winkelmann, Head of Human Resources + Services, Helvetia Insurance

Betriebliche Online-Umfrage

Mit einem Umfrage-Tool erfasst Careum Forschung für Firmen und Organisationen betriebsinterne Daten zur Pflege- und Betreuungsarbeit ihrer Mitarbeitenden.

Die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Angehörigenpflege wird für immer mehr Unternehmen ein Thema. Dies hängt mit den demografischen Prognosen, den medizinischen Fortschritten und der zunehmenden Bedeutung ambulanter Versorgungsformen zusammen. Sind Angehörige von Mitarbeitenden zum Beispiel an Krebs erkrankt, von Demenz betroffen oder als Tetraplegiker in ihrer Mobilität eingeschränkt, stehen alle Beteiligten vor grossen Herausforderungen. Für die Personalpolitik im Unternehmen ist es daher von Bedeutung, über ein präzises Bild der nebenberuflichen Belastungen der Mitarbeitenden zu verfügen.

Careum Forschung bietet dafür ein Umfrage-Tool an, das in mehrjähriger wissenschaftlicher Arbeit entwickelt worden ist. Die Online-Umfrage ist branchenunabhängig in grossen und kleineren Betrieben einsetzbar. Die detaillierte Auswertung der Ergebnisse liefert Informationen über das Ausmass der Pflege- und Betreuungsarbeit von Mitarbeitenden. Ebenso gibt sie Aufschluss über pflegebedingte Veränderungen im Berufsalltag und die Nutzung vorhandener betrieblicher Angebote durch Mitarbeitende. Damit steht eine faktenbasierte Diskussionsgrundlage für Führungspersonen, HR-Verantwortliche und Angestellte bereit. Die Online-Umfrage trägt ausserdem zur firmeninternen Sensibilisierung für das Thema «work & care» bei.

Die betriebliche Online-Umfrage wird auf Anfrage und nach einem Abklärungsgespräch durchgeführt. Alle Daten werden streng vertraulich behandelt. Die Daten werden direkt über einen Server von Careum Forschung verarbeitet, so dass der Betrieb keine Einsicht in die einzelnen Datensätze hat. Es wird ein Ergebnisbericht erstellt. Einzelauswertungen werden nicht vorgenommen. So bleibt die Anonymität gewährleistet.

Die Umfrage kann sowohl alle Mitarbeitenden einer Firma oder Organisation als auch einen einzelnen Bereich umfassen. Je breiter die Datenbasis ist, desto höher ist die Aussagekraft der Ergebnisse. Die benutzerfreundliche Eingabemaske führt aufgrund der individuellen Aussagen massgeschneidert durch den Fragebogen. Careum Forschung erstellt auf Anfrage gerne eine Offerte für die Online-Umfrage. Es werden nur Kosten verrechnet, die den Aufwand decken.

Kontakt

Referenzen

«Während die Vereinbarkeit von Erwerbsarbeit und Kinderbetreuung längst gesellschafts- und personalpolitisch unumstrittene Anliegen sind, fristet die Angehörigenbetreuung ein Schattendasein und wird wenig thematisiert. Wegen mangelnder Sensibilität und einer Tabuisierung auch seitens der Betroffenen werden personalrechtliche Möglichkeiten zur Unterstützung der Vereinbarkeit weder ausgeschöpft, noch gefordert. Als fortschrittliche Arbeitgeberin will die Stadt Bern mit der Online-Umfrage eine Bestandesaufnahme der Betroffenheit machen, das Thema lancieren, Vorgesetzte sensibilisieren, über die bereits heute bestehenden Möglichkeiten der Unterstützung durch die Arbeitgeberin informieren und weitere Massnahmen zugunsten von betroffenen Mitarbeitenden prüfen und umsetzen.»

Nicole Stutzmann, Leiterin Kompetenzzentrum Alter Stadt Bern

 

    

«Nachdem die betriebliche Online-Umfrage in mehreren Forschungs- und Praxisprojekten entwickelt und erprobt wurde, hat sich die Schweizerische Post für eine Pilotumfrage bei PostFinance entschieden. Sie hat dazu eine Anzahl Personen ausgewählt und Careum F+E den Auftrag für die Durchführung erteilt. Die Schweizerische Post verfolgt damit verschiedene Zielsetzungen. Ein gesundes Unternehmen benötigt gesunde Mitarbeitende mit unterstützenden Rahmenbedingungen. Die psychische, physische und auch soziale Belastungssituation bei der Betreuung von Angehörigen ist enorm, wird aber im beruflichen Umfeld häufig tabuisiert. Mit der Umfrage wollen wir einen Betrag zur Enttabuisierung leisten und unsere personalwirtschaftlichen Angebote auf den Prüfstand stellen.»

Thomas Meier, Die Post

 

«Die Krebsliga setzt sich für die Vereinbarkeit von Erwerbstätigkeit und Angehörigenpflege ein. Dabei kommen ihr zwei Aufgaben zu: Einerseits als Dienstleistungsorganisation Krebsbetroffenen und Angehörigen in solchen Situationen Unterstützung zu bieten und anderseits als Arbeitgeberin entsprechende Rahmenbedingungen zu schaffen. Die hohe Beteiligung unserer Mitarbeitenden an der Befragung ‹work & care› bestätigt, dass das Thema für sie relevant ist. Die Krebsliga als fortschrittliches Unternehmen investiert in die Unterstützung seiner Mitarbeitenden und ist bereit, neue Wege zu beschreiten und individuelle Lösungen zu finden, wenn es um die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Angehörigenpflege geht.»

Gabriele Buchs, Leiterin Human Resources, Krebsliga Schweiz

 

«Für Helvetia stellt die Vereinbarkeit unterschiedlicher Lebensbereiche in unterschiedlichen Lebensphasen ein wichtiges Thema dar – so möchten wir unsere Mitarbeitenden darin unterstützen, eine Balance zwischen den verschiedenen Rollen leben zu können. Um zu erfassen, wie viele Mitarbeitende bei uns von einer Pflegesituation betroffen sind und welche Bedürfnisse sich daraus ergeben, wurde im Herbst 2012 die ‹work & care›-Umfrage durchgeführt. Die gute Rücklaufquote hat gezeigt, dass die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Pflege tatsächlich wichtig ist. Auf Basis der in der Befragung abgegebenen Empfehlungen unserer Mitarbeitenden werden verschiedene Massnahmen erarbeitet und die Information und Sensibilisierung zur Thematik vorangetrieben. Damit wird neben unseren bereits bestehenden Angeboten zur Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie ein weiteres Element für eine gute Work-Life-Balance geschaffen.»

Angela Winkelmann, Leiterin Human Resources + Dienste Helvetia Versicherungen